Obtenez votre premier livre audio gratuitement

The Sister-in-Law

An Utterly Gripping Psychological Thriller
Auteur(s): Sue Watson
Narrateur(s): Diana Croft
Durée: 10 h et 40 min
4,3 out of 5 stars (38 évaluations)

CDN$ 14,95 par mois; les 30 premiers jours sont gratuits. Annulable en tout temps.

Description

"You don't think Jamie and I have secrets, do you? No, we tell each other everything", she smiled. "Including your dirty little secret. So, thinking about it, maybe it's time to start being nice to me?"

The wife: Clare is ready for a break. It's been a tough year and now she wants to put her feet up. Arriving at the Italian villa for their summer holiday, she decides it's high time her husband and his family did some of the work. After all, her husband owes her....

The husband: Even though Dan had his head turned by someone else, he's realised the error of his ways. He's here now, and he says it's for keeps. Clare can trust him, can't she? At least he'll have his brother there, to keep him in line....

The brother: Jamie is the prodigal child, back in the family fold again, after years of travelling abroad. But when he gets to the villa, he's not alone. He's brought a wife, someone none of them have met before. 

The sister-in-law: Ella is everything Clare isn't. Glamorous. Young. Influential. But she knows a secret about Clare. Something that has the power to break the whole family apart. 

And there's someone who will do whatever it takes to make sure that this deep secret never comes to the surface. 

An utterly gripping, twisty psychological thriller perfect for fans of Before I Go to Sleep, The Girl on the Train, and Date Night. 

"Tense, atmospheric psychological thriller with more twists and turns than a rollercoaster. Impeccably written and a big fat 5 stars from me. Awesome!" (Number one best-selling author Angela Marsons)

©2020 Sue Watson (P)2020 Bookouture

D'autres livres audio du même...

Ce que les auditeurs disent de The Sister-in-Law

Moyenne des évaluations de clients
Au global
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 étoiles
    23
  • 4 étoiles
    9
  • 3 étoiles
    3
  • 2 étoiles
    2
  • 1 étoile
    1
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 étoiles
    22
  • 4 étoiles
    6
  • 3 étoiles
    4
  • 2 étoiles
    2
  • 1 étoile
    0
Histoire
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 étoiles
    20
  • 4 étoiles
    7
  • 3 étoiles
    3
  • 2 étoiles
    3
  • 1 étoile
    1

Évaluations – Cliquez sur les onglets pour changer la source des évaluations.

Trier :
Trier par:
  • Au global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars

great book

good suspense but it drags in some places. the narrator was good & the ending is not what you think. highly recommended

  • Au global
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    2 out of 5 stars

Predictable and disappointing

I was disappointed with this novel compared to others in the same genre and by the same author. Wouldn’t recommend.

Trier :
Trier par:
  • Au global
    1 out of 5 stars
  • MoxiesMom
  • 2020-06-30

Skip it.

How to sum up this book? I fell asleep and missed two hours and felt relieved.

7 les gens ont trouvé cela utile

  • Au global
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    1 out of 5 stars
  • SM
  • 2020-05-20

VERY LONG WINDED

This book had a very interesting premise, i was excited to get into it. However it DRAGGED. I gave up at chapter 7 and skipped to chapter 25 and hadn’t missed a thing! Opening chapters spoke of a “secret” that was finally revealed at the end of chapter 25. For the book to have become interesting, it would have needed to be at least 5x’s more sinister. This is a story that’s been told before, only in much more interesting ways.

3 les gens ont trouvé cela utile

  • Au global
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Rose
  • 2020-07-24

A Dumb Story Full of Dumb Characters

I tried to hang in there just to see if some of my guesses about the "twists" were accurate, but I just can't anymore. Abandoned with ~4.5 hours left to go. The writing is so poor--not only are all the characters stupid (the main character being the biggest idiot of them all), they also apparently seem to be deaf? No one ever seems to hear any of the horrible things Ella says to Clare despite being literally right there, feet away from them. And when Ella doesn't even pretend to be discreet with her insults, it doesn't matter as no one seems to ever get she's being insulting. It's like the author is incapable of writing a conversation between more than just two people, or like she doesn't understand how sound works, or something. If you like dumb people doing dumb things, then this will be right up your alley. Otherwise, save yourself the trouble and find something else.

2 les gens ont trouvé cela utile

  • Au global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Mom3
  • 2020-06-05

A MUST READ!

Oh my gosh, I was hooked the entire time. It’s a story that was very relatable to me, so there was a bit of bias there. But it was also incredibly written: I felt I really KNEW these characters. And very clever also. Definitely recommend this to anyone looking for a light read with some edge, comedy, and psychological game playing! On to Sue’s next book!

2 les gens ont trouvé cela utile

  • Au global
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Annette
  • 2020-10-12

Simpering and whining.

If you only knew how hesitant I am to write and bad review; but this book was torture, and not in a good way. I am cursed with a “see it through” gene, but I fund myself wishing the whining main character would commit suicide and put herself and more importantly my ears out of their misery. In the last hour finally there were some twists and turns. I just regret the torturous hours it took to get there. Pass on this one. It’s neither a thriller nor psychological.

1 personne a trouvé cela utile

  • Au global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
  • TidesAndPines
  • 2020-05-27

Great summer read!

This is the perfect book is you’re looking for something dramatic to listen to while you’re at the beach. I couldn’t stop listening until it was over.

1 personne a trouvé cela utile

  • Au global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Anonymous User
  • 2020-05-26

The Sister in Law

Wow!! What a book!! I could not stop listening to it!! Every chance I had I was plugging in my phone bro hear more!! Truly many twists and turns, with fear and anxiety between every character!! At first I was sure the new wife was the evil one, but it turned out so many others had their evilness too!! I really enjoyed this book!!

1 personne a trouvé cela utile

  • Au global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Leisha
  • 2020-05-26

nice tight story .. recommended

A very easy book to listen to. Nice tight storyline with a welcomed twist right up to the end.

1 personne a trouvé cela utile

  • Au global
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Misty
  • 2020-05-06

Descent

I love Sue Watson books and I may have listed to too many. I found this story pretty good but a bit predictable. I made several connections early on that weren’t revealed until the end. If you haven’t read/listened to many psychological thrillers, you will love this one.

1 personne a trouvé cela utile

  • Au global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Kelly
  • 2020-05-02

Beautifully written..

Really good. Enjoyed every minute. Wonderful writing and narration was perfect. I won't say it's the most original premise but it's my favorite so I never tire of it. A younger pretty woman comes in dazzles the family and is only malevolent around the target making everyone think she is the bad guy. It's a classic but always entertaining.

1 personne a trouvé cela utile