Obtenez votre premier livre audio gratuitement

Conviction

Auteur(s): Denise Mina
Narrateur(s): Cathleen McCarron
Durée: 9 h et 46 min
4 out of 5 stars (7 évaluations)

CDN$ 14,95 par mois; les 30 premiers jours sont gratuits. Annulable en tout temps.

Description

The captivating, utterly unforgettable thriller for fans of Killing Eve and The Woman in the Window: A true-crime podcast sets a trophy wife's present life on a collision course with her secret past.

The day Anna McDonald's quiet, respectable life explodes starts off like all the days before: Packing up the kids for school, making breakfast, listening to yet another true crime podcast. Then her husband comes downstairs with an announcement, and Anna is suddenly, shockingly alone.

Reeling, desperate for distraction, Anna returns to the podcast. Other people's problems are much better than one's own - a sunken yacht, a murdered family, a hint of international conspiracy. But this case actually is Anna's problem. She knows one of the victims from an earlier life, a life she's taken great pains to leave behind. And she is convinced that she knows what really happened.

Then an unexpected visitor arrives on her front stoop, a meddling neighbor intervenes, and life as Anna knows it is well and truly over. The devils of her past are awakened - and in hot pursuit. Convinced she has no other options, she goes on the run, and in pursuit of the truth, with a washed-up musician at her side and the podcast as her guide.

©2019 Denise Mina (P)2019 Hachette Audio

Ce que les critiques disent

"Mina's latest thriller is a spellbinding listen featuring a superbly talented narrator. Cathleen McCarron expertly portrays numerous characters spanning several ages, accents, genders, and emotions. She particularly shines as protagonist Anna McDonald.... Anna is a quirky, compelling heroine, and McCarron is a narrative force." (AudioFile Magazine)

"Such a delight: playful, fast-paced, and entirely compulsive." (Ann Cleeves, author of the best-selling Shetland series) 

"Denise Mina brilliantly manages to be funny, heart-wrenching, gut-punching and addictive all at once: A fabulous, captivating novel." (Nicci French, author of the international best seller Day of the Dead

"Spellbinding.... A metafictional marvel that both endorses and exemplifies the power of storytelling." (Publishers Weekly, starred review) 

Ce que les membres d'Audible en pensent

Moyenne des évaluations de clients

Au global

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 étoiles
    3
  • 4 étoiles
    1
  • 3 étoiles
    3
  • 2 étoiles
    0
  • 1 étoile
    0

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 étoiles
    5
  • 4 étoiles
    0
  • 3 étoiles
    2
  • 2 étoiles
    0
  • 1 étoile
    0

Histoire

  • 3.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 étoiles
    3
  • 4 étoiles
    0
  • 3 étoiles
    3
  • 2 étoiles
    1
  • 1 étoile
    0
Il n'y a pas encore de critiques disponibles pour ce livre audio.
Trier :
  • Au global
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Donna Seidel
  • Topeka, Ks, US
  • 2019-06-22

3

This is sadly not one of Denise Mina's best mysteries. I've
enjoyed her earlier works so much. Is there such as a thing as a good author and a disappointing reader? What I find long and hopelessly convoluted another reader may
enjoy as a 5. I will read other reviews as they appear.

7 personnes sur 7 ont trouvé cette évaluation pertinente

  • Au global
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Ian Macdonald
  • tallahassee, fl, US
  • 2019-06-25

Decent but not great

Lots of fun bits and a feisty heroine hampered by a sketchy plot.
None of the villains actions made sense to me.

6 personnes sur 6 ont trouvé cette évaluation pertinente

  • Au global
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    2 out of 5 stars
  • rosemary
  • 2019-07-10

Not at all what I expected

I read the reviews before I purchased this book and I knew that it was different than her other books but I had no idea that my opinion would be so different than most of the other readers. I really did not like the narrator and initially I found the book somewhat boring but I soldiered on until it turned to the podcast and then I really couldn’t stand it. I tried to listen three separate times but I never changed my mind. I can’t recommend this book but others have found it interesting.

5 personnes sur 5 ont trouvé cette évaluation pertinente

  • Au global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Jenn
  • 2019-06-26

Wow! Excellent all-around & AMAZING narrator!!

This is one of those books that is so good in every aspect that I feel the need to go back and re-rate past books I’ve rated as 5 stars to 4 or even 3 (author-wise and narration-wise). Logistically, this book is so complicated, interwoven, detailed and descriptive that it might seem impossible to execute in general let alone as excellently as Denise Mina so capably did. I’m so in awe of how she told this tale, it’s almost like she took an amazing movie that is so cinematically and visually impressive and then somehow turned it into a book as equally impressive through sheer storytelling — and without compromise. Everything was beyond great: character development, pacing, unfolding of twists and turns. In the very, very beginning I really couldn’t see how anything that was being introduced could possibly make any interesting sense at all or if it did, how it would even be appealing, but obviously, it all did and superbly so. Lastly, wow, most definitely the best narration I’ve heard, Cathleen McCarron literally did dozens of accents, ages, emotions, and genders so perfectly and believable without being offensive or overly dramatic. Bravo, I highly recommend this book.

4 personnes sur 4 ont trouvé cette évaluation pertinente

  • Au global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
  • joyce bartlett stack
  • 2019-06-20

As addictive as a good true-crime podcast

What an engrossing guilty pleasure! The reader makes the book come alive; she's delightful. The story is imminently contemporary, and is rounded out beautifully by the well-developed characters and their humanity. I really, really enjoyed this story.

6 personnes sur 7 ont trouvé cette évaluation pertinente

  • Au global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Anne
  • 2019-07-25

Wonderful

The plot is twisty and satisfying, the mystery is intriguing and engaging. I loved the well developed and interesting characters. And it was heart wrenching and funny and sarcastic and everything I want in a Denise Mina story.

1 personnes sur 1 ont trouvé cette évaluation pertinente

  • Au global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Carole Pucci Goodwin
  • 2019-07-23

So glad I learned of this book!!!!!!

What a book! i ripped through it...I couldn't stop! Rich characters, solid story!!!! Must listen again straight away!

1 personnes sur 1 ont trouvé cette évaluation pertinente

  • Au global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Joanie
  • 2019-07-23

First Review

But I had to! Loved the story, and the narration was mesmerizing. Perfection. One of those books you hate to see end.

1 personnes sur 1 ont trouvé cette évaluation pertinente

  • Au global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Caroline Pufalt
  • Creve Coeur, MO United States
  • 2019-07-18

Original

Took me a bit to get acclimated to the time shifts and characters, but worth it. Loved the reader too.

1 personnes sur 1 ont trouvé cette évaluation pertinente

  • Au global
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Peter dunbar
  • 2019-07-17

A most confusing book

Well written, well narrated, but a very obscure plot which I never did figure it.

1 personnes sur 1 ont trouvé cette évaluation pertinente