Get a free audiobook

The Gender Game

Written by: Bella Forrest
Series: The Gender Game, Book 1
Length: 9 hrs and 53 mins
4 out of 5 stars (36 ratings)

CDN$ 14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

For fans of The Hunger Games and Divergent comes a story like no other....

A toxic river divides 19-year-old Violet Bates' world by gender.

Women rule the East. Men rule the West.

Welcome to the lands of Matrus and Patrus.

Ever since the disappearance of her beloved younger brother, Violet's life has been consumed by an anger she struggles to control. Already a prisoner to her own nation, now she has been sentenced to death for her crimes.

But one decision could save her life.

To enter the kingdom of Patrus, where men rule and women submit.

Everything about the patriarchy is dangerous for a rebellious girl like Violet. She cannot break the rules if she wishes to stay alive. But abiding by rules has never been her strong suit, and when she is thrust into more danger than she could have ever predicted, Violet is forced to sacrifice many things in the forbidden kingdom...including forbidden love.

In a world divided by gender, only the strongest survive....

Over 20,125 worldwide five-star reviews and one million copies sold of the series.

What early readers are saying:

"Bella takes this genre to a new level. Imagine the intrigue of Divergent, the suspense of The Maze Runner and the heart-pounding excitement of The Hunger Games. That is the magic Bella is working with her new novel The Gender Game."

"The next BIG THING. Unique and brilliant."

"The perfect mix of adventure, mystery, thrill, blossoming love and heartbreak. READ THIS ASAP! You will not regret it."

"Intrigue, danger and mystery at every corner."

"Once I started reading, I knew I wouldn't be able to stop. My heart raced along with Violet's.... The twists and turns so far in this book have left my mouth hanging agape."

If you enjoy Suzanne Collins or Veronica Roth, this will be a ride you won't want to miss. Buy now.

Book one of a completed seven-book series.

Beware of spoilers in the reviews below that are without spoiler alerts.

©2016 Bella Forrest (P)2016 Bella Forrest

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    19
  • 4 Stars
    9
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    3

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    20
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    2

Story

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    16
  • 4 Stars
    6
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    3

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

wow that was actually horrible.

I had this book in my library for over a year which is the only reason I sat through it since I couldn't return it. everything about it was unbelievable. the characters were annoying and the story made absolutely no sense. deus ex machina at the end as well. the fight scenes were plain and there are chapters full of just talking about cage fighting like I get it you like cage fighting!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Nope

I started this one and stopped it very early. I cannot handle the binary aspects of this and it was not well written. I'm very disappointed in this and do not recommend it to anyone.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great Storyline

Loved it! A new story with some suspense, drama and a bit of romance. Can't wait to listen to book 2 😊

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
  • NAOMI C ST AMAND
  • 2017-07-13

cheesy narrator for a meh story

First of all, the narration was cheesy, unnecessarily dramatic and overdone. At first, I thought this book was okay, but it just kept getting worse. I struggled to finish and the fight scenes were narrated so hilariously that I almost laughed out loud a few times. I generally like ya fiction, and I liked hunger games. I just had trouble with the plot, it was rather boring. I knew I should be getting more excited toward the end, but I was very relieved when it was finished. it was pretty predictable, but I know I'm a good guesser. I wish the author would have stopped writing sooner, and it is rare for me to not be inclined to finish a series.

91 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
  • L. D. Brown
  • 2017-08-30

Plot line is asinine in so many places.

This story is so full of holes. I was continually rolling my eyes at the lack of character development and motivation. Truly disappointing after all the reviews I read.

74 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Amazon Customer
  • 2018-04-18

Cliche City

I essentially had the entire story figured out in the first hour of the audio book. This author could have made something really good with this story and with the main character but it's the same old convict being given a secret mission to avoid death trope.

Of course she has to pretend she's married to some dude. Of course she falls for the absolute worst person you could fall for in this scenario. Of course her life is on the line but she consistently does dumb things because love and stuff.

I struggled to get through all 10 hours. This was one of the most poorly written books I've ever been exposed to.

42 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
  • CatMom
  • 2017-07-25

Boooooring!

Moved so slow. Not at all like the other types of books in this genre. Read it bc Audible recommended and it was just 10 hours of waiting for something interesting to happen. Save your time and money.

32 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Kat
  • 2017-07-11

Predictable

Predictable story line. Not much substance. Whiny narration. Save your money and find something else

63 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • desree bennett
  • 2017-12-21

The dumbest dialogue

Cool story, liked the action, but the words coming out of the character’s mouths made my eyes roll. I want to know how it ends, but can’t read another one

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Amazon Customer
  • 2017-03-03

Hard to believe

I liked the story but it was difficult to get behind. The background of the character and the back story of the world was too far fetched to be believable. More should have been done to prop up the story of the surroundings and the why of where the settlements were and what "the green" was. Why if seemed to thrive with animal and plant life but not be a place that could be used for crops. The severity of the gender based societies took things a little farther than what I thought would be able to develop naturally. It ended up being a frustrating story thin on development of the world history, structure, and drive.

19 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
  • GratefulHeartist
  • 2018-06-19

Sorry to have wasted my time.

The concept has a lot of potential. The actual story, does not. Everything is shallow! the characters, plot, timing... Everything. If you enjoyed Hunger Games, reread them, don't read this.

3 basic characters, very little evolution. Many convenient situations that just happen to line up. I just don't like how this government "needs" this 19yr old girl to save the day when she has no realistic skill set. she agrees to a fake marriage, one in which neither partner ever try to pretend is a real cover story. Then they just happen to get a hunky high level official to babysit her? In a world where women are not even allowed to go outside she frollicks around with him on police cases and fighting matches.

This story is very slow, improbable and as shallow as a baby pool.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Whitney K
  • 2018-02-14

Predictable and poorly written

To compare this book to the likes of The Hunger Game trilogy is an affront to Collins. While the basic premise sounded creative, the details were not well formulated into a cohesive storyline. Too many things don’t add up, like why either country wouldn’t be trying to save their genders from the oppressive opposing country. And leaving your book on a cliffhanger to sell the sequel...lame. I bought a book. That’s one story. Finish the story in said book.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Heidieye
  • 2018-01-04

“Idiot”

I must have said “idiot” 50+ times while listening to this book. How could any character consistently be so obtuse? The very end was intriguing, so I gave it an extra star, saving it from the two star review I had planned to submit. The main character bugged me - like Bella Swan bugged. The story should be called: idiot girl full of sexual tension makes bad choices. There were few redeeming qualities about the book, and more than a few plot holes. I’m torn between moving on to the next book of the series and cutting my losses. I’m mildly curious if the remaining books in the series will address the major plot holes created by book one. Still, unless Violet grows a brain in the next book it may be just as infuriating to read.

2 people found this helpful