Obtenez votre premier livre audio gratuitement

Après 30 jours, 14,95$/mois + taxes applicables. Annulation possible en tout temps.

Description

One of Time’s 100 Best Books of the Year 

One of NPR’s Best Books of 2019 

Named One of the Most Anticipated Books of 2019 by Woman’s Day, Newsday, Publishers Weekly, Bustle, and Book Riot! 

“[B]rilliant, timely, funny, heartbreaking.” (Jojo Moyes, number one New York Times best-selling author of Me Before You

For fans of Luster and I May Destroy You, a disarmingly honest, unapologetically Black, and undeniably witty debut novel that will speak to those who have gone looking for love and found something very different in its place. 

Queenie Jenkins is a 25-year-old Jamaican British woman living in London, straddling two cultures and slotting neatly into neither. She works at a national newspaper, where she’s constantly forced to compare herself to her White middle-class peers. After a messy breakup from her White long-term boyfriend, Queenie seeks comfort in all the wrong places...including several hazardous men who do a good job of occupying brain space and a bad job of affirming self-worth. 

As Queenie careens from one questionable decision to another, she finds herself wondering, “What are you doing? Why are you doing it? Who do you want to be?” - all of the questions today’s woman must face in a world trying to answer them for her. 

With “fresh and honest” (Jojo Moyes) prose, Queenie is a remarkably relatable exploration of what it means to be a modern woman searching for meaning in today’s world.

©2019 Candice Carty-Williams (P)2019 Simon & Schuster

D'autres livres audio du même...

Ce que les auditeurs disent de Queenie

Moyenne des évaluations de clients
Au global
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 étoiles
    96
  • 4 étoiles
    43
  • 3 étoiles
    6
  • 2 étoiles
    3
  • 1 étoile
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 étoiles
    103
  • 4 étoiles
    22
  • 3 étoiles
    5
  • 2 étoiles
    0
  • 1 étoile
    1
Histoire
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 étoiles
    73
  • 4 étoiles
    42
  • 3 étoiles
    11
  • 2 étoiles
    3
  • 1 étoile
    1

Évaluations – Cliquez sur les onglets pour changer la source des évaluations.

Trier :
Trier par:
  • Au global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars

Magnificent novel.

Best book I’ve read and listened to in ages—which is saying something as I’m a literature phd student. Both beautifully written and Incredibly performed—Carty-Williams’ characters come powerfully alive through Marks’ phenomenal voice and virtuoso reading. Each character and their accent more memorable than the last. The sound effects were also hugely welcome. The story lends itself naturally from struggle to joy to sadness and back again and moved me from laughter to tears with ease. Highly recommended to all. An especially relevant read for our current, troubled times. Queenie offers a profound and important examination of sexism and racism (among others) at the same time that it provides a unique experience, perspective, and journey of how to find a way to live and love (ourselves and others) again in the face of struggle and such ignorance and hate. I fell in love with each highly believable character, but most especially Queenie. I’ll be reading—and listening—to this book again and again.

1 personne a trouvé cela utile

  • Au global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars

Loved it!

I really loved this book. It was relatable in being a first-born immigrant from the Caribbean and navigating different worlds. I borrowed it off my local library’s website but I had to buy/own it.

  • Au global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars

Amazing book

Great performance with the accents. As a North American I enjoyed them the most. Much respect for the Caribbean diaspora.

  • Au global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars

Amazing performance! Great book

Really relatable. Especially for children who were raised by Jamaican parents/grandparents. Women of all ages should read this and pass it down to their daughters. it could really open up some important discussions.

  • Au global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars

Brilliant!

I thoroughly enjoyed it! As much as I felt Queenie had a highly dysfunctional relationship with the men in her life and a disappointment dynamic with her friends. I did relate to the ‘drama’ of Queenie’s young life. Her bad decisions and anxieties and poor prioritisation skills were familiar to me as a young woman who’s friends with young women. The way mental health is addressed in a serious but totally unimportant way felt do normal. Queenie’s story felt like like and I loved it

  • Au global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars

loved it

absolutely incredible!! everything about this book is flawless. 10 / 10 !! !

big love!!!!

  • Au global
    5 out of 5 stars

Great Novel!

Thoroughly enjoyed it! Read for a women's book club. Also bought the book but really loved the audible version. Looking forward to reading other books from this author.

  • Au global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars

Loved It!

I loved this book.So relatable and so funny too! So many great characters and I found myself chuckling out loud for most of the book.

