Obtenez votre premier livre audio gratuitement

The Second Sleep

A Novel
Auteur(s): Robert Harris
Narrateur(s): Roy McMillan
Durée: 9 h et 21 min
3 out of 5 stars (1 évaluation)

CDN$ 14,95 par mois; les 30 premiers jours sont gratuits. Annulable en tout temps.

Description

From the international best-selling author of Fatherland and Munich, a gripping mystery and a fascinating cautionary tale.

"All civilizations consider themselves invulnerable; history warns us that none is."

1468. A young priest, Christopher Fairfax, arrives in a remote English village to conduct the funeral of his predecessor. The land around is strewn with ancient artifacts - coins, fragments of glass, human bones - that the old parson used to collect. Did his obsession with the past lead to his death?

As Fairfax is drawn more deeply into the isolated community, everything he believes - about himself, his faith, and the history of his world - is tested to destruction.

©2019 Canal K Limited (P)2020 Penguin Random House Canada

Ce que les critiques en disent

“It should be enough that Robert Harris, in his earlier books, makes the lives of Cicero and Caesar even more fascinating, and brings to vivid life the citizens of ancient Rome and 1930’s Munich. With The Second Sleep he cracks open The Time To Come, making his new book a barnburner, leaving the reader wanting only one thing: more, please.” (Tom Hanks)

“In the tradition of A Canticle for Leibowitz, Harris presents an extraordinary and terrifyingly plausible vision of a post-technological future, a novel that’s at once an adventure story and a meditation on truth and faith. You’ll never look at your iPhone in quite the same way again.” (Emily St. John Mandel, author of Station Eleven

“Stunning new thriller.... Surprises to the very end. Furthermore, as a highly inventive piece of dystopian fiction, it’s been winning comparisons with Margaret Atwood’s The Handmaid’s Tale.” (Jamie Portman, National Post

Ce que les membres d'Audible en pensent
Moyenne des évaluations de clients
Au global
  • 3 out of 5 stars
  • 5 étoiles
    0
  • 4 étoiles
    0
  • 3 étoiles
    1
  • 2 étoiles
    0
  • 1 étoile
    0
Performance
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 étoiles
    0
  • 4 étoiles
    1
  • 3 étoiles
    0
  • 2 étoiles
    0
  • 1 étoile
    0
Histoire
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 étoiles
    0
  • 4 étoiles
    1
  • 3 étoiles
    0
  • 2 étoiles
    0
  • 1 étoile
    0

Évaluations – Cliquez sur les onglets pour changer la source des évaluations.

Il n'y a pas encore de critiques disponibles pour ce livre audio.