Gratuit avec l'essai de 30 jours

  • The Secret of the Chateau

  • Auteur(s): Kathleen McGurl
  • Narrateur(s): Emma Gregory
  • Durée: 10 h et 12 min
  • 5,0 out of 5 stars (3 évaluations)

1 crédit par mois pour vous procurer le titre de votre choix – ce titre vous appartient.
Le catalogue Plus – écoutez à volonté des milliers de productions originales, de balados et de livres audio.
Après 30 jours, 14,95$/mois + taxes applicables. Annulable en tout temps.
Page de couverture de The Secret of the Chateau

The Secret of the Chateau

Auteur(s): Kathleen McGurl
Narrateur(s): Emma Gregory
Essayer pour 0,00$

14,95$ par mois après 30 jours. Annulable en tout temps.

Acheter pour 23,22$

Acheter pour 23,22$

Payer avec la carte finissant par
En confirmant votre achat, vous acceptez les conditions d'utilisation d'Audible et la déclaration de confidentialité d'Amazon. Des taxes peuvent s'appliquer.

Description

Everything is about to change....

1789. Pierre and Catherine Aubert, the Comte and Comtesse de Verais, have fled the palace of Versailles for their château, deep in the French Alps. But as revolution spreads through the country, even hidden away the Auberts will not be safe forever. Soon they must make a terrible decision in order to protect themselves and their children, from harm. 

Present day. When Lu’s mother dies leaving her heartbroken, the chance to move to a château in the South of France with her husband and best friends seems an opportunity for a new beginning. But Lu can’t resist digging into their new home’s history, and when she stumbles across the unexplained disappearance of Catherine Aubert, the château begins to reveal its secrets - and a mystery unsolved for centuries is uncovered.... 

Unlock the secret of the château today. 

Perfect for fans of Kate Morton, Fiona Valpy and The Forgotten Village

©2020 Kathleen McGurl (P)2020 HarperCollins Publishers Limited

Ce que les critiques en disent

"Brilliant! Kath writes the most wonderful timeslip and I urge you to snap this up." (Nicola Cornick, author of The Forgotten Sister)

"Enthralling.... A beautiful and heartbreaking time-slip story.... A gripping story of love and redemption across two centuries.... The perfect escape." (The Lancashire Post

Ce que les auditeurs disent de The Secret of the Chateau

Moyenne des évaluations de clients
Au global
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 étoiles
    3
  • 4 étoiles
    0
  • 3 étoiles
    0
  • 2 étoiles
    0
  • 1 étoile
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 étoiles
    2
  • 4 étoiles
    1
  • 3 étoiles
    0
  • 2 étoiles
    0
  • 1 étoile
    0
Histoire
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 étoiles
    3
  • 4 étoiles
    0
  • 3 étoiles
    0
  • 2 étoiles
    0
  • 1 étoile
    0

Évaluations – Cliquez sur les onglets pour changer la source des évaluations.

Trier :
Trier par:
  • Au global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars

Great story Loved it

I really enjoyed this book. At first I wasn’t sure I would really,like it but once it got going, I knew it would be good. I loved the characters particularly Lu. I found the woman Manny (think that was the name) kind of whiney and couldn’t face the fact her child had grown up. In the older times at first I didn’t like Catherine and Pierre. She acted like a spoilt teenager, which,min fact she was. I found the narrator changed her voice to an annoying little girl level when speaking for Catherine. It was a bit over done. Other than that, great story, good tour of southern France and a chance to connect with adventurous Middle Age people who are not afraid to start over with something very challenging in their lives It was a delightful story.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

Vous avez donné votre avis sur cette évaluation.

Vous avez donné votre avis sur cette évaluation.

Trier :
Trier par:
  • Au global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
Image de profil pour Jasmine Robinson
  • Jasmine Robinson
  • 2020-12-16

Great! Just great!

This was absolutely wonderful! What a beautiful story enhanced by a mixture of fiction & history. Just great! A must read if you love history, chateaus, France or travelled to France.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

Vous avez donné votre avis sur cette évaluation.

Vous avez donné votre avis sur cette évaluation.

2 les gens ont trouvé cela utile

  • Au global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
Image de profil pour V
  • V
  • 2020-08-15

my interview

kept my interest, well written and well preformed ,would recommend 5his nook to other listeners.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

Vous avez donné votre avis sur cette évaluation.

Vous avez donné votre avis sur cette évaluation.

2 les gens ont trouvé cela utile

  • Au global
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    2 out of 5 stars
Image de profil pour D. Toland
  • D. Toland
  • 2021-07-16

Slow and uneventful

It wasn’t a bad story but there was not much to it until the very end and that wasn’t really much of a climax. The narration was very good.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

Vous avez donné votre avis sur cette évaluation.

Vous avez donné votre avis sur cette évaluation.

1 personne a trouvé cela utile

  • Au global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
Image de profil pour Mitzirose
  • Mitzirose
  • 2023-07-14

Beautifully Done

I learned so much of a time period I knew nothing about until now. The author obviously did her research. She had me envisioning beautiful French Alps, and quaint villages. She made me see the hardships of both classes, as well as a range of emotions. Narrator did a wonderful job, Keeping all the characters separated.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

Vous avez donné votre avis sur cette évaluation.

Vous avez donné votre avis sur cette évaluation.