AUDITEUR

Devin

  • 9
  • commentaires
  • 3
  • votes utiles
  • 12
  • évaluations

Fantastic performance, good book

Au global
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Histoire
4 out of 5 stars

Évalué le: 2019-08-25

O'Brian's first book is a must-read for fans of Nelson's Navy and Hornblower stories, though chances are good that they've already read this one. Jack Aubrey and Stephen Maturin are vivid characters who are very likeable, and their friendship is both enjoyable and believable. What holds this story back is some of the pacing issues that cropped up for me. There are many scenes in this book that were loosely linked at best and I hope that this particular problem doesn't persist as I continue the series. The performance was incredible however, and Mr. Jerrom brought these characters to life incredibly.

Strong lecture series

Au global
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Histoire
5 out of 5 stars

Évalué le: 2019-07-07

Garland never disappoints. A strong series taking an integrated view of Greek and Roman history. Professor Garland compares, contrasts, and ultimately digs through the Mediterranean Culture of the Ancient world in an engaging and approachable way.

Interesting look at cultures around the globe

Au global
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Histoire
5 out of 5 stars

Évalué le: 2019-06-05

This lecture series examines various cultures around the world, and challenges its listeners to take a look at their own culture in a different light. Insightful and definitely worth a listen.

An interesting and meaningful experience

Au global
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Histoire
5 out of 5 stars

Évalué le: 2019-05-29

The best way I can describe this lecture series is as a thoughtful guided exploration of death and how we as people approach, comprehend, reject, understand, fear, and accept death and our own mortality. A very enjoyable listen from start to finish.

Enjoyable book, problematic reading

Au global
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
3 out of 5 stars
Histoire
5 out of 5 stars

Évalué le: 2018-11-12

I heartily recommend this book to anyone interested, with one warning at the outset: this audiobook desperately needed editing. There are strange pauses littered throughout, something that really pulled me out of the narrative. Not really the narrator's fault, either; he wasn't responsible for editing.

Excellent series, good speaker

Au global
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Histoire
5 out of 5 stars

Évalué le: 2018-04-05

Professor Harl is a knowledgeable individual with unique insight, but his over-use of 'umm' and 'uh' was a little distracting. Overall an excellent and engaging series, I would recommend.

2 les gens ont trouvé cela utile

Excellent lecture series for new writers

Au global
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Histoire
5 out of 5 stars

Évalué le: 2018-02-10

This lecture series, broken into digestible 40-minute lectures, is a fantastic starting point for prospective fiction writers hoping to improve their work. At the end of each lecture, there is even an activity or exercise recommended that will help to improve a relevant skill or make you think a little deeper about the subject.

1 personne a trouvé cela utile

A good approachable history of Istanbul

Au global
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Histoire
5 out of 5 stars

Évalué le: 2018-02-08

A well-written and well performed history of the City of Istanbul from before its founding as Byzantion up to the modern era. The author Bethany Hughes reads the book herself, and does an excellent job bringing the work to life.

Istanbul: A Tale of Three Cities does an excellent job of balancing a steadfast devotion to the historical narrative of the city with an engaging voice and reading. Though I approached the book with some prior knowledge, I believe that this book would be more than appropriate for someone with no pre-existing knowledge of the city's history. The narration is clear and well-performed.

Informative and captivating

Au global
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Histoire
5 out of 5 stars

Évalué le: 2017-10-05

The somewhat lesser-known Caesar's life and times are well handled by the combination of Goldsworthy's writing and Derek Perkins' narration. For history fans looking for an interesting listen, I heartily recommend this book.