Contactez-nous
Français
S'identifier

Prix : CDN$ 26,81

Détails de l'abonnement Détails de l'abonnement
  • Une période d'essai de 30 jours, en plus de votre premier livre audio gratuit
  • 1 crédit par mois après la période d'essai – valable sur n'importe quel livre audio
  • Échange facile de vos livres, à n'importe quel moment
  • Conservez vos livres audio, même si vous résiliez votre abonnement
  • Après votre essai gratuit, Audible c'est seulement CDN$ 14,95 par mois
OU
Dans le panier

Description

Our universe is ruled by physics, and faster-than-light travel is not possible - until the discovery of The Flow, an extradimensional field we can access at certain points in space-time that transports us to other worlds, around other stars.

Humanity flows away from Earth, into space, and in time forgets our home world and creates a new empire, the Interdependency, whose ethos requires that no one human outpost can survive without the others. It's a hedge against interstellar war - and a system of control for the rulers of the empire.

The Flow is eternal - but it is not static. Just as a river changes course, The Flow changes as well, cutting off worlds from the rest of humanity. When it's discovered that The Flow is moving, possibly cutting off all human worlds from faster-than-light travel forever, three individuals - a scientist, a starship captain, and the empress of the Interdependency - are in a race against time to discover what, if anything, can be salvaged from an interstellar empire on the brink of collapse.

©2017 John Scalzi (P)2017 Audible, Inc.

Ce que les critiques disent

"Fans of Game of Thrones and Dune will enjoy this bawdy, brutal, and brilliant political adventure" (Booklist)
"Scalzi has constructed a thrilling novel so in tune with the flow of politics that it would feel relevant at almost any time." (Entertainment Weekly)
"Political plotting, plenty of snark, puzzle-solving, and a healthy dose of action…Scalzi continues to be almost insufferably good at his brand of fun but think-y sci-fi adventure." (Kirkus Reviews)

D'autres livres audio du même:

Ce que les membres d'Audible en pensent

Moyenne des évaluations de clients

Au global

  • 4,4 sur 5
  • 5 étoiles
    11
  • 4 étoiles
    1
  • 3 étoiles
    4
  • 2 étoiles
    0
  • 1 étoile
    0

Performance

  • 4,7 sur 5
  • 5 étoiles
    12
  • 4 étoiles
    3
  • 3 étoiles
    1
  • 2 étoiles
    0
  • 1 étoile
    0

Histoire

  • 4,3 sur 5
  • 5 étoiles
    11
  • 4 étoiles
    0
  • 3 étoiles
    3
  • 2 étoiles
    2
  • 1 étoile
    0
Trier :
  • Au global
  • Performance
  • Histoire
  • Scott Duncan
  • 2017-11-03

ok novel

Not as entertaining as other Scalzi novels. I wasn't sad when it was over and I don't think I will read the sequel.

1 personnes sur 1 ont trouvé cette évaluation pertinente

Trier :
  • Au global
  • Performance
  • Histoire
  • Amazon Customer
  • 2017-03-29

Not very well written

cool world, cool economies, bad character arcs and boring antagonists. it's a weak opening to a series.

38 personnes sur 43 ont trouvé cette évaluation pertinente

  • Au global
  • Performance
  • Histoire
  • Adam K Stevens
  • 2017-06-10

What Happened Scalzi?

Being a fan of both the, "Old Man's War" series as well as the author's contributions to the METAtropolis anthologies, I blindly purchased The Collapsing Empire. This unfortunately was a complete mistake as I ended hating the writing, loathing most of the characters and rolling my eyes over the the sci-fi concepts introduced in the series. Worst of all was the sarcasm. My god, the main character, Kiva is like some hyper-foul mouthed, self-entitled space-Millennial. Now, I've read my share, and thoroughly enjoyed several stories featuring dislikable protagonists or anti-heroes. However, I think the author's intention was to make the reader find Kiva charming or a tough no-nonsense female Han Solo-esque scoundrel. Instead of charming, I kept hoping she would get dumped out an airlock every time the narrative focused on her. Other characters include a dying space Pope who reminded of Grandpa Simpson and his snoozetastic daughter. I was also disappointed with sci-fi elements of the story which included an intergalactic space highway and a theocratic super government which was hardly fleshed out at all. This book is such a departure from Scalzi's usually superb work, it almost feels like it was ghost written by a far less talented writer. I sincerely hope Mr. Scalzi returns to form in his future efforts and we can dismiss this novel as an unfortunate deviation from an otherwise immensely talented author. Also, Wil Wheaton narration style always bugs me for reasons I have yet been able to explain.

