Listen free for 30 days

  • Part Reptile

  • UFC, MMA and Me
  • Written by: Dan Hardy
  • Narrated by: Dan Hardy, Simon Bubb
  • Length: 9 hrs and 7 mins
  • 4.6 out of 5 stars (13 ratings)

1 credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
The Plus Catalogue—listen all you want to thousands of Audible Originals, podcasts, and audiobooks.
$14.95 a month plus applicable taxes after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy Now for $28.64

Buy Now for $28.64

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Tax where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

For fans of Ronda Rousey's My Fight Your Fight and John Kavanagh's Win or Learn comes the first book from UFC fighter and now analyst Dan Hardy, who lifts the lid on his own career and writes with insight and eloquence on all things MMA and UFC, the brutal and ever-evolving sport that launched such superstars as Conor McGregor, Michael Bisping, Georges St-Pierre, Nate Diaz and Amanda Nunes.

Dan Hardy's first book is much more than a straightforward MMA autobiography. Taking the key fights from his career, Hardy explores the sport with the unparalleled insight that has made him the best analyst working today from training in China with Shaolin monks to how MMA helped him channel his rage, to psychedelics and the ceremony in Peru that changed his life, to tapping in to his 'reptilian brain' and the psychological warfare of UFC, to his epic title fight with Georges St-Pierre. Hardy also speaks eloquently of the heart condition that forced him to stop fighting, the road to recovery, and the evolution of a sport that flies in the face of mainstream disapproval to entertain and thrill millions of obsessives around the globe.

©2017 Dan Hardy (P)2017 Headline Publishing Group Limited

More from the same

Narrator:

What listeners say about Part Reptile

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    9
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    5
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    4
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Full reptile

Amazing, inspiring and perfect book to start off sober October. I aspire to be more like this man...

Thanks Dan.

Adam

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Anonymous User
  • 2020-03-11

True Martial Artist!

Great man ! Great story ! One of best mma bios I’ve ever listened to . Highly recommend !!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Robert Searles
  • 2020-02-16

Very good story

Would have given 5 stars but a bit to much time was given to substance use in one chapter. But still not to bad

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • MP
  • 2019-04-02

Insightful memoir of fighter philosopher

Dan Hardy tells about growing up, finding his place in the world and what fighting is really about. It wasn't what I thought it was. Some people are born fighters and they can't help it, like Dan. They just don't have a normal fear of fighting.

Dan started with taekwondo as a kid. He traveled and trained with completely different martial arts schools, even under Shaolin monks in China. He learned methods of psyching out opponents, and this made him especially interesting as a UFC fighter.

Hardy was diagnosed with a heart problem that made him ineligible to continue fighting in the UFC, but they kept him on as a commentator. He pushes boundaries even in this role.

I didn't know a professional fighter had to be a serious thinker, but I now see it that way because of this book.


  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Alan ALcock
  • 2017-10-10

Enjoyed the insight and fascinating journey of Dan

I'm a big mma fan but was never really a huge fan of Dan Hardy until after the end of his fighting career and the start of his commentary/fight breakdown career. It was really interesting to hear his beginnings and his journey to find himself. A lot of relatable thought patterns and really inspiring for me.