Listen free for 30 days

Audible Membership

$14.95 a month

1 credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
The Plus Catalogue—listen all you want to thousands of Audible Originals, podcasts, and audiobooks.
$14.95 a month plus applicable taxes after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy Now for $31.27

Buy Now for $31.27

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Tax where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

An utterly heartbreaking tale of two young girls, worlds apart, who are thrown together when they have lost everything. Fans of Wives of War, Before We Were Yours, and Diney Costeloe will absolutely love this poignant and moving World War Two novel.

England, 1937: After a devastating childhood at Blakely Hall Orphanage, 15-year-old Sandra is released. She finds work as a housemaid, finally able to put her past behind her. But the start of World War Two throws the country into turmoil, and her brother, Alf, is sent away to fight, leaving her completely alone.

Germany, 1939: Eleven-year-old Frieda is about to board a ship bound for England with her brother, Kurt. Life at home is perilous, with synagogues set alight and innocent lives lost to the Nazis. They have no choice but to flee, with only their identity cards and a small suitcase. But at the last moment, as Frieda stands on the deck crammed with frightened children, she spots her brother jumping off, back to land.

England, 1943: Joining the Land Army, Sandra is sent to a farm in the remote countryside where she meets evacuee Frieda. The girls are grappling with their own tragedies - Sandra fretting over whether Alf, flying a bomber in the heavens, will see tomorrow, and Frieda distraught that Kurt abandoned her, uncertain whether he is alive.

Sandra and Frieda form a friendship that sees them through the darkest of days, but in times of war, heartbreak is always just around the corner. Will the girls ever be reunited with their loved ones? And will the relationships they have fostered amidst the terror of war survive?

©2020 Shirley Dickson (P)2020 Bookouture

What listeners say about The Outcast Girls

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    3
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Riveting.

I love Shirley Dickson and Osie Jones was fabulous. A beautiful and poignant story.
I highly recommend this to anyone interested in world war ii.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Jan M
  • 2020-03-11

Heartbreaking and Poignant

The Outcast Girls by Shirley Dickson is a heartbreaking and poignant story of survival during WWII in England. The author wrote a very compelling story that pulled me in. Frieda travels from Germany to England to get away from the Holocaust. She is about 15 and doesn't know if she will ever see her family again. The friendship with Sandra was well written. The perspectives of the young girls during war was enlightening to me. Rosie Jones was fantastic with her performance. She brought the characters to life with her voice, and had appropriate emotions inflected. The book is full of both love and sorrow.

22 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Jo Reason
  • 2020-02-05

enjoyable


Stunning book, beautifully written, such a different storyline about the war with what happened in the UK rather than the typical warfront or POW camp book. There is plenty of emotion, details of the era and location, friendship, loss, love during the Second World War.

12 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Amazon Customer
  • 2021-02-26

Disappointing

I tried to become absorbed in this book but found it difficult. I was waiting for a climax but nothing. The struggles and sacrifices were very well written and documented. I did love the characters and the performances were very good.

9 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Rebecca Morton
  • 2020-11-09

I ADORED this book!!!

I ABSOLUTELY LOVED this book! The fact that it was set in the North of England where I was from was even better! My best friend lives a few miles from Hexham and I could picture the people and the countryside perfectly.
Even the language and slang is familiar to me- even though I’ve not lived in England for 30 years.
I found myself so involved in this story I was thinking of the girls when I wasn’t listening and wondering what was going to happen next. It was interesting to learn so much about a time when my parents were young children and remembered a few things about the war. This story tied it all together.
WONDERFUL!

8 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Becky Hales
  • 2021-02-10

Better the second time around

I’ve read this book twice now, okay listened. I reviewed the book’s description and couldn’t remember it well. If you love WW II fiction this is great. Also includes a glimpse into Land Girls that helped farmers during the war.

6 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Maria Teresa V. McGeehan
  • 2020-06-02

beautiful story of friendship

This was a beautiful story of friendship. Revealing how similar very different people's paths can be and how together they can find peace. I just felt like I needed to know more about what happened to the characters ahead. Maybe a part 2?

6 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • P. Groth
  • 2021-01-10

Read this one before reading The Lost Children

I thoroughly enjoyed this book and appreciate the realism in that everything is not entirely hunky dory in these peoples' lives. This is realistic historical fiction, not a story using an historical background to tell a story. I loved the lanuage and being able to learn what it was like to be in a country actually experiencing war as I have been very fortunate to have never truly experienced that. The impact of the blackouts, rationing and feeling limited by the people in this book is similar to what we are experiencing with covid.

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Charlotta Cook
  • 2020-11-26

You will not want to put this book down!

A great story where you will get to know two wonderful girls and follow their journey towards hope and happiness in grim times.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • uffdasuzanne
  • 2020-05-03

WW2 Land Girls

Very sweet story about the hard working land girls of WW2 and their many struggles.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Ruth Lierz
  • 2021-10-26

The Outcast Girls

Loved this book so much. I was sad when it finished! Really like how you saw the main characters overcome tremendous obstacles and thrive.

1 person found this helpful