Prix: CDN$ 38,59

Détails de l'abonnement Détails de l'abonnement
  • Une période d'essai de 30 jours, en plus de votre premier livre audio gratuit
  • 1 crédit par mois après la période d'essai – valable sur n'importe quel livre audio
  • Échange facile de vos livres, à n'importe quel moment
  • Conservez vos livres audio, même si vous résiliez votre abonnement
  • Après votre essai gratuit, Audible coûte seulement CDN$ 14,95 par mois
OU
Dans le panier

Description

From the acclaimed author of Her Every Fear and The Kind Worth Killing comes a diabolically clever tale of obsession, revenge, and cold-blooded murder - a sly and brilliant guessing game of a novel in the vein of Ruth Ware, Paula Hawkins, and Patricia Highsmith. 

Harry Ackerson has always considered his stepmother, Alice, to be sexy and beautiful in an "otherworldly" way. She has always been kind and attentive, if a little aloof in the last few years. 

Days before his college graduation, Alice calls with shocking news. His father is dead, and the police think it's suicide. Devastated, Harry returns to his father's home in Maine. There, he and Alice will help each other pick up the pieces of their lives and uncover what happened to his father. 

Shortly after he arrives, Harry meets a mysterious young woman named Grace McGowan. Though she claims to be new to the area, Harry begins to suspect that Grace may not be a complete stranger to his family. But she isn't the only attractive woman taking an interest in Harry. The sensual Alice is also growing closer, coming on to him in an enticing, clearly sexual way. 

Mesmerized by these two women, Harry finds himself falling deeper under their spell. Yet the closer he gets to them, the more isolated he feels, disoriented by a growing fear that both women are hiding dangerous - even deadly - secrets...and that neither one is telling the truth. 

©2018 Peter Swanson (P)2018 HarperCollins Publishers

Ce que les membres d'Audible en pensent

Moyenne des évaluations de clients

Au global

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 étoiles
    3
  • 4 étoiles
    1
  • 3 étoiles
    1
  • 2 étoiles
    0
  • 1 étoile
    0

Performance

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 étoiles
    4
  • 4 étoiles
    1
  • 3 étoiles
    0
  • 2 étoiles
    0
  • 1 étoile
    0

Histoire

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 étoiles
    2
  • 4 étoiles
    2
  • 3 étoiles
    1
  • 2 étoiles
    0
  • 1 étoile
    0
Trier :
  • Au global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars

Whoops He's Done It Again

I'm a huge mystery /thriller fan And Peter Swanson always writes a mean mystery. Right to the bitter end you will be biting your nails at 'what's next?' Awesome novel with the perfect ending 😍

1 personnes sur 1 ont trouvé cette évaluation pertinente

Trier :
  • Au global
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    3 out of 5 stars
  • shelley
  • Raleigh, NC
  • 2018-04-04

LISTENERS BEWARE!


This is a VERY DARK novel.
It crosses the lines of adults having sexual relationships that border on incestuous between step parents and the teenage children of their spouses. Though technically not incest, the perspective ages of teenagers being seduced by 40ish something adults may make this book unappealing to some.
The story unfolds in two time periods -then and now. There's Alice growing up with an alcoholic mother and her step father (Jake). Her mother's death (murder?) and Alice alone with Jake. Then there's Alice as the step mother with her deceased (murder or suicide?) husband's son, Harry.
Abuse perpetuates abuse.
When a young woman shows up in town who claims she was Harry's father's lover, she is murdered. Then her sister shows up. There's danger around every corner for her.
The characters are cold take matters into their own hands to survive in their own idealistic world. Though it never comes to fruition.
Except for Harry and the murdered woman's sister, I could not muster up a warm feeling for any of the other characters.
If you found this review helpful please indicate so.
Thank You.

85 personnes sur 102 ont trouvé cette évaluation pertinente

  • Au global
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Eric Mochnacz
  • 2018-05-07

Not one of Swanson's best...

I have found Peter Swanson to be a unique voice in suspense thrillers since I picked up "The Kind Worth Killing." It was also one of the first audiobooks I listened to with different narrators. That story was suspensful, mysterious and full of double crosses and "oh my god" moments, I devoured his next one. So, when friends in a book club shared that he had released "All the Beautiful Lies", I needed to download it immediately.

Ultimately, I was disappointed. Where Swanson has been sleek in his writing in his past two books, I felt the writing in this one was clunky and overbearing. I also felt the characters in "All the Beautiful Lies" weren't clearly written and were missing dimension, so I wasn't invested in what happened to them. Harry, who I thought was the lead character, was boring and had no qualities that made him stand out as a strong literary character. Even Alice, also important to the story, was one-dimensional - and although she could be painted as a villain - she wasn't even a villain I cheered for (which has sometimes happened in previous Swanson works.) The characters are all so emotionless and bland, that they seem crammed together into a story where the connections don't work. The narrative voice changes often. Although this is a strategy Swanson has employed in the past, it didn't work this time. The story became overcrowded...and since he loves his "twists", I spent more time trying to predict the twist involving a secondary character, rather than investing in these lame characters.

