LISTENER

dgypsyme

  • 7
  • reviews
  • 0
  • helpful votes
  • 7
  • ratings
  • The Silent Patient

  • Written by: Alex Michaelides
  • Narrated by: Jack Hawkins, Louise Brealey
  • Length: 8 hrs and 43 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 683
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 641
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 640

Alicia Berenson’s life is seemingly perfect. A famous painter married to an in-demand fashion photographer, she lives in a grand house with big windows overlooking a park in one of London’s most desirable areas. One evening, her husband Gabriel returns home late from a fashion shoot, and Alicia shoots him five times in the face and then never speaks another word. Alicia’s refusal to talk, or give any kind of explanation, turns a domestic tragedy into something far grander, a mystery that captures the public imagination and casts Alicia into notoriety.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Keeps you thinking.

  • By Amazon Customer on 2019-02-19

guess I'm an anomaly??!!

Overall
1 out of 5 stars
Performance
3 out of 5 stars
Story
1 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 2019-06-16

I really didn't like this book. very poor character development, very cliched "lines", totally improbable events. I'm ok with a story stretching things a bit, but this was far too much. this was a very bad version of shutter Island. very disappointed.

  • Where the Crawdads Sing

  • Written by: Delia Owens
  • Narrated by: Cassandra Campbell
  • Length: 12 hrs and 12 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,704
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,557
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,558

For years, rumors of the "Marsh Girl" have haunted Barkley Cove. So in late 1969, when handsome Chase Andrews is found dead, the locals immediately suspect Kya Clark, the so-called Marsh Girl. But Kya is not what they say. Sensitive and intelligent, she has survived for years alone in the marsh that she calls home, finding friends in the gulls and lessons in the sand. Then the time comes when she yearns to be touched and loved. When two young men from town become intrigued by her wild beauty, Kya opens herself to a new life - until the unthinkable happens.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Highly recommend!

  • By Amazon Customer on 2018-10-13

solid 3.5

Overall
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
3 out of 5 stars
Story
3 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 2019-04-20

I didn't dislike this book. I finished it, which I never do with books I dislike. The story keeps you interested, however, it was a very typical story in every regard. No surprises, nothing at all new, which is why I rated it a bit lower than the writing would have warrented. All in all it was a good read.

  • The Book of the Unnamed Midwife

  • The Road to Nowhere, Book 1
  • Written by: Meg Elison
  • Narrated by: Angela Dawe
  • Length: 9 hrs and 14 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 41
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 38
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 37

When she fell asleep, the world was doomed. When she awoke, it was dead. In the wake of a fever that decimated the earth's population - killing women and children and making childbirth deadly for the mother and infant - the midwife must pick her way through the bones of the world she once knew to find her place in this dangerous new one. Gone are the pillars of civilization. All that remains is power - and the strong who possess it.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Terrifyingly eye opening

  • By Lacey Stairs on 2017-10-12

finished in two days.

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 2019-04-09

I like plague novels, this one focused more on the aftermath and the experience of a single person which was cool. totally different take then usual, awesome female character, fast paced story and realistic characters make for a very entertaining read. I'm on to the next one!

  • The Godfather

  • Written by: Mario Puzo
  • Narrated by: Joe Mantegna
  • Length: 18 hrs and 5 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars 99
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars 90
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars 90

More than forty years ago, Mario Puzo wrote his iconic portrait of the Mafia underworld as told through the fictional first family of American crime, the Corleones. The leader, Vito Corleone, is the Godfather. He is a benevolent despot who stops at nothing to gain and hold power. His command post is a fortress on Long Island from which he presides over a vast underground empire that includes rackets, gambling, bookmaking, and unions. His influence runs through all levels of American society, from the cop on the beat to the nation''s mighty. Mario Puzo, a master storyteller, introduces us to unforgettable characters, and the elements of this world explode to life in this violent and impassioned chronicle.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Great Book That Is Difficult To Put Down

  • By Josh D on 2017-09-18

what can I say.

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 2019-04-05

riveting right to the end. great story, great narrator. I didn't want it to end. I hope his other books are as good! I'm hooked!

  • Indian Horse

  • A Novel
  • Written by: Richard Wagamese
  • Narrated by: Jason Ryll
  • Length: 6 hrs and 51 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars 597
  • Performance
    4.5 out of 5 stars 553
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 551

Saul Indian Horse is in critical condition. Sitting feeble in an alcoholism treatment facility, he is told that sharing his story will help relieve his agony. Though skeptical, he embarks on a heartbreaking journey from the present - and into the woods of Northern Ontario, where his life began in a snowy Ojibway camp. The tale that follows is one of great pain and great determination from Richard Wagamese, an author who "never seems to waste a shot" ( New York Times).

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Heart wrenching and Humbling

  • By Anonymous User on 2018-11-11

amazing

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 2018-08-30

Richard is an extremely gifted story teller and his stories are so touching and healing. I can't wait to read them all. I wish I had found him before my mother passed.

  • Medicine Walk

  • Written by: Richard Wagamese
  • Narrated by: Tom Stechschulte
  • Length: 8 hrs and 1 min
  • Unabridged
  • Overall
    4.5 out of 5 stars 154
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars 150
  • Story
    4.5 out of 5 stars 150

By the celebrated author of Canada Reads Finalist Indian Horse, a stunning new novel that has all the timeless qualities of a classic, as it tells the universal story of a father/son struggle in a fresh, utterly memorable way, set in dramatic landscape of the BC Interior. For male and female readers equally, for readers of Joseph Boyden, Cormac McCarthy, Thomas King, Russell Banks, and general literary.

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Reaches into your soul and grabs your heart

  • By Georgina on 2018-03-14

loved this book.

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 2018-07-11

Similar to American rust and the son. I really enjoy this style. I couldn't put it down.....🙂

cover art
  • Length: Not yet known
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars 1
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars 1
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars 1

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • Really great read that incorporates a number.....

  • By dgypsyme on 2018-02-23

Really great read that incorporates a number.....

Overall
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Story
5 out of 5 stars

Reviewed: 2018-02-23

Of issues of interest in current society. He's been compared to Faulkner, Mccarthy and other writers of the southern Gothic genre and I agree. But, in my opinion, he brings more feeling and authenticity to each character. I enjoyed the son even more than American rust. I definitely recommend both and he's on my list of writers to watch. Happy reading all.