Obtenez votre premier livre audio gratuitement

The Stolen Boys

Jackman & Evans, Book 5
Auteur(s): Joy Ellis
Narrateur(s): Richard Armitage
Durée: 11 h et 29 min
4.5 out of 5 stars (37 évaluations)

CDN$ 14,95 par mois; les 30 premiers jours sont gratuits. Annulable en tout temps.

Description

From number one best-selling author Joy Ellis, a totally absorbing mystery full of stunning twists and turns. Discover the author everyone’s talking about. 

A mystery which will captivate you till the stunning ending.

A crime wave has hit town. The target is a highly sought-after brand of streetwear called Hybird X, clothing that costs a fortune and resells for unbelievable prices. Houses are burgled, kids mugged on the streets...and finally a young man dies, all for the sake of his shoes. 

Then another boy’s body is found in a pile of rubbish. Meanwhile illegal steroids are flooding the streets. And there are dark movements on the marshes. 

Clothes that people will kill to own.

A shadowy figure called Darke and his teams of young criminals seem to be behind it all. 

Detectives Jackman and Evans must take on a fiendish criminal, while still haunted by Alistair Ashcroft, the serial killer they never caught. 

Who is Darke and what does he really want?

Full of twists and turns, this is a crime thriller that will grip you until the shocking ending. Set in the atmospheric Lincolnshire Fens whose towns and isolated villages hide many dark secrets. 

Perfect for fans of Rachel Abbott, Sarah A. Denzil, Robert Bryndza, Mel Sherratt, Angela Marsons, Colin Dexter and Ruth Rendell. 

The detectives.

DI Jackman leads the investigation. He is extremely smart and has a knack for bringing out the best in his diverse team. DS Marie Evans is haunted by the loss of her husband in a motorbike accident. She is fiercely loyal to her friends and colleagues. 

©2018 Joy Ellis (P)2019 Audible, Ltd

Ce que les membres d'Audible en pensent

Moyenne des évaluations de clients

Au global

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 étoiles
    28
  • 4 étoiles
    8
  • 3 étoiles
    1
  • 2 étoiles
    0
  • 1 étoile
    0

Performance

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 étoiles
    30
  • 4 étoiles
    5
  • 3 étoiles
    0
  • 2 étoiles
    0
  • 1 étoile
    0

Histoire

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 étoiles
    23
  • 4 étoiles
    8
  • 3 étoiles
    2
  • 2 étoiles
    1
  • 1 étoile
    0

Évaluations – Cliquez sur les onglets pour changer la source des évaluations.

Trier :
Trier par:
  • Au global
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    2 out of 5 stars

Violence against children - caution for sensitive readers

There is shocking violence done to children in this story by twisted characters. It’s disturbing.

The pace and plotting of the story are solid; Ellis is an excellent writer and narration is brilliant.

  • Au global
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    4 out of 5 stars

Enjoyable listen

I have listened to all of this series and liked them all. You are engaged with characters and their stories as much as the central mystery... Richard Armitage is the star of the book though, he has a wonderful ability to give each and every character a unique voice.

  • Au global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars

Gripping Tale!!

This novel kept me guessing until the very end. Because of my love of Joy Ellis' books, and because I have read all of them, I tried to slow my reading down so I could savour it, but it was so gripping I had to rush to read it to the end . Waiting anxiously for her next novel no matter which series it is.

Trier :
Trier par:
  • Au global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Lonnie-The GreatNorthernTroll-Moore
  • Portland Or. USA
  • 2019-11-19

Join the fan club!

