Get a free audiobook

Left

A Love Story
Written by: Mary Hogan
Narrated by: Jane Oppenheimer
Length: 5 hrs and 11 mins

CDN$ 14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

In this beautifully crafted novel from the author of the critically-acclaimed Two Sisters, comes the story of a woman who retreats into a fantasy world on New York City’s Upper West Side as she slowly loses her once whip-smart husband to dementia - perfect for fans of Still Alice.

When life falls apart, a little fantasy goes a long way…

It started as a dream vacation in Spain, with Fay and Paul Agarra enjoying all the delights of a European holiday. A respected New York City judge, Paul has always been the man Fay can rely on, no matter what. When he inexplicably disappears from a Barcelona street corner, Fay knows something is terribly wrong. Once reunited, Paul shrugs off the episode as a simple misunderstanding - but Fay suspects her almost perfect life has taken a dark and sudden turn.

Soon there are more signs that Paul is beginning to change. Bouts of forgetfulness lead to mistakes in the courtroom. Simple tasks cause unexplainable outbursts of anger. Fay’s worst suspicions are realized when she learns her husband - her rock, her love, her everything - is succumbing to the ravages of dementia.  

As her husband transforms before her very eyes, Fay copes with her fears by retreating into a fantasy life filled with promise instead of pain. In Fay’s invented world, she imagines herself living a glamorous life free from heartache, with a handsome neighbor she barely knows rescuing her from a future she can’t accept.  

Poignant and beautifully crafted, Left is an unforgettable tale about life’s aching uncertainties - and a woman who discovers that somewhere between hope and reality, an unexpected future will find its way forward.

©2018 Mary Hogan (P)2018 HarperCollins Publishers

More from the same

What members say

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

No reviews are available