Get a free audiobook

The Ivy Tree

Written by: Mary Stewart
Narrated by: Amy Molloy
Length: 15 hrs and 10 mins
4 out of 5 stars (1 rating)

CDN$ 14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

Mary Stewart, one of the great British storytellers of the 20th century, transports listeners to rural Northumberland for this tale of romance, ambition and deceit - a perfect fit for fans of Agatha Christie and Barbara Pym. 

Whitescar is a beautiful old house and farm situated in Roman Wall country. It will make a rich inheritance for its heirs, but in order to secure it, they enlist the help of a young woman named Mary who bears remarkable resemblance to missing Whitescar heiress Annabel Winslow. Their deception will spark a powder keg of ambition, obsession and long-dead love. 

The ivy had reached for the tree and only the tree's upper branches managed to thrust the young gold leaves of early summer through the strangling curtain. Eventually the ivy would kill it....

©1961 Mary Stewart (P)2019 Hodder & Stoughton Limited

What the critics say

"There are few to equal Mary Stewart." (Daily Telegraph)

"Mary Stewart is magic." (New York Times)

"One of the great British storytellers of the 20th century." (Independent)

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    0
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 2 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    0
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    0
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Not as Anticipated

A favourite Mary Stewart story, but the narration really disappointed. I kept listening because of the story but will avoid this narrator on another book.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Kat Harrison
  • 2019-08-20

Narrator ruined one of my favorite books

Narrator boring, slow and terrible accent. Sped it up and made it better but still disappointing.

8 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • L. Nash
  • 2019-08-19

Narrator should be reading Pooh, not mystery

Need narrator who gives a good interpretation, and reflects it in her reading. She bored me to death.

6 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Mary B.
  • 2019-08-20

Very poor narration

Why did the publisher choose such a poor (and apparently inexperienced) narrator? Ugly accent, sounds US American, not really either Canadian or British. I have purchased several other of the new Mary Stewart books, including This Rough Magic, which I think is the best of all, and the narration was much better

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Leslie O'Connor
  • 2019-08-18

Ms Stewart is quite the wordsmith

I loved this book. Ms Stewart has such a gift for describing the setting....you feel as though you are physically there with the main characters. Amazing story, well crafted from beginning to end.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • STEPHANIE L HOLLAWAY
  • 2019-08-29

Poor Narrator

This is a fantastic book written by Mary Stewart. I have read it countless times. I would say it is my favorite of her books. However, the narrator is not very good. She basically just reads the book. Very little change in voice. Not enough emotion is conveyed by the narrator. She does not do the book justice.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • MSP
  • 2019-11-05

Hauntingly Lovely

I'm in not sure I've ever enjoyed a narrated book so much. I have loved Mary Stewart for over 50 years, but Amy Molloy took it to an entirely new level. She Told the story rather read it. I was entranced.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Isabel Rose
  • 2019-10-15

As nuanced as Mary Stewart gets

This book has evocative descriptions, unforeseeable plot twists and only a minimum of coincidence...classic Mary Stewart.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Deborah McCormick
  • 2019-09-14

I have loved this story since I was a young teen. It is a beautifully crafted story!

I have loved this story since I was a young teen. It is a skillfully crafted story that intrigues both the emotions and the intellect. I did note a few differences between that hardback book I read so many times and the audio version and wondered if I had dropped into another time string or something mystical like that. The audio was great, however, and beautifully performed. I highly recommend it!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Jackie Houchin
  • 2020-04-30

Mary Stewart's books are the best

I'm listening to all her books now. Years ago I read and reread them. This time I am going in order - working towards my favorite of all. But The Ivy Tree has everything you may want in a lovely romantic suspense mystery, beautiful words and descriptions, heartache and joy. Always joy at the end! And clean and free of all the things that make today's books disgusting. Anyone from a Tween to your grandmother could read and enjoy this book!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Mimi
  • 2020-04-22

Delicious!!!

Mary Stewart weaves a tale of love, greed, generosity, family manipulation and secrets. Her beautifully crafted prose transports the reader to beautiful northern England and generational intrigue. There are twists and turns!! The narrator’s accents helps carry the reader through this exciting saga.