Get a free audiobook

CDN$ 14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

Sometimes, the difference between reality and insanity is only a matter of absurdity.

There is nothing Milo Bishop fears more than the thought that he is going insane. Having grown up hearing his Uncle Jay’s stories about the strange mermaids, Milo never had a reason to believe they were actually true. But when a near-death experience gives Milo a vision of a mermaid calling to him for help, Milo is forced to test his uncle’s claims.

And when he winds up in Rasulka - the mermaid community tucked away deep under the southern California seas - the question of his uncle’s sanity is the least of his concerns. For, in the heart of Rasulka, a growing whirlpool in the ocean-sky, the terrarium’s changing climate, along with a discarded prophecy that says their end will come when humans appear all suggest that the end is near.

Along with his uncle, best friend Moss, and Eluia, a young mermaid who grew up hearing myths about humans, Milo has only hours to sort through his doubts and insecurities and face down unimaginable terrors if he is going to find his way home, before Rasulka, and everyone in it, is lost forever.

Fans of Dune, Empire of Lies, Fahrenheit 451, and Till We Have Faces will enjoy this science fantasy thriller with a dark psychological twist.

©2019 C.S. Johnson (P)2020 Christina Johnson

What listeners say about Till Human Voices Wake Us

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 0 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    0
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 0 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    0
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

No reviews are available
Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Cathrine Bonham
  • 2020-06-08

A story about humans and life.

I don't usually put warnings in my reviews but if you struggling with mental health issues, specifically suicide an depression, just go in forewarned. I went in expecting a story about mermaids conducting scientific studies on humans. what I got was way more philosophical. Milo Bishop wants to kill himself. He hasn't experienced any trauma, he just doesn't want to live. untill one night when he sees a vision after jumping off the wrong end of a yacht. Milo's uncle has always talked about being experimented on by mermaids, but is he really insane? Milo gets a reality check in a big way. Sound exciting? It was, in places. But some of the questions posed in this story hit really close to home. Even if you're not suicidal like Milo, you might just end up realizing how ungrateful you've been acting towards your loved ones. I loved the voice acting provided by William Hoyle. He was the perfect voice for Milo's first person narration. He also managed to give each supporting character their own voice as well.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • SJE
  • 2020-07-03

Well written book

I have a lot of feelings on this one, and some of them are for personal reasons. First, this was a great narrator and I really liked Milo and felt a connection to him. The world building was also fascinating. However, I can't say I loved this one. I almost stopped with 2 hours to go because there's a trope in here I have no tolerance for, the mad scientist. And I get the themes that were being explored. But I am a scientist, and I find that trope offensive and harmful to public opinions of science. Had I known, I probably would have passed on the book. Do with that what you will, but if you read it I hope it connects to you. I listened to a review copy, but these are my honest opinions.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Sidney G Fooshee
  • 2020-06-05

Slow Burn Character Driven Story

I requested and was provided a free code for this book in exchange for an honest review. The book started off feeling like an H.P. Lovecraft tale. Is the main character insane? Are there really mermaids? Then the tone shifts to become an adventure and a heroes journey of self discovery for the main character. It is a short book and there isn't much fat. The author covers a lot of material and crafts an intriguing story. The narration is well done. If you find this review helpful, please indicate so, thanks!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Darla Cox
  • 2020-05-24

I love this book

I love this book and the next one of the series so much that I have the ebook, the paperback, and the audio versions. Ms Johnson has a wide range of knowledge and it shows in her writing. Mr. Hoyle is an awesome narrator and sounds like what I thought the main character should sound.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Christacap
  • 2020-04-26

surprisely good story

when the story began all you focus on is the self centeredness of the main character who drowns himself in self sorrow and loathing of others. As the story unfolds the character evolves like the experiences he witnesses into a mindful individual who recognized the wonderous lives around him and in him. be patient the story flow is worth it

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • North Wind Knight
  • 2020-04-14

WELL WRITTEN DRAMATIC TALE WITH AN APOCALYPTIC END

STORY WAS WELL-WRITTEN AN EASY-TO-FOLLOW. I SAY IT DOES SHOW US WHAT A DARK SIDE 2 HAVING A LACK OF HUMANITY WILL BRING US TO. THE STORY HAS AN ALLEGORICAL FEELING TO IT. CORRECTLY INTERPRETING THE END OF SODOM AND GOMORRAH. SIMILAR CRIMES AGAINST INNOCENCE AND AND SUCH THINGS BRING FALL TO MOST ADVANCING CIVILIZATIONS. ONLY ACCEPTABLE FOR A MORE MATURE AUDIENCE PG-13 OR OLDER. NARRATOR AGAIN IS GREAT AND VERY EASY TO FOLLOW. DRAMATIC REAL LIFE THEME AND SITUATIONS THROUGHOUT. BUT IT LEAVES A QUESTION IS THERE MORE WHAT MORE IS OUT THERE THEN JUST LIFE AND EXCHANGE OF ENERGY AND WHERE DOES FAITH PLAY INTO THIS. WHEN WE STOP BE LEAVING IS THE DIVINE CREATOR AND SHED THE CLOAK OF PROTECTION TO THE INNOCENT AND WILLINGLY TAKE LIFE WITHOUT CONSCIENCE. THEN WE KNOW OUR TIME IS NEAR CLOSE AND THE FALL OF CIVILIZATION WILL ONLY BE NEARER. AN UNDERSTUDY OF HISTORY, CIVILIZATIONS AND DOCTRINAL BIBLICAL FAITH. HOW THESE ARE INTERTWINED AND SEEKING THE TRUTH IN THE HISTORY OF CREATION AND THAT MANKIND.