Obtenez votre premier livre audio gratuitement

A Good Kind of Trouble

Auteur(s): Lisa Moore Ramée
Narrateur(s): Imani Parks
Durée: 6 h et 46 min

CDN$ 14,95 par mois; les 30 premiers jours sont gratuits. Annulable en tout temps.

Description

From debut author Lisa Moore Ramée comes this funny and big-hearted debut middle grade novel about friendship, family, and standing up for what’s right, perfect for fans of Angie Thomas' The Hate U Give and the novels of Renée Watson and Jason Reynolds.

Twelve-year-old Shayla is allergic to trouble. All she wants to do is to follow the rules. (Oh, and she’d also like to make it through seventh grade with her best friendships intact, learn to run track, and have a cute boy see past her giant forehead.)

But in junior high, it’s like all the rules have changed. Now she’s suddenly questioning who her best friends are and some people at school are saying she’s not black enough. Wait, what?

Shay’s sister, Hana, is involved in Black Lives Matter, but Shay doesn't think that's for her. After experiencing a powerful protest, though, Shay decides some rules are worth breaking. She starts wearing an armband to school in support of the Black Lives movement. Soon everyone is taking sides. And she is given an ultimatum.

Shay is scared to do the wrong thing (and even more scared to do the right thing), but if she doesn't face her fear, she'll be forever tripping over the next hurdle. Now that’s trouble, for real.

"Tensions are high over the trial of a police officer who shot an unarmed Black man. When the officer is set free, and Shay goes with her family to a silent protest, she starts to see that some trouble is worth making." (Publishers Weekly, "An Anti-Racist Children's and YA Reading List")

©2019 Lisa Moore Ramée (P)2019 HarperCollins Publishers

D'autres livres audio du même...

Ce que les auditeurs disent de A Good Kind of Trouble

Moyenne des évaluations de clients

Évaluations – Cliquez sur les onglets pour changer la source des évaluations.

Il n'y a pas encore de critiques disponibles pour ce livre audio.
Trier :
Trier par:
  • Au global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
  • T. B. Brodie
  • 2020-02-09

Book belongs in every middle school library!

I loved the way the author intertwined several themes - friendship, growing up and values in the backdrop of the Black Lives Matter movement. The narrator herself sounded like she was the age of the main character which made listening to the book all the more believable. I’m an adult and I thoroughly enjoyed the book!

2 les gens ont trouvé cela utile

  • Au global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Jay Forman
  • 2019-05-22

Awesome and Real

I couldn’t stop listening to the book. For kids it made such a strong effort to consider the intersectionality if identity and how that impacts relationships. I can’t wait to read this with my students.

1 personne a trouvé cela utile

  • Au global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Utilisateur anonyme
  • 2020-09-16

One of the readers;u;

It was a pretty good book, it was better when I read it myself though. I could imagine the characters voices how I think they could sound. That was the only thing with me. Other than that, I was pretty good! ^^

  • Au global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Utilisateur anonyme
  • 2020-09-09

For The Young and the Old

I really didn't think I would enjoy this book so much. Was reading it just for my young niece. Boy was I surprised! Great for all ages and so appropriate for this time in our struggle with racism.

  • Au global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Dora Kotsakis
  • 2020-06-28

AMAZING!!

I absolutely LOVED this book! I can't wait to listen to it again and again.

  • Au global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Matthew T Novinger
  • 2020-05-21

Very interesting and could listen to it all day

Amazing and full of great writing
Good narrator and overall I loved it sooo much!👍👍👍👍👍👍👍👍👍

  • Au global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Dale
  • 2020-04-23

The book was amazing

The book was fantastic I would never choice anorher fhe nattir was fabulous. My favorite part is when she trys to get in trouble in the end it was anazing everything about this book is anazing

  • Au global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Rebekah
  • 2019-12-28

Awesome road trip book!

The writing is superb! Great storyline! Definitely will look for more stories by this author!!