Listen free for 30 days

Audible Membership

$14.95 a month

1 credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
The Plus Catalogue—listen all you want to thousands of Audible Originals, podcasts, and audiobooks.
$14.95 a month plus applicable taxes after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy Now for $31.42

Buy Now for $31.42

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Tax where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Former special ops soldier Alex Reeve is Operative 66.

One of the UK's deadliest weapons, he is part of the mysterious C6 - an elite and top-secret security service with a remit to neutralise the country's most dangerous enemies. 

But now Reeve is in the firing line. Framed as a traitor, Reeve is forced to flee as every operative is instructed to kill the 'rogue asset'. On the run from his own government, alone and under the radar, Reeve must survive off grid with fearsome assassins on his trail. 

He doesn't know why he's a target. Or who betrayed him. But if one man has the skills necessary to uncover the truth...it is Operative 66.

From the international best seller comes an explosive, action-packed new thriller series - the perfect pulse-racing listen for fans of Lee Child, David Baldacci and Gregg Huwitz.

©2020 Andy McDermott (P)2020 Headline Publishing Group Ltd

What listeners say about Operative 66

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    4
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    5
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    5
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Captivating thriller

The story really keeps your attention, similar to Lee Child, and Robert Ludlem novels.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Richard S. Swol
  • 2020-07-21

Andy McDermott produces yet another great book

This is, at present at least, a stand alone novel. I'm okay with that as it has a beginning, middle, and an ending. It does leave a couple key story threads dangling on the chance that the author might want to revisit this world. Do they NEED to be resolved? Maybe, maybe not. I'm okay either way. The story works well by itself or as the start of a series.

This novel is much closer to the author's previous effort, The Persona Protocol than to the Eddie Chase/Nina Wilde books. Those tend to be, despite the violence, much more light hearted. This book on the other hand is straight up action. In fact, you are about a quarter of the way through the story before you can take a breath and the protagonist asks himself, "What is going on and does everyone want to kill me".

Expect considerable mayhem on an Andy McDermott scale. ( Okay, not destroying whole cities or national landmarks, but big on a more realistic scale).

I enjoyed this book and had trouble putting it down. Highly recommended to action adventure fans.

7 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
  • itinerant
  • 2020-11-29

hero fantasy

This starts out with plenty of action and firepower and narrow escapes and car chases and highly unlikely motivation, and rapidly descends into bathos, or whatever the word is for a knight-errant fantasy wish fulfillment tale is. Wherever our intrepid hero goes, the weak are being molested by the venal yet strong, and he manages to rescue numerous damsels in distress daily, sometimes before breakfast. Yt he remains humble, while hinting of a bad upbringing that he's now dedicated to ensuring doesn't happen to anyone else, at least not without intervention by some strong, silent type. He is of course adopted by one of the aforementioned damsels . . .

In short, this goes from the silly to the inane to the just plain stupid fairly quickly. If you're looking for Jack Reacher, he took the last train elsewhere . . .

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Beeb
  • 2021-04-22

Not Much of a Story

I would call this a collection of events rather than a story. This is supposed to be a spy novel but the spy is basically a fighter without mind or plan. I did enjoy the first few chapters and I finished the book (although skipping parts of pure predictable boredom.) more out of disbelief than wanting to finish. Hence the 2 stars. Not recommended.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Amazon Customer
  • 2020-08-17

Poor knockoff of the poor Bourne Identity movie

Poor knockoff of the poor Bourne Identity movie. Skip this one for something hopefully better.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • JenFox
  • 2022-06-17

66 brilliant reasons to read

An outstanding storyline that grabs you & won’t let go. Intrigue, action, deceit & honour fill the pages. Superbly developed characters well portrayed in the narration make this story immensely entertaining. If you like Orphan X, you will love Operative 66.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • TNman
  • 2022-04-13

Action Packed

Fast-paced action. The only negative for me was the heavy thick Britsh language and terminology.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Mary Margaret Ahern-Snyder
  • 2022-01-15

Interesting

It was a little bit slow at the beginning but it definitely picked up as you got into the story very enjoyable

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Eric Saucedo
  • 2021-01-26

great listen

Andy has done it again, get twists and turns the whole way. amazing character development.
definitely recommend!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • J. Townsend
  • 2020-09-16

Andy McDermott does it again!

I have not read/heard a novel by this author that I haven't loved. Excellent story, really sucks you in, gets super intense...a great talent for making you really love the protagonist (s) and keeps you on the edge of your seat. Narrator was excellent as well. My only complaint is that I've finished all of McDermott's novels and now I have to wait for whatever he comes out with next!