Get a free audiobook

CDN$ 14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

In this compelling and addictive novel set in the same universe as the critically acclaimed White Space series and perfect for fans of Karen Traviss and Ada Hoffman, a space station begins to unravel when a routine search and rescue mission returns after going dangerously awry.

Meet Doctor Jens.

She hasn’t had a decent cup of coffee in 15 years. Her workday begins when she jumps out of perfectly good space ships and continues with developing treatments for sick alien species she’s never seen before. She loves her life. Even without the coffee.

But Dr. Jens is about to discover an astonishing mystery: two ships, one ancient and one new, locked in a deadly embrace. The crew is suffering from an unknown ailment, and the shipmind is trapped in an inadequate body, much of her memory pared away.

Unfortunately, Dr. Jens can’t resist a mystery, and she begins doing some digging. She has no idea that she’s about to discover horrifying and life-changing truths.

Written in Elizabeth Bear’s signature "rollicking, suspenseful, and sentimental" (Publishers Weekly) style, Machine is a fresh and electrifying space opera that you won’t be able to put down.

©2020 Elizabeth Bear. All rights reserved. (P)2020 Orion Publishing Group. All rights reserved.

More from the same

What listeners say about Machine

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    0
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    0
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    0
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

No reviews are available
Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Marzie
  • 2020-10-23

Mispronunciations were jarring

The narrator clearly did not listen to the first novel and so differing pronunciations of characters like Cheeirilaq or Haimey Dz were kind of jarring. But the worst was the pronunciation of the name a new character, Calliope. As that character becomes more prominent, the pronunciation as Callie-ope instead of Ca-LYE-o-pee really bothered me. The strength of the writing made it worth finishing the audiobook but wow was it annoying to my ears at times.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Andrew Pollack
  • 2020-12-21

I liked this one a lot. Fantastic world building

Great world building, great character, and the very few pronunciation mistakes (which may not really have been) by Adjoa Andoh don't take away from brilliant and beautiful narration. Such a wonder, rich voice. It was a pleasure to listen to.

This takes place in the same universe as as the previous book but doesn't really directly rely on knowledge from that book. Very glad I ignored the few people who said ugly things about the narration. I totally enjoyed this.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • C. Hartmann
  • 2020-10-25

Sophisticated thinking, fun book

There are a lot of amateurs writing sci-fi now.....probably a good thing, but you have to kiss a lot of frogs to find a really good combination of story, characters and imagination. This is a REALLY good one. Excellent narration as well.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Bells
  • 2020-12-28

Even more brilliant than book one!

there was a lot of personal growth of the characters in book one... book two is mostly around the one main character and understanding where they came from and their personal growth... as it pertains to the story and the story is amazing and twisty and turny and you are trying to figure out what's happening and who's doing it... it's an excellent space opera it's an excellent mystery it's excellent sci-fi it's excellent at conveying reasonable psychological and emotional evolution.

Elizabeth Bear is officially one of my new favorite authors! everything of hers that I've read so far has been fantastic.

it confronts ableist problems it confronts feminist problems it confronts racist problems it confronts a myriad of blind spots that most people don't even know that they have and in a way that makes you aware of them without smacking you in the face.

I have nothing but good things to say.

if you even remotely enjoyed the first book the second book is easily three times as good.