Get a free audiobook

Malice

The Faithful and the Fallen, Book 1
Written by: John Gwynne
Narrated by: John Keating
Length: 25 hrs and 51 mins
4.5 out of 5 stars (8 ratings)

CDN$ 14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

In this epic fantasy debut (perfect for fans of George R. R. Martin), John Gwynne takes listeners to The Banished Lands - a broken world with a violent past. Corban wants nothing more than to be a warrior under King Brenin's rule - to protect and serve. But that day will come all too soon. And the price he pays will be in blood.

Evnis has sacrificed - too much it seems. But what he wants - the power to rule - will soon be in his grasp. And nothing will stop him once he has started on his path.

Veradis is the newest member of the warband for the High Prince, Nathair. He is one of the most skilled swordsman to come out of his homeland, yet he is always under the shadow of his older brother. Nathair has ideas - and a lot of plans. Many of them don't involve his father, the High King Aquilus. Nor does he agree with his father's idea to summon his fellow kings to council.

©2012 John Gwynne (P)2013 Recorded Books

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    6
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    5
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1

Story

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    4
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Sort by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Good book, not so good narrator

While the story was good the narrators odd pauses and choices around character voice were off putting and made me find the book and finish it rather than continue. Sample sounded fine but the more you listen the odder the choices sound. Grown men that sound like children l, many characters indistinguishable to me in terms of their voices. Just cannot recommend this. May want to check out the book though, story was good.

Sort by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Reviews By Mike
  • 2017-11-10

Very good book BUT DON'T BOTHER (read below)

So the book was fantastic! But there is a huge catch, Audible is not going to release the remainder of the audiobooks in the U.S. Mind you, the books are recorded and available on Audible in other countries. We in North America get shafted though. Thanks Audible!

44 of 44 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Michelle
  • 2017-10-23

When will the rest of the books be on Audible?!?

I really loved this story. I wish I could keep listening to the next books, but they are not out yet.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • AEK
  • MAIDENS, VA, US
  • 2017-11-29

Where is the rest of the series audible?

His world building is a steady consistent slope. I am really begining to like this. What i would like to know audible is where is the rest of the series. It is available out side the US, why not here.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Brian L. Manley
  • Oklahoma, USA
  • 2014-02-08

Wonderful

I'm no stranger to epic fantasy books. They are by far my favorite type books to listen to. Malice is right up there with the Riyian Chronicles, The Blood Song, The Desert Spear, and yes even The Game of Thrones series. It may not rank #1 on my list, but it's right up there in my top-5.

Malice may start just a little slow, but you soon find yourself engrossed. It's the kind of book that you're listening to in the car and you get in the driveway of your home, only to spend the next 5-10 minutes listening for just a little longer. It won't disappoint!

13 of 16 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Rolf the Ruf
  • Bear, DE, United States
  • 2014-03-17

Best new author since Michael J. Sulivan

This was a great find. Not since I stumbled upon Michael J Sulivan's roguish characters Hadrian and Royce have I enjoyed a new novel so. Make no mistake, this is not exactly a similar journey. But it has a few things in common: An intriguing plot, great character development and edge-of-your-seat action! I truly enjoyed it and highly recommend it to all lovers of epic fantasy. Can't wait for the next one!

John Keating's narration may have missed a proper inflection here and there, but overall I enjoyed the amusing array of Scots, Irish and low English brogues he utilized to distinguished the characters.

9 of 11 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • jake
  • 2016-07-12

good book no sequels on here why

Any additional comments?

why are the sequels of this great book not on audible i have been looking for it since it first came out and it is driving me nuts that its not on here i wrote a review on amazon complaining of the same thing and i dont get it just put the 3 sequels on here already!!!!

12 of 15 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Aleta M. Nichols
  • Wyoming USA
  • 2016-06-22

Good story...but the reader

Well crafted story and characters, but reader kept me from loving it. He gave even the most serious moments a lilting, skipping tra-la-la rhythm that didn't match the action. It was very distracting for me. A unique and engaging tale. I will get the other 2 in the trilogy and hope for a different reader.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Amazon Customer
  • 2017-07-12

Can this guy narrate?

The narrator (pause) Spoke like (pause) this (pause) the whole time (pause). couldn't pass ch2

6 of 9 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Megan
  • San Diego, CA, USA
  • 2014-03-30

Excellent book

Excellent book! One of the few I've given 5 stars. The narration was good, but could be better. The reader speaks in a halting manner, pausing in strange places. Regardless, the narration is good enough and the story is great. I bought the book as it was an Audible recommendation based on my having read the King of Thrones series, and it is similar. With only one book in the series published at this time (next book, Valor to release July 22, 14), I cannot say how it compares to KOT overall. I can say John Gwynne has made a great start with Malice. I hope the full series is as good.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • kory parrish
  • RANSON, WV, US
  • 2018-04-27

what's the point

I fell in love with the story and the characters only to find out the other 3 books are not offered in the US. I listen to my books during my commute so I may never know how this story ends.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful