Get a free audiobook

With the Fire on High

Written by: Elizabeth Acevedo
Narrated by: Elizabeth Acevedo
Length: 7 hrs and 26 mins
4.5 out of 5 stars (3 ratings)

CDN$ 14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

Ever since she got pregnant, 17-year-old Emoni's life has been about making the tough decisions - doing what has to be done for her young daughter and her grandmother. Keeping her head down at school, trying not to get caught up with new boy Malachi. The one place she can let everything go is in the kitchen, where she has magical hands - whipping up extraordinary food beloved by everyone. 

Emoni wants to be a chef more than anything, but she knows it's pointless to pursue the impossible. There are rules she has to play by. And yet, once she starts cooking, and gets that fire on high, she sees that her drive to feed will feed her soul and dreams too. And anything is possible. 

A sumptuous novel, food for the soul and the heart, perfect for fans of Angie Thomas' On the Come Up, Nicola Yoon and Justin Reynolds' Opposite of Always.

©2019 Elizabeth Acevedo (P)2019 Bonnier Books UK

What the critics say

"With its judicious depth and brilliant blazes of writing that simmer, then nourish, With the Fire on High is literary soul food." (New York Times)

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    3
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

No reviews are available