  • Au global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars

Such an AMAZING book and GREAT reader. Very moving

LOVED it from beginning to finish. If you are wondering about getting this book, you should not waist too much time thinking about it. It was wonderful!

Trier :
Trier par:
  • Au global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
  • LATOYA LEWIS
  • 2019-05-20

The Black Womans Burden

Whew Chile......this book was a breath of fresh air. As though being black wasn't enough but being a black jamaican coconut (black shell but white inside) living in London was the topping on the cake. Talking about the taboo of therapy in the black community and how being strong is holding in feelings and keep going. Queenie's life echoes so many black women. Her trauma growing up, her relationship with her mother and grandparents was spot on. Her support system, friends, and coworkers. Her not knowing her worth or not seeing her beauty and settling for ain't shit men, white men because she didn't think she was beautiful enough for a brother to love her. Queenie slept with different men after a miscarriage and a breakup with her boyfriend if 3 years. Racism was visited along with sexual harassment, and sexism.Through therapy she was able to free herself from generational black women issues. Chessca, Darcy, and Cassandra were her real friends, I love their love for her. Friends holding one another accountable and having each other's back. This book is highly recommended for all women of color. #mentalhealthawareness #book24of2019 #bookworm #whatsnext

51 les gens ont trouvé cela utile

  • Au global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Susan
  • 2019-03-21

Growing up for Grownups

I chose the all star rating because narration, plot, the unfolding of the story, with character development, all flavored with amazing humor, pathos, and the blossoming of the characters, presented in a bird’s eye view of the story, blended together to create an outstanding novel. The theme of interracial relationships between black and white delved into fear, power, and differences between outward appearances of both racial groups. It dismissed stereotypes of racial sexuality. It displayed the folly of misconceptions that humans base relationships on, with a delightful description of the beauty inherent in all humans. PLEASE read it to discover life. Would be a great book for high school students with the psychologies presented regarding motives for sexual activities.

20 les gens ont trouvé cela utile

  • Au global
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Susan 🎧Audible-a-holic🎧 Crowe
  • 2019-04-05

Don't touch her hair !!!!

Where do i begin with this one?
Queenie, Queenie, Queenie. She sort of reminded me of myself when i was younger. Not the promiscuous parts but the "not having your shit together parts".
I LOLed several times. I enjoyed this audiobook. There were a few shock factor moments but all in all it was a good book. Don't listen with children around though. I was listening while in a fast food drive thru with my window down and had to turn it off until i was able to close my window back.
Reminded me of a Jamaican Bridgette Jones maybe?
The narrator was perfect.
I do recommend it for a little mindless chic-lit.

18 les gens ont trouvé cela utile

  • Au global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Chronicallymoni
  • 2019-03-22

Great Read

I thoroughly enjoyed listening. The story is very relatable. I have been Queenie. Totally recommend this book !

10 les gens ont trouvé cela utile

  • Au global
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Amazon Customer
  • 2020-04-29

No

I hated this novel. Boring and painful. Queenie had some serious issues. I only finished it because I can't start something and not finish it.

7 les gens ont trouvé cela utile

  • Au global
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    3 out of 5 stars
  • ROXY
  • 2020-03-07

good performance

this book was more like reality TV then a novel, it was a realism to it I wasn't ready for. Queenie really emotionally drained me because she outlined a real person

7 les gens ont trouvé cela utile

  • Au global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Camille
  • 2019-09-20

Best Book I Have Listened to/Read This Year!

This is a real, get your life together in your mid-twenties, kind of story. The main character is frustrating and makes some poor choices but you never stop rooting for her. This is an awesome book for women in college, those in their own quarter-life crisis, or women who have already lived through it.

6 les gens ont trouvé cela utile

  • Au global
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Lonnie Butler
  • 2019-12-12

awful

struggled to listen. storylines was confusing . hard to understand. could have been way better

5 les gens ont trouvé cela utile

  • Au global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Jewelryonabudget
  • 2019-04-05

Queenie !

Love love loved it!
Queenie is addictive!
Quick read just do it!
You will laugh, cry and pondering the issues Queenie faces.

5 les gens ont trouvé cela utile

  • Au global
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Lisa
  • 2020-02-28

Maybe better with a bookclub to discuss it with?

I liked it enough. Think the story could've been more interesting/developed. I spent the whole story wondering what the climax was... I think with a book club it would've been interesting to discuss some of the topics raised throughout the book, but journeying the story individually-- it fell a little short for me. Thought it was a great performance! perfect narrator.

4 les gens ont trouvé cela utile