Free with 60-day trial

Audible Membership

$14.95 a month

1 credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
The Plus Catalogue—listen all you want to thousands of Audible Originals, podcasts, and audiobooks.
$14.95 a month plus applicable taxes after 60 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy Now for $24.56

Buy Now for $24.56

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Tax where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

A bold new book reveals how we can tap the intelligence that exists beyond our brains - in our bodies, our surroundings, and our relationships

Use your head.

That’s what we tell ourselves when facing a tricky problem or a difficult project. But a growing body of research indicates that we’ve got it exactly backwards. What we need to do, says acclaimed science writer Annie Murphy Paul, is think outside the brain. A host of “extra-neural” resources - the feelings and movements of our bodies, the physical spaces in which we learn and work, and the minds of those around us - can help us focus more intently, comprehend more deeply, and create more imaginatively.

The Extended Mind outlines the research behind this exciting new vision of human ability, exploring the findings of neuroscientists, cognitive scientists, psychologists, and examining the practices of educators, managers, and leaders who are already reaping the benefits of thinking outside the brain. She excavates the untold history of how artists, scientists, and authors - from Jackson Pollock to Jonas Salk to Robert Caro - have used mental extensions to solve problems, make discoveries, and create new works. In the tradition of Howard Gardner’s Frames of Mind or Daniel Goleman’s Emotional IntelligenceThe Extended Mind offers a dramatic new view of how our minds work, full of practical advice on how we can all think better.

©2021 Ann Paul (P)2021 HarperCollins Publishers

What listeners say about The Extended Mind

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

No reviews are available
Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Dongyul Chang
  • 2021-07-02

A Very Interesting Book/Topic, BUT…

Love what the book covers; I just wish the narration was better. It really does not work for me.

The author has a very low inflection that trails off to near vocal-frying level.
(Not that it’s a compelling way to deliver anyways, but)It is difficult to follow for a person like me, who works in a clean-room with running machines. At some point, the voice just blends in with other noises around me.

I plan to get a digital copy of this book at some point soon. Can’t wait to hear this via my inner voice.

8 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Ruta I. Larson
  • 2021-06-24

Truly Horrible Narration

Do NOT order this audiobook unless you're in need of sleep. Her bored monotone is contageous--there is no hope for enthusiasm or inspiration here. I will continue with the Kindle edition only. Awful.

8 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Jay
  • 2021-07-02

Interesting read

I picked this book up a few books after reading "The Memory Code", by Dr. Lynne Kelly. It was an OK book, too. I do think Annie Murphy Paul and Dr. Lynne Kelly should get together and do a paper. I think the two would probably hit it off very well. I also think Paul's book fills in some of the holes in Dr. Kelly's book.

That said, while there is a lot to think about in Paul's book, it isn't that helpful of a book. A lot of the things mentioned may play a part in memory, but there aren't that many you can actually act upon, unless you are rich. I already live in the country. I'm getting as much nature as I'm going to get. I already exercise daily. If you are a normal American, it isn't always possible to pick your office design. Living in a rural area, I have never been able to find a good team-oriented profession. It's always pretty much just me. So, outside of exercise, a good portion of the book's topics were outside of my control.

You can contrast this to a book like, "Make It Stick: The Science of Successful Learning," by Peter C. Brown. The information in this book is much better suited to things you can actually put into use. Almost everything in this book is within a normal person's control.

No doubt, it would be nice to be rich enough to be able to custom build an office designed to increase my creativity and memory, or have fourteen monitors for my computer. Maybe some day. But, here in real life, I'm limited to pretty much just thinking about these things, not actually being able to do them.

I do think there is a market for some educational material based on 3D gaming engines. Kind of a dungeon crawl / First person shooter setup combined with test study material. This has the possibility to make some things spacial and location based that wouldn't normally be either of those things.

I actually have some experience programming and designing study material, but I know this would take a lot of time, effort and people to pull off. You know, that mythical team of people, of which I can only dream.






















4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • chris boutte
  • 2021-06-09

Surprised at how great this book is

I love books on cognitive psychology, thinking, decision making, and all that. Up until recently, I hadn’t heard of Annie Paul’s books, but I set my expectations low and figured this book would just be a bunch of repeat information from the other books I read on these topics, and I was extremely wrong to make that assumption. There was a lot of hype around this book’s launch, and it was well deserved. I literally bought it on launch day and finished it by the following day. Annie offered such a unique, fresh discussion around how we can improve our thinking through a variety of evidence-based methods.

I don’t want to leave too much of a detailed review because I’m really hoping as many people as possible read this book. Each day, we’re flooded with decisions at home, at work, and everywhere else in life, which is why we need to be better thinkers. Annie touched on a ton of different studies that show how various forms of movement, our surroundings, and who we interact with can improve our thinking. Every time I found myself asking, “But what about this?!” or “Did you think about that?!”, Annie answered it within the next few paragraphs or had a whole chapter dedicated to it. You can tell that she thoroughly did her research for this book, and it provides a ton of value for anyone who decides to give it a read. I highly recommend this book, and it’s definitely one that I’ll be revisiting the next time I’m having writer’s block or am stuck on a problem at work.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • RGO
  • 2021-08-28

A Must Read for EVERYONE…

If you gave been keeping up to date in the cognitive research, you’ll be very happy to have your understandings validated,.. Daniel Kahneman

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Scott Hansen
  • 2021-10-06

A Paradigm Shift in Adult Learning

As a career learning and development professional I have been exposed to more theories, products and programs than I can remember after twenty years. This book is a paradigm Shift in how I think about adult learning. I will be reading this many times .

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Rayhan Arif
  • 2021-09-27

Just a little review

I'm an academic. I found the premise interesting, but the book just turned into a lit review of various academic papers. If this is your cup of tea then by all means read the book.