Obtenez votre premier livre audio gratuitement

CDN$ 14,95 par mois; les 30 premiers jours sont gratuits. Annulable en tout temps.

Description

"You don't think Jamie and I have secrets, do you? No, we tell each other everything", she smiled. "Including your dirty little secret. So, thinking about it, maybe it's time to start being nice to me?"

The wife: Clare is ready for a break. It's been a tough year and now she wants to put her feet up. Arriving at the Italian villa for their summer holiday, she decides it's high time her husband and his family did some of the work. After all, her husband owes her....

The husband: Even though Dan had his head turned by someone else, he's realised the error of his ways. He's here now, and he says it's for keeps. Clare can trust him, can't she? At least he'll have his brother there, to keep him in line....

The brother: Jamie is the prodigal child, back in the family fold again, after years of travelling abroad. But when he gets to the villa, he's not alone. He's brought a wife, someone none of them have met before. 

The sister-in-law: Ella is everything Clare isn't. Glamorous. Young. Influential. But she knows a secret about Clare. Something that has the power to break the whole family apart. 

And there's someone who will do whatever it takes to make sure that this deep secret never comes to the surface. 

An utterly gripping, twisty psychological thriller perfect for fans of Before I Go to Sleep, The Girl on the Train, and Date Night. 

"Tense, atmospheric psychological thriller with more twists and turns than a rollercoaster. Impeccably written and a big fat 5 stars from me. Awesome!" (Number one best-selling author Angela Marsons)

©2020 Sue Watson (P)2020 Bookouture

D'autres livres audio du même...

Ce que les auditeurs disent de The Sister-in-Law

Moyenne des évaluations de clients
Au global
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 étoiles
    34
  • 4 étoiles
    12
  • 3 étoiles
    6
  • 2 étoiles
    2
  • 1 étoile
    2
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 étoiles
    29
  • 4 étoiles
    10
  • 3 étoiles
    6
  • 2 étoiles
    2
  • 1 étoile
    1
Histoire
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 étoiles
    28
  • 4 étoiles
    10
  • 3 étoiles
    6
  • 2 étoiles
    3
  • 1 étoile
    2

Évaluations – Cliquez sur les onglets pour changer la source des évaluations.

Trier :
Trier par:
  • Au global
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    3 out of 5 stars

A little tedious...

Much of the book is about a jealous relationship between two women. Lots of snarky remarks, petty disagreements, insecurities, etc. There are some interesting twists and turns, but not enough to make it a great read.

  • Au global
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    3 out of 5 stars

I’m only on chapter 4...

and I’m already aggravated with Clare’s whining and her hyperactive, annoying offspring. Nine hours to go. I hope my ears don’t melt.

  • Au global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars

great book

good suspense but it drags in some places.
the narrator was good & the ending is not what you think.
highly recommended

  • Au global
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    2 out of 5 stars

Predictable and disappointing

I was disappointed with this novel compared to others in the same genre and by the same author. Wouldn’t recommend.

Trier :
Trier par:
  • Au global
    1 out of 5 stars
  • MoxiesMom
  • 2020-06-30

Skip it.

How to sum up this book? I fell asleep and missed two hours and felt relieved.

10 les gens ont trouvé cela utile

  • Au global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Kelly
  • 2020-12-15

Don’t skip it...very enjoyable

If you hate this it’s because you don’t like this genre. The characters are not always “likable” that doesn’t mean it isn’t a good book. Why do people insist characters be “likable”? I think some ppl are just perpetual curmudgeon who hate everything. This was a good book and as this genre goes...ticked all the boxes. I know because I’ve devoured these for years.
For instance , don’t pick a romance or or a family drama then say it’s too mushy or dramatic. Change categories! As Domestic Thrillers go....this one was very good.

6 les gens ont trouvé cela utile

  • Au global
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Rose
  • 2020-07-24

A Dumb Story Full of Dumb Characters

I tried to hang in there just to see if some of my guesses about the "twists" were accurate, but I just can't anymore. Abandoned with ~4.5 hours left to go. The writing is so poor--not only are all the characters stupid (the main character being the biggest idiot of them all), they also apparently seem to be deaf? No one ever seems to hear any of the horrible things Ella says to Clare despite being literally right there, feet away from them. And when Ella doesn't even pretend to be discreet with her insults, it doesn't matter as no one seems to ever get she's being insulting. It's like the author is incapable of writing a conversation between more than just two people, or like she doesn't understand how sound works, or something.

If you like dumb people doing dumb things, then this will be right up your alley. Otherwise, save yourself the trouble and find something else.

5 les gens ont trouvé cela utile

  • Au global
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Annette
  • 2020-10-12

Simpering and whining.

If you only knew how hesitant I am to write and bad review; but this book was torture, and not in a good way. I am cursed with a “see it through” gene, but I fund myself wishing the whining main character would commit suicide and put herself and more importantly my ears out of their misery. In the last hour finally there were some twists and turns. I just regret the torturous hours it took to get there. Pass on this one. It’s neither a thriller nor psychological.

4 les gens ont trouvé cela utile

  • Au global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Mom3
  • 2020-06-05

A MUST READ!

Oh my gosh, I was hooked the entire time. It’s a story that was very relatable to me, so there was a bit of bias there. But it was also incredibly written: I felt I really KNEW these characters. And very clever also. Definitely recommend this to anyone looking for a light read with some edge, comedy, and psychological game playing! On to Sue’s next book!

4 les gens ont trouvé cela utile

  • Au global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Anonymous User
  • 2020-05-26

The Sister in Law

Wow!! What a book!! I could not stop listening to it!! Every chance I had I was plugging in my phone bro hear more!! Truly many twists and turns, with fear and anxiety between every character!! At first I was sure the new wife was the evil one, but it turned out so many others had their evilness too!! I really enjoyed this book!!

4 les gens ont trouvé cela utile

  • Au global
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    1 out of 5 stars
  • SM
  • 2020-05-20

VERY LONG WINDED

This book had a very interesting premise, i was excited to get into it. However it DRAGGED. I gave up at chapter 7 and skipped to chapter 25 and hadn’t missed a thing! Opening chapters spoke of a “secret” that was finally revealed at the end of chapter 25. For the book to have become interesting, it would have needed to be at least 5x’s more sinister.
This is a story that’s been told before, only in much more interesting ways.

4 les gens ont trouvé cela utile

  • Au global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Leisha
  • 2020-05-26

nice tight story .. recommended

A very easy book to listen to. Nice tight storyline with a welcomed twist right up to the end.

3 les gens ont trouvé cela utile

  • Au global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
  • lisa
  • 2020-05-10

loved it!!!

The character development was fabulous!!! The feelings the main character seemed so accurate. Definitely lots of twists and turns and very satisfying ending. Narrator was great too!

3 les gens ont trouvé cela utile

  • Au global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Pula
  • 2020-07-30

Great book!

Could not stop listening to this book. The finale seemed far fetched when you think of the whole story leading up to it but overall quite a capturing tale. Very descriptive of Claire’s resentment of the new gorgeous sister in-law and her own insecurities of her own marriage. It all came together with how the brothers were raised and how her in laws controlled everything in their lives.

2 les gens ont trouvé cela utile