Obtenez votre premier livre audio gratuitement

Abonnement à Audible

14,95$ par mois

1 crédit par mois pour vous procurer le titre de votre choix – ce titre vous appartient.
Le catalogue Plus – écoutez à volonté des milliers de productions originales, de balados et de livres audio.
Après 30 jours, 14,95$/mois + taxes applicables. Annulable en tout temps.
Acheter pour 20,97$

Acheter pour 20,97$

Payer avec la carte finissant par
En confirmant votre achat, vous acceptez les conditions d'utilisation d'Audible et la déclaration de confidentialité d'Amazon. Des taxes peuvent s'appliquer.

Description

On the night of the school prom, a young teacher is found dead in the Thames in a drug-related accident. It seems - at first - to be another sign that Cherringham High is spiralling out of control. The new head however is convinced that the teacher's death is suspicious and quietly calls in Sarah Edwards. With her one-time detective partner, Jack Brennan, back in America, Sarah is at first reluctant to take on the case. But when she does get involved, it soon becomes clear that the tragic accident might really be a case of murder - and even Sarah herself could be in danger ...

"Dead in the Water" is the first full-length novel set in the sleepy English village of Cherringham, featuring the unlikely sleuthing duo Sarah, an English web designer, and Jack, American ex-cop. Thrilling and deadly - but with a spot of tea - it's like Rosamunde Pilcher meets Inspector Barnaby. For fans of Agatha Christie's Miss Marple series, Lilian Jackson Braun's "The Cat Who" series, Caroline Graham's Midsomer Murders, and the American TV series Murder She Wrote, starring Angela Lansbury.

Co-authors Neil Richards (based in the UK) and Matthew Costello (based in the US), have been writing together since the mid 90's, creating content and working on projects for the BBC, Disney Channel, Sony, ABC, Eidos, and Nintendo to name but a few. Their transatlantic collaboration has underpinned scores of TV drama scripts, computer games, radio shows, and - most recently - the successful crime fiction series Cherringham.

The narrator of the audiobook, Neil Dudgeon, has been in many British television programmes including the roles of 'DCI John Barnaby' in 'Midsomer Murders' and 'Jim Riley' in 'The Life of Riley'. He is also known for his film roles in 'The Nativity', 'Sorted' and 'Son of Rambow'. In 2012 Dudgeon starred as 'Norman Birkett' on BBC Radio 4's Afternoon Play series written by Caroline and David Stafford.

©2019 Bastei Lübbe (P)2019 Lübbe Audio

Ce que les auditeurs disent de Dead in the Water

Moyenne des évaluations de clients
Au global
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 étoiles
    43
  • 4 étoiles
    40
  • 3 étoiles
    20
  • 2 étoiles
    5
  • 1 étoile
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 étoiles
    65
  • 4 étoiles
    27
  • 3 étoiles
    12
  • 2 étoiles
    3
  • 1 étoile
    0
Histoire
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 étoiles
    37
  • 4 étoiles
    41
  • 3 étoiles
    19
  • 2 étoiles
    9
  • 1 étoile
    1

Évaluations – Cliquez sur les onglets pour changer la source des évaluations.

Trier :
Trier par:
  • Au global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars

Dead in the Water by Neil Richards

Love these books on to the next one.
Love Neil Dugeon reading them. He has a warm rich tone to his voice.

4 les gens ont trouvé cela utile

  • Au global
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars

Wish it was clear to read this between 24 and 25

The story was great. Giving 3 stars because I wish it was made clear that you needed to read this book inbetween book 24 and book 25 of the series. I got into book 25 confused as to why the cliff hanger at the end of book 24 was never addressed

3 les gens ont trouvé cela utile

  • Au global
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    4 out of 5 stars

Longer Format Yields Improvements

The biggest disadvantage of the Cherringham Cosy Mysteries is the limitations set by the episodic tale-telling. There simply isn't enough time for the tandem of authors Niel Richards (UK) and Matthew Costello (US) to get into the unspeakable elements of a crime/murder. I have long felt that a more relaxed framework would let them deliver on the promise suggested by some of the 'disturbing' aspects of residents hinted at in earlier episodes. I was prescient. Character backgrounds in this one (with drug use at the local school) are more troubling, the authors include some mild expletives, and the transatlantic collaboration uses the novella format to inject some much-needed tension. Richards and Costello also take advantage of the increased time to do some legitimate character development (e.g. Jack's thinking on returning to America full-time).
Unfortunately, they appear to be tied to their presentation of Cherringham as a friendly, picture-postcard village largely peopled with boring, cheery folks. This book builds on an established pattern: PG-13 mysteries written like a TV screenplay for a prime-time BBC-type audience. The attempt to be more gritty, however, is appreciated.