I think that I was a little bit sceptical about this books premise, so I didn't exactly jump on it when it first came out, a week or so ago... But ever since then, it's been calling to me by My First Name. Who was I kidding?!?? It's a Joy Ellis novel, and a DI Jackman/DS Evan's police procedural thriller!!
I already knew how much I enjoyed Ellis' twisty, plot driven writing, and I'd already fast-tracked her to the top, as one my favorite mystery authors! Another plus? I love all the characters so much so that I almost feel like we're old friends! True to form Audible chose Richard Armitage to tell us this story, and I Looooove Richard Armitage voice acting, he's just a master at his craft, and as far as I'm concerned he is DI Jackman! (It's such a good partnership, Ellis and Armitage). So inspite of any misgivings, I had about the blurb, I took the plunge, and got it! Upon "opening" the audio book, I immediately felt as if I were being embraced by Richard Armitage's warm voice, and I was welcomed back by this close knit group of investigators, like a family member, or at least a close friend, whose always invited to ride along! I Loved, the Book! This story, takes off right where the last book ends, where the team is still feeling the effects of not quite being able to collar the slippery perp, and in fact I think that Ellis may actually be grooming us to accept that character as a Moriarty type arch-villian. There's also plenty of other cases to keep them busy, and us guessing. So grab the Audio book and see if you don't become a member of the Ellis/Armitage fan club! Lol

1 personnes sur 1 ont trouvé cette évaluation pertinente

  • Au global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
  • kaaren cuenca
  • 2019-11-15

Love Richard Armitage narration

Stolen Boys is an excellent story kept me captivated. Love the Jackman and Evens books,

1 personnes sur 1 ont trouvé cette évaluation pertinente

  • Au global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
  • alma
  • las vegas, nevada
  • 2019-11-13

OMBRE of Misappropration

Joy Ellis's storytelling combines real world issues with the human condition. The gluttony of a material item ,and the wide range symbol given to it by the privilege and the forgotten poor is clearly depicted. The story reminds the reader of the classic tale with a twist. Unfortunately , real life events(in the US with the M.Jordan shoes) show unhealthy need for these items to give relevance(rather than profit).This story is more than the act of thievery. It paints a picture of child abuse, loneliness, and strife. All results in a stolen childhood, peace, love, and trust. The characters are well develop and show an aspect of life's stolen moments and chances. The what-ifs verses the what-is. The description of the police work and camaraderie between colleagues is well written. The debauchery of the villain is clearly written, and generated a genuine disgust. The insight to the mind of each character is interesting . Love the Jackman and Evans relationship. Of course, I would like more but that is my crazy world. Richard Armitage's (aka Jackman)voices are so well done. He is a master.

1 personnes sur 1 ont trouvé cette évaluation pertinente

  • Au global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Kindle Customer
  • 2019-11-03

better and better

this series just keeps getting better and better...eventually careening to the scorching end with Jackman and Evan's getting what they came here for. With Marie exiting on her bike with Jackman riding behind her, arms wrapped around her waist. together, safe, loved and at ease. cant wait for the next book. Well done Ms. Ellis!

2 personnes sur 3 ont trouvé cette évaluation pertinente

  • Au global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Katie Cselovszki
  • 2019-11-24

Yep They Did It Again

Another brilliant story by Joy Ellis brought to life by the incomparable Richard Armitage. I loved getting reacquainted with these amazing cast of characters. This collaboration of Ellis and Armitage has become one of my favorites. I'll be counting the days until the next.

  • Au global
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    1 out of 5 stars
  • KLK
  • USA
  • 2019-11-22

Underdeveloped

I like Joy Ellis. I find her writing light, but entertaining. This one was very disappointing. Characters were not developed, story was not developed.

  • Au global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Teaching Mom
  • 2019-11-11

Still got it!<br />

Was a bit slow at the beginning. Once the story began to unfold it was great. Kept me guessing at who really was 'Darke'.
I would love it if this became a t.v. series.

  • Au global
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Ester vdD
  • Vlissingen, the Netherlands
  • 2019-11-07

Another Jackman & Evans!

I like the Jackman & Evans serie by Joy Ellis, great stories; although this one was a bit more difficult to get into, it turned out great again.

I love the narration by Richard Armitage, different accents for the different characters which maks them recognisable and likeable (or dislikeable), job well done!

  • Au global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Mfc
  • 2019-11-06

Love this series

Jackman and Evans have awesome dynamic. Narrator is super. This book nicely incorporated past story lines and set up situation for the next book beautifully.

  • Au global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Elizabeth P. Fowler
  • San Francisco
  • 2019-11-06

Another great Jackman/Evans by Joy Ellis<br />

The story picks up from where The Guilty Ones left off, this time involving crimes committed by and against teenage boys. Richard Armitage makes the characters come alive, overcoming some lack of inspiration in the writing. A good listen!