Get a free audiobook

CDN$ 14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

“Elikem married me in absentia; he did not come to our wedding.”

Afi Tekple is a young seamstress whose life is narrowing rapidly. She lives in a small town in Ghana with her widowed mother, spending much of her time in her uncle Pious’ house with his many wives and children. Then one day she is offered a life-changing opportunity - a proposal of marriage from the wealthy family of Elikem Ganyo, a man she doesn’t truly know. She acquiesces but soon realizes that Elikem is not quite the catch he seemed. He sends a stand-in to his own wedding, and only weeks after Afi is married and installed in a plush apartment in the capital city of Accra does she meet her new husband. It turns out that he is in love with another woman, whom his family disapproves of; Afi is supposed to win him back on their behalf. But it is Accra that eventually wins Afi’s heart and gives her a life of independence that she never could have imagined for herself.

A brilliant scholar and a fierce advocate for women’s rights, author Peace Adzo Medie infuses her debut novel with intelligence and humor. For fans of Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie and Candice Carty-Williams, His Only Wife is the story of an indomitable and relatable heroine that illuminates what it means to be a woman in a rapidly changing world.

©2020 Peace Adzo Medie (P)2020 Workman Publishing

What listeners say about His Only Wife

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    5
  • 4 Stars
    5
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    9
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    4
  • 4 Stars
    5
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

No reviews are available
Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Afua Entsuah
  • 2020-11-18

Storyline okay, audible performance horrible

It’s very difficult to listen to a story about your native home narrated by someone who is not familiar with the accent or can’t pronounce the words correctly. Having African books narrated by Western voices is a real disservice to the authenticity of the story.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Tanya
  • 2020-11-06

Terrible story

Listening to this book you would think it was written in the early 1900’s and not 2020. I kept listening hoping it would get better. The author portrayed the character as weak and willing to trade sex for her husband to love and want her. The main character is supposed to be black, but described her skin as pale. Every negative stereotype of African women and men is highlighted in this book. Clearly the author has issues with being black and African. I will be requesting my money because I will not support the degrading of black women.!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Karen D. Sutton
  • 2020-11-23

I absolutely loved this story.....

The narrator was EXCELLENT - perfect tone, inflections/emphasis and pronunciations. I loved the author's detail about Ghana and the surroundings; overall, I felt like I was there. The character development was GREAT.....created lots of anticipation for next moves. The cultural traditions and implications along with the family conflicts were skillfully relayed. I would definitely recommend this author.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Jackie O
  • 2020-11-23

I loved this book

I absolutely loved this story. Peace's writing style is simple yet beautiful and her characters came to life.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Amazon Customer
  • 2020-11-21

Loved it!

I felt transfixed to another continent. The visual references were amazing. I was engaged from start to finish!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Celizee
  • 2020-11-13

An Amazing read!!

I totally enjoyed this book. I rarely read fiction but read this for a book club and loved it.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Kate M.
  • 2020-11-09

Quite a wonderful story of choice

Realistic enough that I saw myself in many moments of various characters’ actions and emotions yet also in a culture unfamiliar to me. Even when characters are angry or distasteful the author slides in an undercurrent of underlying kindness and strength.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Kay Erin Goluska
  • 2020-11-06

A real page turner!

I say page, but I actually listened to it via audible. It was such a great story that I actually looked forward to my drive to and from work! It made me FEEL... such a good book, highly recommend!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Menika S. Schulte
  • 2020-11-06

Slow to start but quick to become amazing!

The beginning was a little slow and I wasn’t sure what I thought or if I’d like it. But I was quickly engrossed and ended up loving the story!!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Stephanie
  • 2020-10-31

Great story

Lovely story about a woman finding her inner strength, learning her own value and standing up for what she wants.