Obtenez votre premier livre audio gratuitement

The Black Swan of Paris

A WWII Novel
Auteur(s): Karen Robards
Narrateur(s): Nancy Peterson
Durée: 16 h et 53 min
4,3 out of 5 stars (7 évaluations)

CDN$ 14,95 par mois; les 30 premiers jours sont gratuits. Annulable en tout temps.

Description

An exquisite WWll novel illuminating the strength of three women in occupied Paris, for fans of The Nightingale, The Alice Network, and The Lost Girls of Paris

"A truly outstanding novel." (Heather Morris, number-one best-selling author of The Tattooist of Auschwitz)

"Emotional and powerful." (Pam Jenoff, New York Times best-selling author of The Lost Girls of Paris

Paris, 1944

Celebrated singer Genevieve Dumont is both a star and a smokescreen. An unwilling darling of the Nazis, the chanteuse’s position of privilege allows her to go undetected as an ally to the resistance.

When her estranged mother, Lillian de Rocheford, is captured by Nazis, Genevieve knows it won’t be long before the Gestapo succeeds in torturing information out of Lillian that will derail the upcoming allied invasion. The resistance movement is tasked with silencing her by any means necessary - including assassination. But Genevieve refuses to let her mother become yet one more victim of the war. Reuniting with her long-lost sister, she must find a way to navigate the perilous cross-currents of Occupied France undetected - and in time to save Lillian’s life.

In this heart-wrenching novel, best-selling author Karen Robards showcases a vivid portrayal of Paris in wartime.

©2020 Karen Robards (P)2020 Harlequin Enteprises, Limited

Ce que les auditeurs disent de The Black Swan of Paris

Moyenne des évaluations de clients
Au global
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 étoiles
    4
  • 4 étoiles
    2
  • 3 étoiles
    0
  • 2 étoiles
    1
  • 1 étoile
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 étoiles
    5
  • 4 étoiles
    1
  • 3 étoiles
    1
  • 2 étoiles
    0
  • 1 étoile
    0
Histoire
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 étoiles
    4
  • 4 étoiles
    2
  • 3 étoiles
    0
  • 2 étoiles
    1
  • 1 étoile
    0

Évaluations – Cliquez sur les onglets pour changer la source des évaluations.

Il n'y a pas encore de critiques disponibles pour ce livre audio.
Trier :
Trier par:
  • Au global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Holly M.
  • 2020-07-09

Oh my gosh! Listen!

I’ve read / listened to all of Karen Robards books. The Black Swan of Paris in my opinion was the best yet. Extraordinary narration! Tears fell, completely captivated, appalled at the human tragedy of war. The love story however is truly felt, believable and stunning. Bravo. Thank you Ms Robards.

2 les gens ont trouvé cela utile

  • Au global
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    3 out of 5 stars
  • justme
  • 2020-10-15

Wordy

This is an interesting read, abridged. Too many repetitive words, adjectives and at times boring

  • Au global
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Amazon Customer
  • 2020-10-13

The Black Swan Of Paris

Disappointed. Karen Robards has totally changed her writing style. I miss the steamy scenes. I would not rate this book as a romance novel - more of an historical novel.

  • Au global
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    4 out of 5 stars
  • celeste curley
  • 2020-10-05

Where to Start?

This was a real departure from Karen Robards’ usual. I both loved and hated it. The beginning was almost too tense to bear. I stopped listening many times because it literally was just too terrifying to read without a break. I was “there”. The love story was complex and interesting to me. And most of the characters were well defined and demanded empathy. The evil one was a monster. All in all the book was really good. Just be prepared to have a knot of fear in you chest for most of it!

  • Au global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Karen Grooms
  • 2020-09-02

Incredible story!

I loved everything about this story! Set in Nazi-occupied France, it was a realistic tale of the Resistance and their fight to help set up for the Normandy invasion. The performance was outstanding!

  • Au global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Jojo
  • 2020-08-30

Amazing

This is one of the most amazing books I’ve listened to in a long time. Great narration Amazing story Wanted and still want more. Hates off

  • Au global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
  • KC
  • 2020-08-23

New top 10 for me!

An amazing embodiment of the perils of war amidst an amazing story of love, family, honor, duty and sacrifice! Bravo!!!!!

  • Au global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Vimala McClure
  • 2020-08-17

The love story of love stories!

A fantastic story of love and intrigue in WW2 Paris. Just enough surprise and suspense to keep you listening. I’m a fan of resistance stories and I loved this one.

  • Au global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Anonymous User
  • 2020-08-17

Fantastic

This book has everything. One of the best I have read in a long time!

  • Au global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Brenda G.
  • 2020-08-06

Great WWII Story!

Loved this book! Historical fiction is a favorite of mine. This really grabbed my attention & the suspense was awesome, This really highlights the heroics of the French Resistance & the cruelties of the Third Reich. A great romance for the heroine & her spy!