Obtenez votre premier livre audio gratuitement

Nine Coaches Waiting

Auteur(s): Mary Stewart
Narrateur(s): Ellie Heydon
Durée: 11 h et 58 min
5 out of 5 stars (1 évaluation)

CDN$ 14,95 par mois; les 30 premiers jours sont gratuits. Annulable en tout temps.

Description

Mary Stewart transports her listeners to mid-century Savoy for a plot of danger and deception, perfect for fans of Agatha Christie and Barbara Pym. A classic tale by one of the world's most beloved authors.

Linda Martin understands what is to be lonely: her parents died when she was young, and she was raised in an orphanage. When she is hired as a governess to the orphaned young Philippe, Comte de Valmy, Linda finds a kindred spirit in the lonely little boy. But Philippe is the heir to a vast estate in Savoy, and his dangerously handsome uncle may be willing to kill to ensure that Philippe never inherits it.

Mary Stewart's wonderful novel of suspense and intrigue set in the idyllic countryside of Savoy. A classic tale by one of the world's most beloved authors.

©1958 Mary Stewart (P)1958 Hodder & Stoughton Limited

Ce que les critiques en disent

"A wonderful wordsmith." (Scotsman)

"She built the bridge between classic literature and modern popular fiction. She did it first and she did it best." (Herald)

"One of the great British storytellers of the 20th century." (Independent)

Ce que les membres d'Audible en pensent

Moyenne des évaluations de clients

Au global

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 étoiles
    1
  • 4 étoiles
    0
  • 3 étoiles
    0
  • 2 étoiles
    0
  • 1 étoile
    0

Performance

  • 0 out of 5 stars
  • 5 étoiles
    0
  • 4 étoiles
    0
  • 3 étoiles
    0
  • 2 étoiles
    0
  • 1 étoile
    0

Histoire

  • 0 out of 5 stars
  • 5 étoiles
    0
  • 4 étoiles
    0
  • 3 étoiles
    0
  • 2 étoiles
    0
  • 1 étoile
    0

Évaluations – Cliquez sur les onglets pour changer la source des évaluations.

Il n'y a pas encore de critiques disponibles pour ce livre audio.
Trier :
Trier par:
  • Au global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Mary E. Haley
  • 2019-05-13

Perfect

I have loved this book for over 50 years, rereading it often. I’m so very happy to have the wonderful Dame Mary Stewart’s timeless novels presented so beautifully on Audible. I’ve already added her unabridged novels to my audio library, and preordered those being released. Thank you, thank you, thank you for making then not only available, but with narration that is beyond perfection.

4 personnes sur 4 ont trouvé cette évaluation pertinente

  • Au global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
  • K. Hauck
  • 2019-08-01

Beautifully performed. Wonderful story!

This was one of my favorite books as an adolescent. This year it was finally available as an audiobook. I had high expectations of whoever would be the voice artist and she surpassed them. Simply wonderful. Mary Stewart is more known for her Merlin stories but she is unsurpassed in the romantic suspense genre I believe. Treat yourself to exotic locations and thrilling stories mixed with interesting characters.

2 personnes sur 2 ont trouvé cette évaluation pertinente

  • Au global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Marsha
  • 2019-06-08

Marvellous!

I had read this book many years ago. But I didn't remember much of it. But the whole experience of listening enthralled me.

2 personnes sur 2 ont trouvé cette évaluation pertinente

  • Au global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
  • N.Sum
  • 2019-05-28

Favorite, well read

This is one of my favorite Mary Stewart suspense novels. It is a Cinderella/Jane Eyre romance with a horrible twist; someone is trying to murder her charge.
The reading is good, not exemplary when it comes to voices or accents but enjoyable and clear.

2 personnes sur 2 ont trouvé cette évaluation pertinente

  • Au global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Boots
  • 2019-05-20

Curl up and escape!

What a wonderful little story! Spooky romantic gothic setting, truly lovable heroine, and a terrible villain! The only thing I didn’t love was the romance. It was a good love story but it felt just a little bit abrupt. Especially when you realize the entire story takes place over just a few weeks. Despite that, the setting, time period, and use of language make it an all time favorite cozy romance to read and re-read.

2 personnes sur 2 ont trouvé cette évaluation pertinente

  • Au global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Esmeralda
  • 2019-08-19

Superb rendition

Superbly read! The narrator flawlessly switches from accent to accent, character to character, to help the listener keep pace of the various voices on the story. A superb rendition in English and French.

1 personnes sur 1 ont trouvé cette évaluation pertinente

  • Au global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Amazon Customer
  • 2019-05-19

An excellent audio version of one of the classic mystery romance novels.

I have enjoyed Mary Stewart’s novels for decades. Nine coaches waiting was one of my first novels of this genres I read back when I was 15. Since then I’ve read and reread all of her works over the decades. So I was waiting impatiently for them to be transferred to audible format and praying that the choice of narrator would do justice to the work. This was OUTSTANDING! Her voices are excellent, her expression is perfection, the pacing and diction are flawless. You will not regret adding this audio volume to your collection.

1 personnes sur 1 ont trouvé cette évaluation pertinente

  • Au global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Kat Harrison
  • 2019-05-19

Wonderful narrator

Love Mary Stewart. Her books are like comfort food for the soul. This narrator is perfect for this book.

1 personnes sur 1 ont trouvé cette évaluation pertinente

  • Au global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Aleia
  • 2019-05-14

Mary Stewart’s Best

Nine Coaches Waiting is the first Mary Stewart book that my mother read to me when I was a kid, and it has remained my favorite of her books since that time. I was beyond excited when I saw that the book was being released on audible, and fervently hoped that the narrator would do the book justice. Ellie Heydon did not disappoint. The only caution I will give is that after reading this book (the best romantic suspense) , other romantic suspense authors and novels will seem a little lacking in the comparison.

1 personnes sur 1 ont trouvé cette évaluation pertinente

  • Au global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Jenn
  • 2019-11-13

Oh, the audio fits the book so well!

This is one of my favorite books, and to hear such amazing audio that fits the character's voice in my head...well, it made my reader's heart so happy!