Listen free for 30 days

1 credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
The Plus Catalogue—listen all you want to thousands of Audible Originals, podcasts, and audiobooks.
$14.95 a month plus applicable taxes after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy Now for $28.64

Buy Now for $28.64

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Tax where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Getting inside the mind of a killer isn't for the faint of heart....

Alice Quentin faces her most terrifying challenge yet in this chilling novel, perfect for fans of Nicci French.

The girl was lying on the steps of the Foundling Museum, dressed all in white.

Four girls have disappeared in North London. Three are already dead. Britain's most prolific child killer, Louis Kinsella, has been locked up in Northwood high-security hospital for over a decade. Now more innocents are being slaughtered, and they all have a connection to his earlier crimes.

Psychologist Alice Quentin is doing research at Northwood. She was hoping for a break from her hectic London life, but she'll do anything to help save a child - even if it means forming a relationship with a charismatic, ruthless murderer. But Kinsella is slow to give away his secrets, and time is running out for the latest kidnap victim, who is simply trying to survive....

©2014 Kate Rhodes (P)2014 Oakhill Publishing

What listeners say about The Winter Foundlings

Average Customer Ratings

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

No reviews are available
Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Lynne F
  • 2016-08-15

Becoming predictable.

I really enjoyed the first book in the series, I quite liked the second book - but by the third book I could predict what would happen because it seems that Kate has only one main story line for her lead character. I won't lay out the details here because I would hate to spoil the book for someone who hasn't read the others, but the author may consider that it doesn't always need to be the same person who makes the same mistakes in their personal lives and who makes foolhardy decisions that end up with the same person fighting for their lives in every story! There are other ways to weave suspense and action into a book.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Cougar
  • 2016-08-14

silence of the lambs

which came first, the silence of the lambs or winter foundling? They are mirror images

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Scott
  • 2018-12-29

Good

Interesting story. I am on the fence about the ending. It was good, but left me wanting. I can't decide if that was because it ended too abruptly or I needed to hear more about Ella and the families and/or the deeper historicsl storyline from the perspective of the secondhand killer.

The narrator is easy to listen to. I will likely look up other books she's narrated, however, her voice seemed more mature than this story's character suggested. This conflict was distracting for me, and may not be for others.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • ajrivera
  • 2017-03-04

more from this author

loved the series, couldn't stop listening. Will there be an other book in the series