Obtenez votre premier livre audio gratuitement

Get a Life, Chloe Brown

A Novel
Auteur(s): Talia Hibbert
Narrateur(s): Adjoa Andoh
Série: The Brown Sisters, Livre 1
Durée: 10 h et 17 min
4 out of 5 stars (15 évaluations)

CDN$ 14,95 par mois; les 30 premiers jours sont gratuits. Annulable en tout temps.

Description

“Absolutely charming...a flawless balance of humor, heat, sweetness, and depth, and I loved every page.” (Helen Hoang, USA Today best-selling author of The Bride Test)

Talia Hibbert, one of contemporary romance’s brightest new stars, delivers a witty, hilarious romantic comedy about a woman who’s tired of being “boring” and recruits her mysterious, sexy neighbor to help her experience new things - perfect for fans of Sally Thorne, Jasmine Guillory, and Helen Hoang!

Chloe Brown is a chronically ill computer geek with a goal, a plan, and a list. After almost - but not quite - dying, she’s come up with seven directives to help her “Get a Life”, and she’s already completed the first: finally moving out of her glamorous family’s mansion. The next items?

Enjoy a drunken night out.

Ride a motorcycle.

Go camping.

Have meaningless but thoroughly enjoyable sex.

Travel the world with nothing but hand luggage.

And...do something bad.

But it’s not easy being bad, even when you’ve written step-by-step guidelines on how to do it correctly. What Chloe needs is a teacher, and she knows just the man for the job.

Redford "Red" Morgan is a handyman with tattoos, a motorcycle, and more sex appeal than 10,000 Hollywood heartthrobs. He’s also an artist who paints at night and hides his work in the light of day, which Chloe knows because she spies on him occasionally. Just the teeniest, tiniest bit.

But when she enlists Red in her mission to rebel, she learns things about him that no spy session could teach her. Like why he clearly resents Chloe’s wealthy background. And why he never shows his art to anyone. And what really lies beneath his rough exterior.... 

©2019 Talia Hibbert (P)2019 HarperAudio

Ce que les membres d'Audible en pensent

Moyenne des évaluations de clients

Au global

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 étoiles
    9
  • 4 étoiles
    3
  • 3 étoiles
    1
  • 2 étoiles
    1
  • 1 étoile
    1

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 étoiles
    12
  • 4 étoiles
    0
  • 3 étoiles
    3
  • 2 étoiles
    0
  • 1 étoile
    0

Histoire

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 étoiles
    9
  • 4 étoiles
    2
  • 3 étoiles
    3
  • 2 étoiles
    1
  • 1 étoile
    0

Évaluations – Cliquez sur les onglets pour changer la source des évaluations.

Trier :
Trier par:
  • Au global
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    3 out of 5 stars

A romance, not a self-growth novel

From the description of the book, I thought that this novel would primarily be about a woman learning to accept her own limitations and, with that acceptance, growing into the best version of herself. That storyline is the predominant one in the first third of the book. Then, however, the story shifts into a lot of angsty-yet-respectful lust between the main characters: I would classify the novel under romance, not fiction. I ended up giving up on it, since I was looking more for something like "Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine". For the most part, I prefer audiobooks with limited, if any, descriptions of sex, and to be more focused on character development or to have lots of adventure/action. If you're looking for a contemporary romance, this could be a good choice. The narrator has excellent comedic timing and a good range of voices, and the writing itself is lighthearted and amusing.

  • Au global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars

This story is five stars, the narrator is seven

I've read a little of Hibbert's self published work before and really loved it. This is by far my favorite thing she's written so far, her improvement is just cosmic. The story by itself is beautiful but this narrator made it one of the best reading experiences I've ever had. The story handles the leads personal arcs well and their affection for each other feels authentic and understandable, as do their conflicts

  • Au global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars

Best Book of the Year!

A highlight of the year. This book is witty, engaging, empowering, and an absolute must-read.

Chloe Brown is an intelligent, socially awkward website designer who has fibromyalgia.

Redford Morgan is a sensitive, tattooed, motorcycle-driving artist still healing from an abusive relationship.

I fell in love with them both. Representation matters and I didn't realize how much I need to read about a protagonist with chronic pain until I found this book. And Talia Hibbert does it with such style! This book is funny and charming while showing the realities of fibromyalgia in a way that makes me feel empowered and renewed. Chloe Brown has limits. Chloe Brown has bad days. Chloe Brown is in charge of her own life.

And Red? I have never fallen in love with a book character so fast. All together, this book has shot to the top of my favourites list.

And the narration? Absolutely divine.

I highly HIGHLY recommend it.

Trier :
Trier par:
  • Au global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Amazon Customer
  • 2019-11-12

Wonderful!!!!!!

I like all this author's work, but I absolutely loved this one. As a woman with a chronic illness I was thrilled to discover that the heroine had one also. It's so rare to find a character that I can relate to so completely. This is now one of my favorite books.