The weakest part of this submission is the narration. Niel Dudgeon (usually excellent) delivers a somewhat subdued, disinterested reading performance in this installment. He is still excellent in pacing, narrates the main text clearly, and performs character parts well, but his delivery is lacking in emotion for some reason.

If you are a fan of the series, this is a fine continuation (I was hoping for something even a little bit darker, but wasn't terribly disappointed). This much-improved effort is slightly subpar, but still worthy of 4 stars.

2 les gens ont trouvé cela utile

  • Au global
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    4 out of 5 stars

A decent story

I've listened to and enjoyed several of the Costello and Richards stories, but this one left me a little ambivalent. I felt a little lost. A good story, nevertheless.

1 personne a trouvé cela utile

  • Au global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars

Very interesting storyline

Enjoyed this book very much. Has a well-developed plot and storyline. Interesting characters. Excellent narrator.

1 personne a trouvé cela utile

  • Au global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Suu
  • 2021-02-05

Great to know!

I wondered what happened to Jack when he left abruptly to go back to the State, now I know.

1 personne a trouvé cela utile

  • Au global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars

Great story quite dramatic

I really enjoy Neil Dudgeon’s narration of the great stories. Love the characters! . And these fantastic stories. My only issue is that I wish it had been made clear that this story fit between other Cherringham shorts.

  • Au global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars

Great listen

I enjoyed listening to this audiobook. Interesting plot, well crafted and excellent narrator with good vocal variety.

  • Au global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars

For English Mysterys

I just love these books with Neil dungeon as the Storyteller he's very good at separating the characters and you can really picture the scenes as they unfold. Matthew Costello and Neil Richards are fantastic writers you just want to changelly listening listen or read the stories it'd be great if they ever made the TV series out of them all

Trier :
Trier par:
  • Au global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Karly
  • 2019-04-21

Another great Cherringham story

This was essentially an extended episode, with s bit more background about the main characters. If you like the Cherringham mysteries, you'll enjoy this as well. Listen to it following Episode episode 24 (A Death in the Family). This book explains what happens after the cliffhanger from episode 24.

28 les gens ont trouvé cela utile

  • Au global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Kathleen Freeland
  • 2019-04-04

Cannot wait for the next book

Everything is wonderful in this book, a new puppy included.
A series that is always interesting and delightful to listen to many times.

9 les gens ont trouvé cela utile

  • Au global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Renee
  • 2019-04-12

Keep them coming!

Wish this to become a television series, one shown in the States. Love, love, love these books.

7 les gens ont trouvé cela utile

  • Au global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Sylvia
  • 2019-04-10

So nice to have a full-length Cherringham mystery!

As usual, this cozy mystery lives up to the high quality set by all the previous 27 short mysteries. Neil Dudgeon is a fantastic narrator, adding to the “coziness” of the story. And it’s a great story, with several mysteries solved by the end. Highly recommended!

6 les gens ont trouvé cela utile

  • Au global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Cookiegrandma
  • 2019-04-06

Superb!

Costello and Richards are master storytellers. Dudgeon is perfect for bringing characters to life. Masterpiece

5 les gens ont trouvé cela utile

  • Au global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
  • SophiaMarie
  • 2019-07-05

Love this series!

Jack and Sarah make the perfect duo. Glad Jack is back in the Cotswolds. He's a credit to what an " average Joe" -type Yank is.

4 les gens ont trouvé cela utile

  • Au global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Shaneen
  • 2019-06-28

I enjoyed the book very much

loved it keep me guessing looking forward to the other books in this series. Can't wait

4 les gens ont trouvé cela utile

  • Au global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Kelly J. Grace
  • 2019-06-08

Modern English Village Mystery

Totally enjoyed this cozy mystery. Lovable characters , quaint village setting with modern challenges for a fresh take on an old reliable genre.

4 les gens ont trouvé cela utile

  • Au global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
  • chris
  • 2019-07-28

Really good!

When I get a book I try to pace myself so as to make it last a couple weeks, listening around 45 minutes in the evening to get to sleep. Well, this I started and listened to five hours the first day!
Held my interest, great story.
I very much enjoy these books, love the characters, storyline and setting.
The narrator can make or break the success of an audio book and Neil Dudgeon has made these books successful! He can truly bring the characters to life.

3 les gens ont trouvé cela utile

  • Au global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
  • H. Roberson
  • 2019-07-11

A Welcome Addition to Cherringham

Good story; a bit predictable. But - and this is important - it's a novel length Cherringham mystery. The plot lines are good and intersect each other well. At least one semi loose end having to do with Sarah's assault and her safety even after the resolution of the story line. Even so, entertaining.

Dudgeon again does a marvelous job with the performance and makes the book a joy to listen to. Characters are consistent and the additions of minor characters is done well with sufficient distinctions between them.

Recommended

3 les gens ont trouvé cela utile