Obtenez votre premier livre audio gratuitement

The Scarred Woman

Department Q, Book 7
Auteur(s): Jussi Adler-Olsen
Narrateur(s): Graeme Malcolm
Série: Department Q, Livre 7
Durée: 14 h et 26 min
4.5 out of 5 stars (32 évaluations)

CDN$ 14,95 par mois; les 30 premiers jours sont gratuits. Annulable en tout temps.

Description

The New York Times and number-one internationally best-selling author of The Keeper of Lost Causes delivers his most captivating and suspenseful Department Q novel yet - perfect for fans of Stieg Larsson.

Detective Carl Mørck of Department Q, Copenhagen's cold cases division, meets his toughest challenge yet when the dark, troubled past of one of his own team members collides with a sinister unsolved murder.

In a Copenhagen park the body of an elderly woman is discovered. The case bears a striking resemblance to another unsolved homicide investigation from over a decade ago, but the connection between the two victims confounds the police. Across town a group of young women are being hunted. The attacks seem random, but could these brutal acts of violence be related? Detective Carl Mørck of Department Q is charged with solving the mystery.

Back at headquarters, Carl and his team are under pressure to deliver results: failure to meet his superiors' expectations will mean the end of Department Q. Solving the case, however, is not their only concern. After an earlier breakdown, their colleague Rose is still struggling to deal with the reemergence of her past - a past in which a terrible crime may have been committed. It is up to Carl, Assad, and Gordon to uncover the dark and violent truth at the heart of Rose's childhood before it is too late.

©2017 Jussi Adler-Olsen (P)2017 Penguin Audio

Ce que les membres d'Audible en pensent

Moyenne des évaluations de clients

Au global

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 étoiles
    23
  • 4 étoiles
    8
  • 3 étoiles
    1
  • 2 étoiles
    0
  • 1 étoile
    0

Performance

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 étoiles
    27
  • 4 étoiles
    2
  • 3 étoiles
    0
  • 2 étoiles
    0
  • 1 étoile
    0

Histoire

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 étoiles
    20
  • 4 étoiles
    6
  • 3 étoiles
    3
  • 2 étoiles
    0
  • 1 étoile
    0

Évaluations – Cliquez sur les onglets pour changer la source des évaluations.

Trier :
Trier par:
  • Au global
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    3 out of 5 stars

Pretty good...

Mr. Olsen is a master storyteller, and that is consistent across his books. Ultimately, at least for me, these ratings are about the mystery or the story itself. This time there are several stories moving at the same time and unfortunately none of them grabbed me as much as some of the other stories. There is a main development about one of the core characters, moving the overall dept. Q story forward a few steps. I still recommend the entire series and this one won't disappoint you if you're already a fan.

  • Au global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars

Wonderful on many levels!

As well as an interesting and many layered story there was more development of the characters we love. Well paced with fantastic narration as usual, this book had me listening almost non stop!

Trier :
Trier par:
  • Au global
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    4 out of 5 stars
  • green ice cream garden
  • 2017-09-27

Torn, but great

Disclaimers: Adler-Olsen is one of my top three favorite authors. He never lets me down. Also, unless you have read some of the previous books in this series, it may seem lack luster. (If you are discerning because compared to most other in the genre, even this one stands out.)

On one hand, this latest Department Q edition is the weakest in terms of the mystery/suspense. Even though you have more than one mystery to solve, five to be precise, they aren't as complex and intriguing as the crimes of past books. Plus, I didn't enjoy some of the cliche pot twist tricks.

On the other hand, c'mon this is about Department Q! This book focused more on the characters I have grown to love. It's clear that the relationships are becoming deeper, more real and more sincere. And, still can offer humor. I anticipate that the next one (PLEASE BE A NEXT ONE) will continue on this track.

All in all, when it ended I wanted more. This is a series I continue to support wholeheartedly.

22 les gens ont trouvé cela utile

  • Au global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Rena
  • 2017-10-07

Wonderful as always

Piquant interesting characters, fascinating subplots, and lines that motivate a burst of laughter. The author is at the peak of his talent. Don’t miss out on him.

7 les gens ont trouvé cela utile

  • Au global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Stevon
  • 2018-01-22

Jussi does it again

I really like this series, in fact, I've given my wife and kids the first two books in the series for Christmas presents, one each of the last two years. They've read them and like the series now as well.

As the author develops the characters of the individuals that make up Dept Q, you get more and more into their personalities. It has reached the point with me where Dept Q is as much of the story as the cold case being solved. This book does nothing but add to this and it's done in a seamless, creative way.

In this story there is a serial killer that is going around Copenhagen doing hit and runs that are killing people. As the case evolves Dept Q is drawn in and the current crimes are tied back to some old unsolved crimes, just what brings out the best in Dept Q. Rose plays a key role in this story but not at all in the way you might expect.

I could see this book being turned into a movie someday. It has lots of moving parts and is ingenious in the way it's put together. Bravo to Jussi Adler-Olsen.

4 les gens ont trouvé cela utile

  • Au global
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    3 out of 5 stars
  • L. Silka
  • 2017-10-28

Good follow on book in Dept Q series

Following the story was a little confusing early on. I like Dept Q series due to the interactions of Carl, Assad, Rose, and Gordon in solving cases, but this book spends the early quarter or so on lengthy flashbacks. Finally got interesting midway thru. The book does provide answers to Rose's problems. Still looking forward to the next installment. I was disappointed in the Danish TV version...gives short shrift to Carl in particular.

3 les gens ont trouvé cela utile

  • Au global
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Midwesterner
  • 2017-10-05

Oh Rose....<br />

I very much enjoyed this story. It was very suspenseful ; just the right amount and not as gut-wrenching as maybe one or two in the past; in this series.

We got to know a lot more about Rose. Now if we could just uncover Assad's secrets! And what's the deal with Hardy now? And isn't there more to his original shooting?

Looking forward to more! Thank you for the boredom-free commute, Jussi Adler-Olsen.

7 les gens ont trouvé cela utile

  • Au global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Theresa Landry
  • 2017-10-05

Best Dept. Q book yet!

The only bad thing about this book is that it ended! Can’t wait for the next installment!

3 les gens ont trouvé cela utile

  • Au global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Ellen
  • 2017-10-03

Fabulous!

Department Q novels are the best for every emotion known. It is a wonderful ride.

3 les gens ont trouvé cela utile

  • Au global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
  • FRITZ STOOP
  • 2017-11-19

Screwy Good!

Plot, plus nonsense, plus character, plus humor = great ride! Why do these snow bound nuts write so well? Wish there were more!

2 les gens ont trouvé cela utile

  • Au global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Allison
  • 2017-10-20

Outstanding

An outstanding series - one of my favorites of the last few years. A big leap forward in backstory of one of the MCs. Wow. Can’t wait to see how the story moves forward. Audible 20 Review Sweepstakes Entry.

2 les gens ont trouvé cela utile

  • Au global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Kindle Customer
  • 2017-10-14

Story + Performance = Excellence

That's it in a nutshell--how would Assad say that?
Eagerly waiting for next book.

2 les gens ont trouvé cela utile