Gratuit avec l'essai de 30 jours

  • Sisters of the Resistance

  • A Novel of Catherine Dior's Paris Spy Network
  • Auteur(s): Christine Wells
  • Narrateur(s): Saskia Maarleveld
  • Durée: 11 h et 4 min
  • 4,7 out of 5 stars (33 évaluations)

Choisissez 1 livre audio par mois dans notre incomparable catalogue.
Écoutez à volonté des milliers de livres audio, de livres originaux et de balados.
Accédez à des promotions et à des soldes exclusifs.
L'abonnement Premium Plus se renouvelle automatiquement au tarif de 14,95 $/mois + taxes applicables après 30 jours. Annulation possible à tout moment.
Page de couverture de Sisters of the Resistance

Sisters of the Resistance

Auteur(s): Christine Wells
Narrateur(s): Saskia Maarleveld
Essayer pour 0,00 $

14,95$ par mois après 30 jours. Annulable en tout temps.

Acheter pour 40,01$

Acheter pour 40,01$

Payer avec la carte finissant par
En confirmant votre achat, vous acceptez les conditions d'utilisation d'Audible et la déclaration de confidentialité d'Amazon. Des taxes peuvent s'appliquer.

Description

One of PopSugar's Best Books of June!

Two sisters join the Paris Resistance in this pause-resisting new novel inspired by the real-life bravery of Catherine Dior, sister of the fashion designer and a heroine of World War II France - perfect for fans of Kate Quinn and Jennifer Chiaverini.

"As dazzling as a Dior gown! With a gorgeous blend of fashion, heartbreak, heroism, and love this book will transport you to France...." (Natasha Lester, New York Times best-selling author of The Paris Secret)

Paris, 1944: The war is nearly over, but for members of the Resistance in occupied France, it is more dangerous than ever before. Twenty-five-year-old Gabby Foucher loathes the Nazis, though as the concierge of 10 rue Royale, she does her best to avoid conflict - unlike her bolder sister Yvette, who finds trouble at every turn. 

Then they are both recruited into the Resistance by Catherine Dior and swept into a treacherous world of spies, fugitives, and intrigue. While Gabby risks everything for the man she is hiding from the Nazis, Yvette must decide whether to trust an enigmatic diplomat who seems to have guessed her secret. As the threat of betrayal draws ever-closer, one slip could mean the deaths of many, and both sisters must make choices they might regret. 

Paris, 1947: Yvette returns from New York to reunite with Gabby and begin life anew as a mannequin for Dior, who is revolutionizing fashion with the New Look. But first she must discover the truth behind Catherine’s terrible fate, while Gabby finds that there are many kinds of courage, and that love is always worth fighting for.

©2021 Christine Wells (P)2021 HarperCollins Publishers

Ce que les auditeurs disent de Sisters of the Resistance

Moyenne des évaluations de clients
Au global
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 étoiles
    24
  • 4 étoiles
    7
  • 3 étoiles
    2
  • 2 étoiles
    0
  • 1 étoile
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 étoiles
    25
  • 4 étoiles
    5
  • 3 étoiles
    1
  • 2 étoiles
    0
  • 1 étoile
    0
Histoire
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 étoiles
    22
  • 4 étoiles
    7
  • 3 étoiles
    1
  • 2 étoiles
    1
  • 1 étoile
    0

Évaluations – Cliquez sur les onglets pour changer la source des évaluations.

Classer par :
Filtrer
  • Au global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars

Awesome

The narrator is excellent. The story is intriguing. I highly recommend. I will miss the narrators voice

Un problème est survenu. Veuillez réessayer dans quelques minutes.

Vous avez donné votre avis sur cette évaluation.

Vous avez donné votre avis sur cette évaluation.

1 personne a trouvé cela utile

  • Au global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
  • RSW
  • 2022-11-27

Excellent

A great story performed wonderfully - as usual - by Saskia. I really enjoyed it. I recommend!

Un problème est survenu. Veuillez réessayer dans quelques minutes.

Vous avez donné votre avis sur cette évaluation.

Vous avez donné votre avis sur cette évaluation.

  • Au global
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    2 out of 5 stars
  • LK
  • 2022-10-08

More than sisters

The title is misleading as the story addresses more than the activities of two sisters during WWII. This being said the sequencing of the story is irritating. There was too much back and forth in time. Careful editing is required. A saving grace was the narration which was excellent.

Un problème est survenu. Veuillez réessayer dans quelques minutes.

Vous avez donné votre avis sur cette évaluation.

Vous avez donné votre avis sur cette évaluation.

  • Au global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars

Great book, perfect narration

I honestly picked this book because I LOVE Saskia Maarlevelds narration, but I truly fell in love with this story. It was layered and interesting and beautifully written. Couldn’t recommend it enough!!

Un problème est survenu. Veuillez réessayer dans quelques minutes.

Vous avez donné votre avis sur cette évaluation.

Vous avez donné votre avis sur cette évaluation.