Gratuit avec l'essai de 30 jours

Choisissez 1 livre audio par mois dans notre incomparable catalogue.
Écoutez à volonté des milliers de livres audio, de livres originaux et de balados.
Accédez à des promotions et à des soldes exclusifs.
L'abonnement Premium Plus se renouvelle automatiquement au tarif de 14,95 $/mois + taxes applicables après 30 jours. Annulation possible à tout moment.
Page de couverture de A Curse So Dark and Lonely

A Curse So Dark and Lonely

Auteur(s): Brigid Kemmerer
Narrateur(s): Kate Handford,Davis Brooks,Matt Reeves
Essayer pour 0,00 $

14,95$ par mois après 30 jours. Annulable en tout temps.

Acheter pour 30,06$

Acheter pour 30,06$

Payer avec la carte finissant par
En confirmant votre achat, vous acceptez les conditions d'utilisation d'Audible et la déclaration de confidentialité d'Amazon. Des taxes peuvent s'appliquer.

Description

Bloomsbury presents A Curse So Dark and Lonely by Brigid Kemmerer, read by Kate Handford, Davis Brooks and Matt Reeves.

A New York Times best seller!

In a lush, contemporary fantasy retelling of Beauty and the Beast, Brigid Kemmerer gives listeners another romance perfect for fans of Marissa Meyer.

Fall in love, break the curse.

It once seemed so easy to Prince Rhen, the heir to Emberfall. Cursed by a powerful enchantress to repeat the autumn of his 18th year over and over, he knew he could be saved if a girl fell for him. But that was before he learned that at the end of each autumn, he would turn into a vicious beast hell-bent on destruction. That was before he destroyed his castle, his family, and every last shred of hope.

Nothing has ever been easy for Harper. With her father long gone, her mother dying, and her brother barely holding their family together while constantly underestimating her because of her cerebral palsy, she learned to be tough enough to survive. But when she tries to save someone else on the streets of Washington, DC, she’s instead somehow sucked into Rhen’s cursed world.

Break the curse, save the kingdom.

A prince? A monster? A curse? Harper doesn’t know where she is or what to believe. But as she spends time with Rhen in this enchanted land, she begins to understand what’s at stake. And as Rhen realizes Harper is not just another girl to charm, his hope comes flooding back. But powerful forces are standing against Emberfall...and it will take more than a broken curse to save Harper, Rhen, and his people from utter ruin.

©2020 Brigid Kemmerer (P)2020 Bloomsbury Publishing Plc

Ce que les critiques en disent

"Has everything you'd want in a retelling of a classic fairy tale." (Jodi Picoult, New York Times best-selling author of A Spark of Light and Small Great Things)

"I couldn't get this creative, suspenseful take on 'Beauty and the Beast' out of my head." (Sara Holland, New York Times best-selling author of Everless)

"Absolutely spellbinding." (Stephanie Garber, number one New York Times best-selling author of Caraval and Legendary)

Ce que les auditeurs disent de A Curse So Dark and Lonely

Moyenne des évaluations de clients
Au global
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 étoiles
    87
  • 4 étoiles
    54
  • 3 étoiles
    19
  • 2 étoiles
    2
  • 1 étoile
    2
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 étoiles
    106
  • 4 étoiles
    30
  • 3 étoiles
    9
  • 2 étoiles
    0
  • 1 étoile
    2
Histoire
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 étoiles
    84
  • 4 étoiles
    38
  • 3 étoiles
    21
  • 2 étoiles
    2
  • 1 étoile
    2

Évaluations – Cliquez sur les onglets pour changer la source des évaluations.

Classer par :
Filtrer
  • Au global
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    2 out of 5 stars

Formulaic. The few innovations fall flat

This is a fairly unoriginal take on the "Beauty and the Beast" fable. Harper, a plucky, poverty-stricken waif with a heart of gold is kidnapped into an enchanted castle with a Prince (Rhen) under an annual curse (wherein he turns into a terrifying monster unless he can find love). The main "twist" is that Harper is from the future (or our dimension) taking her cellphone with her as she is kidnapped into the tapestry-bedecked fantasy palace complete with musical instruments playing themselves. For some reason Harper is simultaneously furious/outraged at being kidnapped, attracted to Prince Rhen, and captivated by the shy, heroic, handsome captain of the guard (Grey).
The plot is largely unoriginal, the dialogue noticeably painful, and the character reactions nonsensical. To this, the author bizarrely adds international diplomacy, a social realignment plotline, and threats of war. Brigid Kemmerer is a competent but unspectacular writer... the descriptions of the environs and characters are fine but unimpressive.
To her credit, there *are* a couple of novel features to this glaringly standard Fairy Tale, but they either make little sense or feel tacked-on for effect (e.g. Harper's Cerebral Palsy, her gay brother Jake back home, the contrived love triangle thing).