This book does deal with heavy themes, especially the effects of pedophilia and sexual abuse on individuals. However, it almost seems like these behaviors are "glamorized" to propel the story. I felt, at times, Swanson almost wanted the read to sympathize with Jake and Alice, although their actions were deplorable.

I would also argue that maybe the narration led to my lack of investment. Mollo-Christensen's voice was soothing almost to the point of boring. I don't like over dramatic narrators, but she bordered on reading the book in the same tone the entire time.

By the end, I was bored and didn't really care what happened to any of the characters.

3 personnes sur 3 ont trouvé cette évaluation pertinente

  • Au global
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Stephanie Poninski
  • 2018-04-10

Lolita Gone Bad

This is a far cry from the well-written and interesting, The Kind Worth Killing. The plot was implausible and predictable. I felt like I was listening to a Lifetime movie. None of the characters were likable and all were cliche. Save your time and money on this one.

20 personnes sur 25 ont trouvé cette évaluation pertinente

  • Au global
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Tabitha
  • 2018-04-07

Pretty Good for a Peter Swanson Book

Potential spoilers: If you liked The Kind Worth Killing, you will probably like this one. It’s better than his book from last year, Her Every Fear, but still filled with similar cliched literary tropes and far fetched all-too-convenient plot points. The main female protagonist/antagonist Alice is a thinly-veiled reimagining of Lily from The Kind Worth Killing. In classic Swanson style, the characters are all emotionless and unlikable, the writing is plodding and methodical, the story is absolutely packed with plot twist and unforeseen connections until the very last page and people getting away with murder for decades and underage girls being sexually assaulted and EXTREMELY banal dialogue. If you like his formulaic writing style and dark topics this is for you!

8 personnes sur 10 ont trouvé cette évaluation pertinente

  • Au global
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    4 out of 5 stars
  • lauren
  • 2018-07-23

Good twist but becomes repetitive

The twist were amazing and you won’t see them coming... at least I didn’t. Swanson also plays each chapter as “then” vs “now” setting up the characters but after part two of the book it becomes unnecessary. The narrator did a great job nothing to make you leave the story. I actually finished it with in a few days because it was constantly setting up or revealing another aspect. If you’re a fan of The Kind Worth Killing then you may be split on this read. It’s not as good but for sure worth a read.

1 personnes sur 1 ont trouvé cette évaluation pertinente

  • Au global
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Julie J. Montgomery
  • 2019-05-04

If your expectations are right..

Fun puzzle. If you’re expecting literature, you’ll be disappointed. Some of the dialogue was laughable, but maybe that was the performance of it. I listened to all of it and enjoyed the journey.

  • Au global
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    4 out of 5 stars
  • DantheHuman
  • Spokane, WA
  • 2019-05-02

Wonderful Narration

This may not be Peter Swanson's best work, but Sarah Mollo-Christensen's narration is some of the best I've ever listened to.
I really enjoyed the story. I know this is not the best rated of Swanson's five stand-alone novels. It is not for everyone and some of the character back stories seem sightly convoluted. It's very salacious and definitely (trigger warning) has some pedophilia aspects- which is hard to read/listen to. Overall, these are classic Swanson characters, lots of cleaver twists with compelling drama.
If you enjoy Swanson's beautiful-affluent-white-people-involved-with-murder, always in the lovely East Coast setting... you should enjoy this.

  • Au global
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    2 out of 5 stars
  • JFB
  • 2018-09-30

Mixed

I am a big Peter Swanson fan. I am from New England and love the settings and plot twists. I have read all of his books my favorite is the girl with a clock for a heart. This book was challenging for me. Sex your step parent is repulsive and disturbing. I found the topic more perverted than anything. Stalking a minor - dirty old men- I’m not sure what was going on there. I’d hope it was over, keep reading and there it is again. Plot twists were good. Sorry, it just crossed a line.

1 personnes sur 2 ont trouvé cette évaluation pertinente

  • Au global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
  • J. R.
  • Pennsylvania
  • 2018-07-16

Must enter a headline even though it's optional?

A gripping story, easy to listen to in a few marathon sessions. The narrator was a pleasure for the ears and did a fantastic job with the characters.

  • Au global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Kate
  • 2018-06-06

Finally a surprise!

Finally audible handed me a story with a real surprise instead of "unexpected twists" that are all too predictable.
I was into this book from the start and it kept me interested all the way through.

I don't think you'll love or even especially like any of the characters, but the story is unique and wild enough that you'll want to tell people about it.