Free with 60-day trial

Audible Membership

$14.95 a month

1 credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
The Plus Catalogue—listen all you want to thousands of Audible Originals, podcasts, and audiobooks.
$14.95 a month plus applicable taxes after 60 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy Now for $37.57

Buy Now for $37.57

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Tax where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Winner of Best Narration by the Author at the Audie Awards 2020.

Finalist in Best Young Adult Audiobook at the Audie Awards 2020.

Ever since she got pregnant, 17-year-old Emoni's life has been about making the tough decisions - doing what has to be done for her young daughter and her grandmother. Keeping her head down at school, trying not to get caught up with new boy Malachi. The one place she can let everything go is in the kitchen, where she has magical hands - whipping up extraordinary food beloved by everyone. 

Emoni wants to be a chef more than anything, but she knows it's pointless to pursue the impossible. There are rules she has to play by. And yet, once she starts cooking, and gets that fire on high, she sees that her drive to feed will feed her soul and dreams too. And anything is possible. 

A sumptuous novel, food for the soul and the heart, perfect for fans of Angie Thomas' On the Come Up, Nicola Yoon and Justin Reynolds' Opposite of Always.

©2019 Elizabeth Acevedo (P)2019 Bonnier Books UK

What the critics say

"With its judicious depth and brilliant blazes of writing that simmer, then nourish, With the Fire on High is literary soul food." (New York Times)

What listeners say about With the Fire on High

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    5
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    8
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    5
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Comfort Food for the Reader

Acevedo’s voice has a dream-like quality to it that allows you to fall into Emani’s world, to feel the intensity of her emotional turmoil as a young mother and neglected daughter, to identify with her passion for food and the ways in which the flavours tell her sorry and wonder about the dimple cheeked boy who reminds you don’t stop living the life you dream about. I would recommend this to fellow readers looking for literature to nourish the soul.