The strongest aspect of the recording is the narrator team. The performance is emotive and well-paced. Kate Handford, Davis Brooks, and Matt Reeves read the book - each taking on a specific character's perspective in alternating chapters. It's a clever way to tell the tale and works really well (though the growling monster chapters are chuckle-worthy silliness). The sound quality is excellent and these readers are considerably above average.

The Beauty and the Beast fable is well-loved and told in dozens of languages for a reason: it has undeniably entertaining elements and timeless moral messages. If you can suspend logic, I suppose this version of it merits 4.5 stars out of 10. But if you enjoy this kind of fantasy (I don’t - and won't be continuing to explore the Emberfall setting), Sarah J. Maas's stuff (the 'Court of Thorns and Roses' series) is quite a bit more clever.

Un problème est survenu. Veuillez réessayer dans quelques minutes.

Vous avez donné votre avis sur cette évaluation.

Vous avez donné votre avis sur cette évaluation.

1 personne a trouvé cela utile

  • Au global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars

very well done!

couldn't stop listening! love the modern twist on beauty and the beast! well worth the time to listen.

Un problème est survenu. Veuillez réessayer dans quelques minutes.

Vous avez donné votre avis sur cette évaluation.

Vous avez donné votre avis sur cette évaluation.

1 personne a trouvé cela utile

  • Au global
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    3 out of 5 stars

Entertaining, clean, young adult read

This book was incredibly entertaining, fast-paced, and enjoyable. It wasn’t terribly original, and it wasn’t necessarily artful, which is pretty much the only reason I wouldn’t rate it higher. If you’re wondering, the book doesn’t have any sexually explicit content, though I don’t know about the sequels yet, and I wouldn’t recommend this for kids or young teens. It’s all been pretty wholesome so far, but there are mature topics. Probably one of the better clean alternatives to ACOTAR, if you’re looking for a take on beauty and the beast. (Although I can’t remember if the book had explicit language, that stuff slips out of my mind)

I could predict much of what was coming, and usually that’s something that makes me bored, but the characters and dialogue within the book really held my interest. I love how precise and attentive the characters are to what they and each other are saying! Even the many silences they shared together were charged and meaningful.

The narrators did pretty well in their own right. The monster’s growling actually took me out 😂 I had to hold in my laughter so I wouldn’t wake my family. The men even did alright when narrating for women, not too squeaky. Usually I prefer more emotive narrators, but this style of writing didn’t always lend itself to that. The characters emotions are often subtle or nondescript.

Looking forward to the next ones!

Un problème est survenu. Veuillez réessayer dans quelques minutes.

Vous avez donné votre avis sur cette évaluation.

Vous avez donné votre avis sur cette évaluation.

  • Au global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars

love it

just good stuff. I like it . I like it alot.............yup I do. for sure

Un problème est survenu. Veuillez réessayer dans quelques minutes.

Vous avez donné votre avis sur cette évaluation.

Vous avez donné votre avis sur cette évaluation.

  • Au global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars

Great story!!

At first I thought the performers were a little stiff. But once I warmed up to the story, it didn’t bother me so much. Great storyline! I’m going to start the second book right away.

Un problème est survenu. Veuillez réessayer dans quelques minutes.

Vous avez donné votre avis sur cette évaluation.

Vous avez donné votre avis sur cette évaluation.

  • Au global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars

Wonderful

I am embarrassed that I enjoyed this book so much because I am in my 50s and I just discovered this book is meant for teens and young adults!! I have no idea why I didn’t know this before starting this book!!

Un problème est survenu. Veuillez réessayer dans quelques minutes.

Vous avez donné votre avis sur cette évaluation.

Vous avez donné votre avis sur cette évaluation.

  • Au global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars

Loved it!

It's a long time since I was so captivated by a book. Really enjoyed it.

Un problème est survenu. Veuillez réessayer dans quelques minutes.

Vous avez donné votre avis sur cette évaluation.

Vous avez donné votre avis sur cette évaluation.

  • Au global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars

Totally enjoyed this book.

First book I’ve listened to from Brigid Kemmerer. It was fascinating Totally enjoyed this book.

Un problème est survenu. Veuillez réessayer dans quelques minutes.

Vous avez donné votre avis sur cette évaluation.

Vous avez donné votre avis sur cette évaluation.

  • Au global
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    4 out of 5 stars

Fun, easy listen

As I haven't listened to many audiobooks, I wanted to start by listening to something attention grabbing that would be easily accessible. This was a good choice for that- the narration was very strong, the story had just the right amount of fantasy, and although the plotline was simple and fell into a few YA clichés, I definitely enjoyed listening to this book.

Un problème est survenu. Veuillez réessayer dans quelques minutes.

Vous avez donné votre avis sur cette évaluation.

Vous avez donné votre avis sur cette évaluation.

  • Au global
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    4 out of 5 stars

It was good

I really liked the book. I found the female narrator not as enjoyable to listen to but I still liked the story.

Un problème est survenu. Veuillez réessayer dans quelques minutes.

Vous avez donné votre avis sur cette évaluation.

Vous avez donné votre avis sur cette évaluation.