4 les gens ont trouvé cela utile

  • Au global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Sweetums
  • 2019-11-10

OMG!

This is the first novel I have listened to or read by Talia Hibbert. Prior to this novel I knew nothing about her. This Texas girl figured this was a USA contemporary romance. When the narrator began with a non-American voice, I thought "Okay." I went with the flow of the novel and I am so in love with this author! She did a wonderful job of writing this novel and the narrator did a great job of reading. I did think Chloe's voice sounded like Dame Judi Dench on occasion, but it did not distract me from this super funny and romantic story.

2 les gens ont trouvé cela utile

  • Au global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
  • InfirmBookworm
  • 2020-02-25

THANK YOU TALIA HIBBERT!!!

I have never before felt so represented or understood; never have I been able to relate so deeply with a character in a book! And I never knew how wonderful it would feel to have this! As someone with, among other things, fibromyalgia and chronic pain, just like Chloe Brown, her story resonated with me like no other. I can’t begin to explain how this book, and the character of Chloe, can help people like me to feel seen, validated, and worthy—even deserving—of love. That, to me, is precious. And to have this story so well done, with such care, and a hilarious sense of humor, profound feeling, and sensuality—is just amazing!! I would absolutely recommend this book to anyone who suffers with chronic illness themselves, or loves someone who does, or for anyone else who enjoys a great steamy rom-com.

The narrator, Adjoa Andoh, did a great job as well. She was great with giving each character very distinct voices, and I enjoyed how she gave Red a more northern English accent. (But I love ALL British accents, so that may not count.) I also appreciated how her voice for Chloe subtly changed over the course of the book, as her character developed. Through her narration of Chloe, she showed us how she was growing and changing, bit by bit. Well done!

**Warning** Contains graphic sexual scenes. If you don’t like, or are offended by, some scenes of light-erotica, this will probably not be the book for you.

1 personne a trouvé cela utile

  • Au global
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    1 out of 5 stars
  • anmlfan
  • 2020-02-12

ugh.

I'll apologize, up front, for the annoyed tone of this review and for any "spoilers." It's just that my irritation at wasting several hours of time is fresh. :) I was listening to this for a book club, or I'd have turned it off a LONG time ago. The "book" is hours and hours of describing, in ridiculous detail, every tingle and thought... we get it already... attracted to each other... blahblahblah It's the most predictable story line ever... he thinks she's a prissy bitch... she thinks he's rude... they can't "figure out" this nagging attraction... they get to know each other... fall in love... tingle n squirm... sex... break up... can't live without you... back together... sappy happily ever after... the END (finally). See... I can write that in one badly-punctuated paragraph. The author could have done so much more to develop the characters. Instead, we got shallow puddles of neurotic need. I can't help but wonder how this got out of the publisher's garbage can. who are these people giving this 5 stars??? There is so much more out there to read. I'm off to find something that doesn't make my brain feel gross.

1 personne a trouvé cela utile

  • Au global
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    3 out of 5 stars
  • onzie
  • 2020-03-28

ok not great

just ok slow moving romance. as an American I couldtnt understand the brittish references and class issues

  • Au global
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Monica
  • 2020-03-15

Nope

I'm not a fan! I wanted to like this book after so many wonderful reviews but sadly it's a dud. The narrator wasn't very good with the voices although she was consistent and I wondered if I should just finish this by reading the actual book. However I wasn't enjoying the whiny nature of this adult woman and the guy I just couldn't get into. The story was far fetched not to be a fantasy and well I just barely made it through. I thought I'd relate more with the woman character as I too suffer from a chronic illness with the same symptoms but sadly no. It wasn't horrible and yes I did finish it but I wouldn't pass it on or recommend it. These are my 2 cents.

  • Au global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    4 out of 5 stars
  • L.Jacobsen
  • 2020-03-07

Fantastic reader but so wrong for this book

I gave the performance one star because the voice was way too old for this part. Listen to the sample and decide for yourself. It kind of drove me nuts. The voice sounded old enough to be the protagonist’s grandmother.

  • Au global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Kindle Customer
  • 2020-02-29

Thumbs up

This was a good book. I loved how the author made Red a sensitive, understanding man. Although he touched Buttons softly he still craved her

  • Au global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Turtleberry
  • 2020-02-24

Loved this

I loved this story so much. Red and Chloe had a great love story. The narrator was amazing. So many great moments in this book.

  • Au global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Nikki DeMarco
  • 2020-02-18

Instant reread

Do you ever want to start a book over as soon as you finish it? That’s this book for me. It’s funny and clever and real. The way Hibbert discusses chronic pain and abuse is so masterful. She doesn’t belittle it but also doesn’t make it the characters entire story. I can’t decide who I’m in love with more, Chloe or Red.

Do your heart a favor and download and listen to this book immediately. Then join me in listening again so we can discuss it at length.