Gratuit avec l'essai de 30 jours

  • The German Wife

  • Inspired by True Events, an Absolutely Gripping and Heartbreaking WW2 Historical Novel
  • Auteur(s): Debbie Rix
  • Narrateur(s): Tamsin Kennard
  • Durée: 11 h et 46 min
  • Version intégrale Livre audio
  • Catégories: Littérature et fiction, Historique
  • 4,7 out of 5 stars (13 évaluations)

Abonnement à Audible

14,95$ par mois

1 crédit par mois pour vous procurer le titre de votre choix – ce titre vous appartient.
Le catalogue Plus – écoutez à volonté des milliers de productions originales, de balados et de livres audio.
Après 30 jours, 14,95$/mois + taxes applicables. Annulable en tout temps.
Acheter pour 31,27$

Acheter pour 31,27$

Payer avec la carte finissant par
En confirmant votre achat, vous acceptez les conditions d'utilisation d'Audible et la déclaration de confidentialité d'Amazon. Des taxes peuvent s'appliquer.

Description

Germany, 1939: Annaliese is a doctor’s wife, living in an elegant grey stone house with ivy creeping over the balcony. But when her husband is ordered to work at the Dachau labor camp, her ordinary life is turned upside down by the horrors of war. And Annaliese finds herself in grave danger when she dares to fight for love and freedom. 

America, 1989: Turning the pages of the newspaper, Annaliese gasps when she recognizes the face of a man she thought she’d never see again. It makes her heart skip a beat as a rush of wartime memories come back to her. As she reads on, she realizes the past is catching up with her. She must confront a decades-old secret - or risk losing everything.

Germany, 1942: Annaliese’s marriage is beginning to crumble. Her husband, Hans, has grown cold and secretive since starting his new job as a doctor at Dachau. When a tall, handsome Russian prisoner named Alexander is sent from the camp to work in their garden, lonely Annaliese finds herself drawn to him as they tend to the plants together. In snatched moments and broken whispers, Alexander tells her the truth about the shocking conditions at the camp. Horrified, Annaliese vows to do everything she can to save him.

But as they grow closer, their feelings for each other put them both in terrible danger. And when Annaliese falls pregnant, she has to make an impossible decision between protecting herself and saving the love of her life. Inspired by a true story, this is a heart-stopping, unforgettable tale of ordinary people fighting for survival in the darkest of times. Fans of Orphan Train, The Tattooist of Auschwitz, and My Name Is Eva will be utterly gripped by this beautiful, tragic World War II novel.

Audiences love Debbie Rix:

"Incredibly heart-wrenching.... It’s just mind-blowing.... I adored this book from start to finish.... If I could give it 10 stars, I would." (Confessions of a Bookaholic)

"I was so gripped.... A beautifully written story that captivated my mind and heart.... A perfect historical fiction novel that fans of this genre are going to love." (By the Letter Book Reviews)

©2022 Debbie Rix (P)2021 Bookouture, an imprint of Storyfire Ltd.

D'autres livres audio du même...

Ce que les auditeurs disent de The German Wife

Moyenne des évaluations de clients
Au global
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 étoiles
    10
  • 4 étoiles
    2
  • 3 étoiles
    1
  • 2 étoiles
    0
  • 1 étoile
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 étoiles
    9
  • 4 étoiles
    3
  • 3 étoiles
    0
  • 2 étoiles
    0
  • 1 étoile
    0
Histoire
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 étoiles
    9
  • 4 étoiles
    3
  • 3 étoiles
    0
  • 2 étoiles
    0
  • 1 étoile
    0

Évaluations – Cliquez sur les onglets pour changer la source des évaluations.

Il n'y a pas encore de critiques disponibles pour ce livre audio.
Trier :
Trier par:
  • Au global
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    1 out of 5 stars
  • christina
  • 2022-02-22

Ridiculous story

This book says it’s based on a true story. I have been unable to find any historical reference to the premise of this book. Yes, Dachau existed as well as doctors that did horrific things to innocent people during WW2. As for the rest of the story, completely predictable.

1 personne a trouvé cela utile

  • Au global
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Utilisateur anonyme
  • 2022-05-25

Fast Read

This WW2 novel was easy to read and I finished it in a couple of days. I liked the story and the authors writing style. I felt that it could have been more suspenseful and the story line predictable. There were areas that could have been expanded. I felt for the heroine, who did not have an easy life. Loved the narrator! The book fit the bill for me, and I would give it a thumbs up!

  • Au global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Tina R.
  • 2022-04-26

A Must Read

An absolutely beautiful war story from the perspective of a Nazi officer's wife, I was sad when it ended. A must read!

  • Au global
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    4 out of 5 stars
  • "cstyles118"
  • 2022-03-20

a good story.... but

While I enjoyed the story itself for the most part, I couldn't help but think they wanted us to almost sympathize with this "unwilling Nazi". I understand being afraid of retribution or punishment for not complying, but I doubt there is much anyone could do to get me to commit the acts that Hans participated in. Sorry, but he doesn't get a pass from me. It really is a sad and depressing story if you really think about it. Anna, Hans (not that I care much about his happiness), and Alexander all pretty much end up lonely and sort of sad. it is a good story in that, sometimes, in fact most times, your actions do not just have an effect on you. There is a ripple effect to every decision, especially the big ones.

  • Au global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Reamsey
  • 2022-03-15

Remembrance

This story brought about a remembrance of the atrocities that went on in the Nazi concentration camps in World War ll but from a different angle. I found it captivating, heartbreaking and yet the love story was passionate, heartwarming and forgiving.

  • Au global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Suzette Mc
  • 2022-03-12

An Excellent view of Nazi cruelty and Impossible Love

I never write reviews but this audiobook is so enthralling, well written and plot driven Thai I have to tell the listeners that I could not stop
Listening to it. It is worth 20 credits. I will never forget it. Wonderful

  • Au global
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Kashi
  • 2022-02-22

Shallow characters

I’m very disappointed with this story. The main character is a woman who is unable to self-regulate her emotions enough to avoid putting the lives of people she cares about in danger. The other women in the story are equally as incompetent or more so. In this story women are feeble minded and ruled by their emotions. Men are generally rational and cold.

  • Au global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Molly
  • 2022-02-10

Must read!

Very Captivating! Great history mixed with romance, trivial times - overall very interesting! Worth the money!

  • Au global
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Janet L
  • 2022-02-07

Well….

Not nearly as good as The Italian Girls. The main character, Anna, is so naive and gullible. I nearly stopped, several times. Her belief that a man with Hans’s past was actually a good man disgusted me. Rix is a great story teller and obviously did a lot of research. My issue was the character. Just a very shallow woman.