56 personnes sur 64 ont trouvé cette évaluation pertinente

  • Au global
  • Performance
  • Histoire
  • Jim "The Impatient"
  • 2017-04-01

THE STUPIDITIES OF COURT

YOUR ALWAYS ALONE INT HE MEMORY ROOM AND NEVER ALONE IN THE MEMORY ROOM
This is filled with lots of LOL moments and some great funny characters. SCALZI humor includes giving funny names to ships, such as the following: TELL ME ANOTHER ONE, I THINK WE'RE ALONE NOW, IF YOU WANT TO SING OUT, SING OUT, YES SIR, THAT'S MY BABY and it's sister ship NO SIR, DON'T MEAN MAYBE. The humor is fairly steady throughout the book without being overwhelming.

SORRY, I GOT DISTRACTED THINKING ABOUT SEX
The book is a tiny bit Dune, Game of Thrones, Foundation and The Last Empress. I listened to the whole book and will be buying the sequel, but had it been a different author, I might have given up within the first three to four hours. That is because it is mostly a political book, with Guilds, Courts, Emperors, and Great Houses. The book builds and because the characters are well developed, gets better the longer it goes on. It does not have a lot of science and their are no aliens. It is mostly politics and back stabbing of nobles. STOP WHINING ABOUT IT FOR F SAKE. One of the main characters is a female who cusses like a sailor and has a high sex drive. I found her hilarious.

Wil Wheaton is the best for this. He not only does sarcasm better than anyone else, if you listen during what would normally be considered filler, you can hear him putting everything into to make it sound interesting.

162 personnes sur 192 ont trouvé cette évaluation pertinente

  • Au global
  • Performance
  • Histoire
  • Ron P
  • Monroe, WA USA
  • 2017-03-29

Just feels small - no sense of scale, so why care?

This is humanity at stake. Gravitas isn't Scalzi's thing, but geez, this one feels like ... who cares? I know I'm in the minority, but this felt like a draft that still needed some pretty hefty structural revisions.

41 personnes sur 48 ont trouvé cette évaluation pertinente

  • Au global
  • Performance
  • Histoire
  • Gonzalo
  • MIAMI, FL, United States
  • 2017-05-11

Not the best of Scalzi

I like John Scalzi's work and in audio book I prefer it read by Will Wheaton. I was excited by this new book and series. Unfortunately the book in not the best Scalzi. often because of trademark Scalzi traits. The plot of an empire united by a subspace effect that allows for faster than light travel; now endangered because that effect is going away, is very interesting. I wish the author had taken this book more seriously. I like Scalzis humor but it gets in the way of the plot and makes some of the characters shallow and uninteresting. It wouldn't be a Scalia book without sarcasm and wit but it gets too crass and over the top for the needs of this story. The first book of his I read "The Androids Dream" needed it and was hilarious, but "Lock In" toned it down and was better for it. Wish this one had too.

4 personnes sur 4 ont trouvé cette évaluation pertinente

  • Au global
  • Performance
  • Histoire
  • T
  • 2017-05-05

I really wanted to like this book!

First Wil Wheaton hit this one out of the park! The more I find that he is narrating the more I realize he continues become the master craftsman of story telling. I really wanted to like this book! I have been a fan of John Scalzi stories, but this really didn't hit home with me. I felt that this was a mix drink of Dune, Game Of Thrones and Jupiter Ascending .

4 personnes sur 4 ont trouvé cette évaluation pertinente

  • Au global
  • Performance
  • Histoire
  • Kate
  • 2017-03-28

The Collapsing Empire

I love John Scalzi and have loved all of his books. This one disappointed in that it denigrated in superfluous use of "fuck" and sex with anything breathing. He's smarter than that . :/

26 personnes sur 31 ont trouvé cette évaluation pertinente

  • Au global
  • Performance
  • Histoire
  • pat
  • 2017-03-25

Definitely not my favorite scalzi

An interesting and engaging story...... Until it peters out with no resolution.

The stopping point of the book feels less like a planed ending and more like the last 50 pages were missing when the book went to the publisher.

48 personnes sur 58 ont trouvé cette évaluation pertinente

  • Au global
  • Performance
  • Histoire
  • NonEuclidean
  • 2017-06-01

Mediocre

A few pages out of Foundation and some meh storytelling. It has potential to develop into something great with subsequent books.

3 personnes sur 3 ont trouvé cette évaluation pertinente

  • Au global
  • Performance
  • Histoire
  • troy
  • Texas
  • 2017-03-26

incomplete story

it's a partial story. a satisfactory beginning. but missed the middle and end. it felt like an imMediate rush job to get to a deadline of a new series.

25 personnes sur 31 ont trouvé cette évaluation pertinente