Obtenez votre premier livre audio gratuitement

Do You Mind If I Cancel?

(Things That Still Annoy Me)
Auteur(s): Gary Janetti
Narrateur(s): Gary Janetti
Durée: 3 h et 39 min
4 out of 5 stars (18 évaluations)

CDN$ 14,95 par mois; les 30 premiers jours sont gratuits. Annulable en tout temps.

Description

"If you love storytelling in the style of David Sedaris, this audiobook - narrated by Janetti himself - is for you." (Yahoo Lifestyle)

This program is read by the author.

Fans of David Sedaris, Jenny Lawson, and Tina Fey...meet your new friend Gary Janetti.

Gary Janetti, the writer and producer for some of the most popular television comedies of all time, and creator of one of the most wickedly funny Instagram accounts there is, now turns his skills into a hilarious, and poignant audiobook chronicling the pains and indignities of everyday life.

Gary spends his 20s in New York, dreaming of starring on soap operas while in reality working at a hotel where he lusts after an unattainable colleague and battles a bellman who despises it when people actually use a bell to call him. He chronicles the torture of finding a job before the internet when you had to talk on the phone all the time, and fantasizes, as we all do, about who to tell off when he finally wins an Oscar. As Gary himself says, "These are essays from my childhood and young adulthood about things that still annoy me."

Original, brazen, and laugh out loud funny, Do You Mind if I Cancel? is something not to be missed.

Praise for Do You Mind If I Cancel?:

"Gary Janetti's book is so rolling-on-the-floor funny, so brilliantly observant, and so full of heart." (Kevin Kwan)

"The writing of Gary Janetti, whether televised or tweeted, is famously incisive and sharp-tongued. What a revelation it was, therefore, to discover in these revealing personal essays an artist of great tenderness and vulnerability. And he's still funny as hell." (Armistead Maupin)

"It’s no surprise that Gary Janetti's book is laugh-out-loud funny. It is just as cutting, wild, and droll as I hoped." (Taylor Jenkins Reid, New York Times best-selling author of Daisy Jones and the Six)

©2019 Gary Janetti (P)2019 Macmillan Audio

Ce que les critiques en disent

"Gary Janetti's book is so rolling-on-the-floor funny, so brilliantly observant, and so full of heart, I'm sure a jealous Prince George will decree that Gary be locked up in the Tower of London." (Kevin Kwan, New York Times best-selling author of the Crazy Rich Asians trilogy)

“It’s no surprise that Gary Janetti's book is laugh-out-loud funny. It is just as cutting, wild, and droll as I hoped.” (Taylor Jenkins Reid, New York Times best-selling author of Daisy Jones and the Six)

"Almost as soon as I began to read Gary Janetti’s Do You Mind If I Cancel?, I found myself feeling the way I felt when I first encountered Fran Lebowitz and David Rakoff: laughing and wanting to shout out the best bits to whoever else was in the room, even if no one else was there. This crazy quilt of memoir, cultural history, one-liners aplenty, and periodic arias of hopefulness, frustration, and brashly rude rage, is a work of intertwined great humor and great feeling. I’ve already lost my copy, snatched up by its next eager reader.” (Benjamin Dreyer, New York Times best-selling author of Dreyer's English)

Ce que les membres d'Audible en pensent

Moyenne des évaluations de clients

Au global

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 étoiles
    10
  • 4 étoiles
    3
  • 3 étoiles
    2
  • 2 étoiles
    2
  • 1 étoile
    1

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 étoiles
    12
  • 4 étoiles
    1
  • 3 étoiles
    2
  • 2 étoiles
    1
  • 1 étoile
    0

Histoire

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 étoiles
    10
  • 4 étoiles
    2
  • 3 étoiles
    1
  • 2 étoiles
    2
  • 1 étoile
    1

Évaluations – Cliquez sur les onglets pour changer la source des évaluations.

Trier :
Trier par:
  • Au global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars

Perfection.

Not a gay man who grew up in New York in the '70's? Me neither. But I promise you that you will relate to Gary's stories. Always hilarious and sometimes heart breaking, I mean it when I say there is something for everyone. I will buy the book, too, so that people will know I read it, but the audiobook is read by Gary exactly how you dreamed it would be. The book is perfectly short, leaving you wanting to hear just a couple more of Gary's stories. Thanks for this gem.

  • Au global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars

hilarious and beautifully written

I loved it start to finish. You will not regret the purchase! Gary's inflection brings it to life and all you want is more! amazing read! as a former server, his story on tea ruining his life brought me so much joy! could relate so very much!

Trier :
Trier par:
  • Au global
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Nicole Placco
  • 2019-11-06

Spoken Word Poetry?

I could not get past the monotone, spoken word poetry style of narration he chose. I understand that he's "annoyed" but it never changed at all. Most memoirs I read have inflection and cadence that help you feel what the author is feeling and thinking. I downloaded this book because I love the writers of Family Guy so I thought it would be great to hear about Gary's life, but, I cannot get past the narration. Sorry Gary! Love your work otherwise!

4 personnes sur 4 ont trouvé cette évaluation pertinente

  • Au global
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Amazon Customer
  • 2019-10-31

Of very little substance.

Read in Gary Janetti's deadpan voice, I thought that the book would be more laugh inducing. The stories are of little substance, and are honestly kind of boring like he's writing an essay for eighth grade English. Would probably not recommend.

1 personnes sur 1 ont trouvé cette évaluation pertinente

  • Au global
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Nancy Z.
  • 2019-10-31

What’s with the title?

The title is totally misleading. I was hoping for a witty, slightly sarcastic commentary on everyday annoyances, something I could relate to. This was more of a memoir or coming of age story. And not that good.

3 personnes sur 4 ont trouvé cette évaluation pertinente

  • Au global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
  • danielle ostrowski
  • 2019-10-23

Listen to this!

I am a huge fan of Gary (and Brad) from Instagram and have been anticipating this book. It's hilarious, it's stories & the pattern Gary tells them in are hysterical. I listened to it in full right away and laughed out loud throughout. I can't recommend this enough. I loved it!

1 personnes sur 1 ont trouvé cette évaluation pertinente

  • Au global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Stittsville Shopper
  • 2019-12-13

i love this book!

A fun, fast and fascinating read. Highly recommend. Gary please write about your further adventures. I need more!

  • Au global
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Jackie McComb
  • 2019-12-12

David Sedaris wanna be

A pale not as amusing knock off of David Sedaris. Irritating narration by the author.

  • Au global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Utilisateur anonyme
  • 2019-12-07

Loved it.

I fucking loved it. That’s all I intended on writing but the app says there is a minimum word count so I’ll add that I was crying from laughter during the Bennigans chapter, and the ending was surprisingly beautiful and just perfect.

  • Au global
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Carina
  • 2019-12-04

He’s angry

Why did he sound angry throughout the whole book? Waste of time. Don’t recommend this book at all.

  • Au global
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    4 out of 5 stars
  • David Fridman
  • 2019-12-02

I can't stand this mans voice.

I had such high hopes for this book. I came across the audible and my ears bled after 30 minutes attempting to enjoy Janettis cadence. I failed. So annoying.

  • Au global
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Ali
  • 2019-11-21

Ehhh...

The cadence of his voice was hard to listen to- every sentence sounded like it ended in a question and went up at the end. There was not a lot of flow- very choppy. Maybe is someone else narrated would have liked it more, but this is a no for me. Had much higher expectations of this book from the interviews I’ve seen!