Get a free audiobook

When Angels Sleep

Written by: Mark Griffin
Narrated by: Tamsin Kennard
Length: 10 hrs and 57 mins

CDN$ 14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

On a cold winter's morning, the body of a young boy is discovered in Epping Forest.   

The body is pristine and peaceful, his head resting gently on a pillow, an angel pendant clenched in his small fist. It is a murder as carefully planned as it is brutal, and there's one person DI Bishop needs back on his team to help solve such a calculated crime.   

Holly Wakefield, clinical psychologist for the Met Police, is better than anyone Bishop knows at getting inside the brains of psychopaths. But with the body count rising, it's going to take all Holly's strength to dive into the murky mind of someone who preys on young boys.

And all Bishop's resolve to stop the serial killer before any more angels are put to their rest.

The second gripping thriller in the Holly Wakefield series, from the acclaimed author of When Darkness Calls. A dark and twisted serial killer thriller perfect for fans of Val McDermid, Mark Billingham, Stuart MacBride and TV crime series Luther.

©2019 Mark Griffin (P)2019 Hachette Audio UK

What the critics say

"A thrilling new talent." (Peter James)   

What listeners say about When Angels Sleep

Average Customer Ratings

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

No reviews are available
Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Ruth
  • 2020-02-17

Series is getting better

The first in this series introduced ill defined protagonists, very graphic murder scenes and a rather convoluted hard to follow plot. There was enough to get a reader/listener interested. This go around the plot is typical - missing and dead children, leaving us to fall back into to an either get more attached to Holly or not.

Griffin has peaked my interest enough to stop ticking the boxes of the procedural check list of a variety of protagonist characteristics to want to listen to the next book. And engaged me enough to connect to one of the victims.

Hard to say yet whether I would recommend it to those other than us who are addicted to police procedurals.

Good narration. Got to this book based on Tamsin Kennard’s narration of the better procedural series written by Dylan Young.