Obtenez votre premier livre audio gratuitement

Chase Baker and the Spear of Destiny

A Chase Baker Thriller
Auteur(s): Vincent Zandri
Narrateur(s): Andrew B. Wehrlen
Durée: 5 h et 51 min

CDN$ 14,95 par mois; les 30 premiers jours sont gratuits. Annulable en tout temps.

Description

The kidnapping of the Pope....

The heist of the spear that pierced Christ's side during the crucifixion....

The rise of the Neo-Nazi Fourth Reich....

The only man who can stop it all is adventurer Chase Baker.

After surviving a bloody run-in with ISIS-sympathizing bandits in the middle of Morocco’s Sahara Desert, adventurer and Renaissance man Chase Baker finds himself in the presence of a Vatican priest who desperately needs his help. One of the church’s great relics has been stolen by a surviving member of the Nazi SS. A man by the name of Adolf Rickman. The relic is none other than the Spear of Longinus. The very weapon that pierced Jesus Christ’s side while he hung from the cross on Golgotha. If Chase can’t recover the spear, it will be used by Rickman and his neo-Nazi cohorts to create a brand new evil Fourth Reich. 

One thing stands in Rickman’s way however. The spear is not complete. Its tip has been broken off. The power of the spear can only be accessed with the tip when it is once again reunited with its whole. But who is the keeper of the spear tip? The Papal Father himself. So what does this mean for Chase? It means that not only must he recover the spear, he must prevent the Pope from being kidnapped by a band of 21st Century Nazis bent on taking over the world. 

Now, along with the help of a beautiful and sexy Vatican archivist and a chain-smoking priest, Chase Baker travels to Italy, the Vatican, Germany and points in between in search of the one relic that can either save mankind, or obliterate it. 

For fans of Russell Blake, Clive Cussler, Dan Brown, Boyd Morrison, and Brad Thor comes another full-length, hair-raising Chase Baker action/adventure from New York Times and USA Today best-selling ITW Thriller Award Winner Vincent Zandri. Filled with romance, suspense, intrigue, and just plain fun, Chase Baker and the Spear of Destiny is one wild ride.

©2017 Vincent Zandri (P)2017 Vincent Zandri

Ce que les membres d'Audible en pensent

Il n'y a pas encore de critiques disponibles pour ce livre audio.
Trier :
  • Au global
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Tracie Poling
  • 2017-11-15

Eh!

Not a bad listen. The story was a bit unbelievable and far fetched even for a fiction book. The narrator wasn’t bad his accents need quite a bit of work.
Overall I didn’t hate it but definitely didn’t love it.

1 personnes sur 1 ont trouvé cette évaluation pertinente

  • Au global
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Roger Fauble
  • 2019-01-02

Good read/listen

My first read from author Vincent Zandri. Although I own several of his books I'd never read one until now. I was given an Audible copy of this book & am voluntarily reviewing it. The excitement, intrigue & suspense of a thriller, good read! (RIP Marley January 20, 2014 - July 24, 2018).

  • Au global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Lori
  • 2017-12-18

Worth your time and credit!

Another great addition to the series. Perfect combination of author and narrator. This series is just plain fun, well written, very entertaining, engaging and enjoyable. This book is no exception. You are once again pulled into the world of Chase Baker and his adventures from the minute the story starts. As usual the story is fast paced, full of action and suspense and has an interesting storyline along with plenty of humor and sarcasm. This series is just addicting and definitley worth your time and credit.

Even though it's part of a series it can be listened to as a standalone.

Andrew B. Wehrlen is the voice of Chase Baker. These books wouldn't be the same without him. He has one of those voices that just pulls you into a story and brings it to life. Nice voice that is easy to listen to for long periods of time. Clearly spoken with a nice even pace. Great character voices. He gives each character a distinct personality and it's always easy to tell who is speaking. His narration changes to suit the situation at the time. Perfect tone and delivery of the humor and sarcasm. Always very enjoyable listening to him narrate a book.

I was given this free review copy audiobook at my request and voluntarily provided this review.

  • Au global
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Eric Hunley
  • 2017-12-16

Relentless non-stop action

Vincent Zandri and Andrew B. Wehrlen have rapidly become an author/narrator team that I seek out. The great news is that there are several books out there already published and it appears more to come.
This book is not one I would normally read as I like mystery thrillers, which introduced me to the author to begin with. This book is great for action lovers who want no fat. It starts out rolling and never stops.

I was given this free review copy audiobook at my request and have voluntarily left this review.

  • Au global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
  • mandy
  • 2017-12-12

great!

Great writing with action, adventure and perfect narration. I really enjoyed this story and can't wait for more chase baker!


I was given this free review copy audiobook at my request and have voluntarily left this review. The fact that I was gifted this book had no influence over my opinion of it.

  • Au global
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Kimberly Smith
  • 2017-12-09

Better than the last

I received a review copy at my request and voluntarily reviewed. I requested this audiobook because of the narrator, Andrew B. Wehrlen, before realizing it was part of the Chase Baker series. Fortunately, this book was better than the last Chase Baker book I listened to. This one has plenty of action and adventure to hold the listener’s arrention. While not the best book I’ve listened to, it’s definitely not the worst. As always, Wehrlen gives a great performance.

  • Au global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Mary Karowski
  • 2017-12-03

Indiana jonesish bs the nazis

How can you ever go wrong when you have an Indiana Jones style protagonist going head to head with modern day nazis in a quest for the spear of destiny? It will be hard to remember you are listening to a book and not watching a movie play out in your mind. The pope is in danger, an old SS officer has revived the nazi party. Only chase baker and a select group stand in their way. Can they succeed? Death and betrayal lurk around every corner along with ancient secrets and horrible traps. Enjoy it. I did. Part of a series but easily stands on its own merit. I was voluntarily provided this free review copy audiobook by the author, narrator, or publisher.

  • Au global
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Bikram Agarwal
  • 2017-11-29

Too much influenced.

I received a free copy of this audiobook from the author / narrator / publisher in exchange for an unbiased review.

The main character Chase Baker appears to be heavily influenced by Robert Langdon. So much so that in a blind test (whatever the audiobook equivalent would be), the story would sound like the draft version of the next adventure of Robert Langdon. Draft version, because the book lacks the polish that Dan Brown's books typically have. In order to make the story more interesting, the author pushed it more towards absurd and "that's impossible" territory. As a result, the book kinda delves into contemporary fantasy genre. And then it follows a set formula throughout the book. You know what's going to happen in next chapter before it even starts.

And then there are cheesy attempts at drawing in audience with phrases like "sexy Vatican archivist" etc. Why does the archivist have to be sexy. Or more specifically, why does it need to be highlighted? Oh right, to bring in audience. tch tch.

  • Au global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Jason
  • 2017-11-28

Great series!

Great series, always a fun listen. Well worth the credit.


This book has been provided at no cost for a fair and honest review.

  • Au global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Susan Patterson
  • 2017-11-22

And the thrills continue!

Vincent Zandri takes us on an adventure and holds our attention throughout.

The narrator did an excellent job. Knew his characters well.

I was given a free review copy of this audiobook at my request and have voluntarily left this review.