Obtenez votre premier livre audio gratuitement

Après 30 jours, 14,95$/mois + taxes applicables. Annulation possible en tout temps.

Description

"Both readers are brilliant and nail the characterization in a way that instantly connects them to the listener. Everything here is top-notch." (Booklist, starred review)

The Expanse meets Game of Thrones in J. S. Dewes' fast-paced sci-fi adventure The Last Watch, where a handful of soldiers stand between humanity and annihilation.

The Divide.

It’s the edge of the universe.

Now it’s collapsing - and taking everyone and everything with it.

The only ones who can stop it are the Sentinels - the recruits, exiles, and court-martialed dregs of the military.

At the Divide, Adequin Rake commands the Argus. She has no resources, no comms - nothing, except for the soldiers that no one wanted. Her ace in the hole could be Cavalon Mercer - genius, asshole, and exiled prince who nuked his grandfather's genetic facility for “reasons”.

She knows they’re humanity's last chance.

A Macmillan Audio production from Tor Books

©2021 J. S. Dewes (P)2021 Macmillan Audio

Ce que les critiques en disent

"An epic tale of survival at the end of the universe." (Megan O'Keefe, author of Velocity Weapon)

"Crisp writing, vivid characters, and a plot that beguiles the imagination. The Last Watch is a stunning military sci-fi debut. I was hooked from the opening lines. If you like science fiction, then this book is definitely for you." (Jasper T. Scott, USA Today best-selling author)

"The Last Watch is an amazing debut. The smart world-building and explode-off-the page action scenes make it perfect for fans of The Expanse and other fast-paced Sci Fi. I predict that Dewes is going to be a 'must read' author for years to come." (Michael Mammay, author of Planetside)

D'autres livres audio du même...

Ce que les auditeurs disent de The Last Watch

Moyenne des évaluations de clients
Au global
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 étoiles
    5
  • 4 étoiles
    1
  • 3 étoiles
    3
  • 2 étoiles
    2
  • 1 étoile
    0
Performance
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 étoiles
    3
  • 4 étoiles
    4
  • 3 étoiles
    3
  • 2 étoiles
    0
  • 1 étoile
    0
Histoire
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 étoiles
    4
  • 4 étoiles
    3
  • 3 étoiles
    2
  • 2 étoiles
    1
  • 1 étoile
    0

Évaluations – Cliquez sur les onglets pour changer la source des évaluations.

Trier :
Trier par:
  • Au global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars

Well written story

excellent book. very well read. everything about it is good if you love sci Fi. expansive world with rich back stories.

  • Au global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars

Good sci-fi

The story is captivating and well written. If I had one quibble it's that the male narrator doesn't do much for me - he doesn't sound uncertain or nerdy enough. I would love to hear what Ray Porter or Wil Wheaton would have done with this. But don't let that stop you from giving this a listen, the story is strong and the characters compelling.

Trier :
Trier par:
  • Au global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Geonn W. Cannon
  • 2021-04-23

Fantastic scifi action

Every few months I try one of these big scifi epics hoping they'll be good. I want to like the genre even though they so often disappoint. But I keep trying in the hopes I'll eventually find a book like The Last Watch. Absolutely fantastic in every respect, and something that should please any fan of the genre. I'm already preordering the next book in the series and grateful the wait won't be terribly long.

7 les gens ont trouvé cela utile

  • Au global
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Anonymous User
  • 2021-05-08

Worth the read

overall the book was very enjoyable but the pacing was a bit off-putting. There were some excellent moments and one in particular in the latter half of the story that was enough for me to go ahead and pre-order the next book!. looking forward to the next half of the story!!

5 les gens ont trouvé cela utile

  • Au global
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Eric Jones
  • 2021-05-01

Interesting, but uneven

Decent but uneven story. Good ideas, but narrative gets bogged down in the details of minor events and the repetition of interpersonal conversations and inner monologues. Narrators are OK. Not a bad listen, but could have been more.

4 les gens ont trouvé cela utile

  • Au global
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Carr Harvey
  • 2021-06-29

Good story but the F-bomb got really old.

So, I really liked the story, tried to slug through the F-bomb literary style but gave up.
I have worked in the coal mines and been in the military so the word doesn't shock me.
However using the word for every display of emotion really gets old.
If it doesn't phase ya, give the book a try. But as a warning, decide early, because Audible will limit your
ability to return books if you try and fail to get past the language and give up.

3 les gens ont trouvé cela utile

  • Au global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Emma Aumack
  • 2021-04-24

Great Story. Great narration!

This is an awesome story and I have 2 new narrators to follow! Very different concept, good character development & the ending is not exactly what you might think. It’s a good start to a great series.

3 les gens ont trouvé cela utile

  • Au global
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Sum Guy
  • 2021-05-05

Enjoyed this one

Although the "Science" seems really far fetched, this was a fun story with interesting characters. looking forward to next book.

2 les gens ont trouvé cela utile

  • Au global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
  • R. Jernigan
  • 2021-06-22

A solid demonstration of science fiction

This novel has pretty much everything you could hope to see in science fiction: aliens, inexplicable tech, ftl travel, cybernetic body mods, far-future society; heck, it's got a novel end-of-the-universe peril thrown in too.

Looking forward to the sequel.

1 personne a trouvé cela utile

  • Au global
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Tom B
  • 2021-07-27

Exciting new scifi series!

J. S. Dewes created a complex new universe to explore with the Last Watch. Throughout the story, we're given a lot of good world-building details about the various powers that play, Each element of the universe is filled out nicely, with the Legion, Titans, and Sentinals, to the Mercer family and other royal houses, to the Viators, Savants, and the Drudges, it was all interesting and well told. I liked all the characters, especially Cavalon. The action scenes are exciting, and the imprint technology was badass!

The only reason this isn't a 5-star for me is there are some scenes with a little too much techno-babble, and some conversations sort of circle over themselves and repeat. Most of the conversations between Adequin and Griffith feel like they come to a logical conclusion then sort of pick back up and continue. Not the end of the world, but it happened just enough times to pull one star.

Overall, awesome, exciting story with some really clever and interesting ideas throughout. Fans of Battlestar Galactica, Mass Effect, and those looking for Game of Thrones in space are going to love this one. I'm looking forward to continuing the story.

  • Au global
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Mr Maps
  • 2021-07-20

I really wanted to like this.

Great ideas, not such a great way to write about them. Convoluted dialog and plot lines did not make for that great of a listen.

  • Au global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Valk
  • 2021-07-06

Cant wait for the next book.

I loved it. Space sci-fi has never really been a for me, but this book changed my mind. I have already pre-ordered the next book.