Obtenez votre premier livre audio gratuitement

CDN$ 14,95 par mois; les 30 premiers jours sont gratuits. Annulable en tout temps.

Description

“Elikem married me in absentia; he did not come to our wedding.”

Afi Tekple is a young seamstress whose life is narrowing rapidly. She lives in a small town in Ghana with her widowed mother, spending much of her time in her uncle Pious’ house with his many wives and children. Then one day she is offered a life-changing opportunity - a proposal of marriage from the wealthy family of Elikem Ganyo, a man she doesn’t truly know. She acquiesces but soon realizes that Elikem is not quite the catch he seemed. He sends a stand-in to his own wedding, and only weeks after Afi is married and installed in a plush apartment in the capital city of Accra does she meet her new husband. It turns out that he is in love with another woman, whom his family disapproves of; Afi is supposed to win him back on their behalf. But it is Accra that eventually wins Afi’s heart and gives her a life of independence that she never could have imagined for herself.

A brilliant scholar and a fierce advocate for women’s rights, author Peace Adzo Medie infuses her debut novel with intelligence and humor. For fans of Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie and Candice Carty-Williams, His Only Wife is the story of an indomitable and relatable heroine that illuminates what it means to be a woman in a rapidly changing world.

©2020 Peace Adzo Medie (P)2020 Workman Publishing

Ce que les auditeurs disent de His Only Wife

Moyenne des évaluations de clients
Au global
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 étoiles
    8
  • 4 étoiles
    6
  • 3 étoiles
    2
  • 2 étoiles
    2
  • 1 étoile
    1
Performance
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 étoiles
    10
  • 4 étoiles
    2
  • 3 étoiles
    2
  • 2 étoiles
    3
  • 1 étoile
    1
Histoire
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 étoiles
    7
  • 4 étoiles
    6
  • 3 étoiles
    2
  • 2 étoiles
    3
  • 1 étoile
    1

Évaluations – Cliquez sur les onglets pour changer la source des évaluations.

Trier :
Trier par:
  • Au global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars

loved it. So intriguing. Perfect

it was such an intriguing book. the narrator was able to pronounce words well. great book!

Trier :
Trier par:
  • Au global
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Afua Entsuah
  • 2020-11-18

Storyline okay, audible performance horrible

It’s very difficult to listen to a story about your native home narrated by someone who is not familiar with the accent or can’t pronounce the words correctly. Having African books narrated by Western voices is a real disservice to the authenticity of the story.

8 les gens ont trouvé cela utile

  • Au global
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Tanya
  • 2020-11-06

Terrible story

Listening to this book you would think it was written in the early 1900’s and not 2020. I kept listening hoping it would get better. The author portrayed the character as weak and willing to trade sex for her husband to love and want her. The main character is supposed to be black, but described her skin as pale. Every negative stereotype of African women and men is highlighted in this book. Clearly the author has issues with being black and African. I will be requesting my money because I will not support the degrading of black women.!

6 les gens ont trouvé cela utile

  • Au global
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    2 out of 5 stars
  • G Zeigler
  • 2020-12-04

Terrible Narration

The narrator ruined it for me. Accent please. The story had potential and left the best storylines unexplored.

3 les gens ont trouvé cela utile

  • Au global
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    2 out of 5 stars
  • kimberly hansen
  • 2020-10-15

From suffering to insufferable

I was very disappointed with this Reese's Book Club pick. The story had potential, but I felt the main character came across as selfish and entitled. I love a woman finding her voice, but when she is completely devoid of empathy and acts as if nobody helped her along the way, and sees her relationship from only her own limited perspective, caring solely about her own needs, that voice becomes tiresome. The narrator's tone only added to the sense that she looked on everything and everyone with contempt and disdain. A more apt title would be Rise of the Narcissist.

2 les gens ont trouvé cela utile

  • Au global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Amazon Customer
  • 2021-01-17

One

While I enjoyed the book, it would have been nice to have had an epilog. Maybe there will be another book/sequel letting us know Afi met someone & and remarried, had a daughter. We read this as a bookclub pick. Most of the women enjoyed it.

  • Au global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Amazon Customer
  • 2021-01-16

Feminist

I love the storyline. It tells of the plight of many women. I did not expect it to turn out this way and Afias voice felt like my own voice. The voice of every woman. A treat to read

  • Au global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
  • laurie clayborne
  • 2021-01-02

Great Story

This was a good book with a storyline that transcends location. Just wish the narrator had a more authentic accent.

  • Au global
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Nana
  • 2020-12-30

Blah!

Just moved too slowly, especially the first half. Needs more of the culture of their society.

  • Au global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Chaeric
  • 2020-12-23

LOVED IT!!!!

At first I was thrown off by the narrator because I expected her to have an accent but I'm glad I continued to listen. This book is fantastic! I was swepted away by the 2nd chapter! I did not want it to end! The narrator did a wonderful job and the author is now my new FAV! I am recommending this book to all my friends!

  • Au global
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    3 out of 5 stars
  • J. Reich
  • 2020-12-14

Kept waiting to love it

This story was interesting - I probably missed or didn't appreciate its novelty as a white American without much cultural knowledge of Ghana. I never felt like I really empathized with anyone in the book, perhaps that was the point but for me I just wished that the conclusion was even remotely satisfying or that i was really pulling for any of the central characters. i just finished thinking 'huh, ok'. It was enjoyable and i did feel like I learned a bit about culture and custom in modern day, affluent Ghana which I appreciate and enjoyed.