Gratuit avec l'essai de 30 jours

Abonnement à Audible

14,95$ par mois

1 crédit par mois pour vous procurer le titre de votre choix – ce titre vous appartient.
Le catalogue Plus – écoutez à volonté des milliers de productions originales, de balados et de livres audio.
Après 30 jours, 14,95$/mois + taxes applicables. Annulable en tout temps.
Acheter pour 35,08$

Acheter pour 35,08$

Payer avec la carte finissant par
En confirmant votre achat, vous acceptez les conditions d'utilisation d'Audible et la déclaration de confidentialité d'Amazon. Des taxes peuvent s'appliquer.

Description

Since its publication in 1977, The Unsettling of America has been recognized as a classic of American letters. In it, Wendell Berry argues that good farming is a cultural and spiritual discipline. Today’s agribusiness, however, takes farming out of its cultural context and away from families. As a result, we as a nation are more estranged from the land - from the intimate knowledge, love, and care of it.

Sadly, his arguments and observations are more relevant than ever. Although “this book has not had the happy fate of being proved wrong,” Berry writes, there are people working “to make something comely and enduring of our life on this earth.” Wendell Berry is one of those people, writing and working, as ever, with passion, eloquence, and conviction.

©1977 Wendell Berry (P)2020 Recorded Books

Ce que les auditeurs disent de The Unsettling of America

Moyenne des évaluations de clients
Au global
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 étoiles
    7
  • 4 étoiles
    0
  • 3 étoiles
    0
  • 2 étoiles
    0
  • 1 étoile
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 étoiles
    3
  • 4 étoiles
    1
  • 3 étoiles
    0
  • 2 étoiles
    0
  • 1 étoile
    0
Histoire
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 étoiles
    4
  • 4 étoiles
    0
  • 3 étoiles
    0
  • 2 étoiles
    0
  • 1 étoile
    0

Évaluations – Cliquez sur les onglets pour changer la source des évaluations.

Trier :
Trier par:
  • Au global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
  • jim
  • 2021-05-20

Important

I feel as though I'm a fish and someone has just explained water to me.

Trier :
Trier par:
  • Au global
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Fireham
  • 2020-07-10

love the material, meh on the performance.

to start with, the material I found riveting timely and much-needed. to the degree that I have now purchased or ordered at least 16 more Wendell Berry publications books on collections. along with Joel salatin Gabe Brown Ray Archuleta and others these are topics readings and subjects with should be a part of any high School in most expecially higher education in agriculture.

As for the performance while extremely clear easy to understand I found the speakers voice at times reminiscent of a twilight zone intro which begins to grate. In particular, his consistent pronunciation of hummus (a spread made from chickpeas) as opposed to hummus (organic material in the soil, the first syllable sounding like -hu- in human rather than huh) extremely grating.

7 les gens ont trouvé cela utile

  • Au global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Nate
  • 2020-07-01

It's finally in Autio and narrated by Rob Swanson

book - Read it
Read the book and save your life.

that's all you need to know

3 les gens ont trouvé cela utile

  • Au global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
  • jc brotherhood
  • 2020-04-20

The legacy is truth

This book is as accurate in its analysis and as cogent in its arguments as it ever was.
The proof is in the news today about world health and our response to pandemic disease.
While I don’t condemn the scientist or university with as much vehemence as the author I do abhor the dishonesty that seems baked in to the culture.
This book should be in everyone’s library who enjoys eating and health.

3 les gens ont trouvé cela utile

  • Au global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Anonymous User
  • 2021-06-12

Relevant, Poignant, Life-changing

This book was written over 40 years ago but is still strikingly relevant in it’s critique of how government policies and social attitudes are contributing to the degradation of our land and bodies. Perhaps more important however is how it paints an incredibly comprehensive and connected picture of the issues of agriculture, ecology, identity, justice, and morality. It invites the reader to consider a paradigm shift wherein all the issues listed above are actually facets of the same issue - how we relate to land.

It’s message is refreshingly non-partisan, or perhaps trans-partisan. In a era where one side is trying to fight climate change and the monopolies of big business and the other side is concerned about the dilapidation of both rural life and the country’s moral compass, Berry’s message brings striking clarity about how these things are actually two sides of the same coin.

Nick Offerman’s performance is excellent and just a little bit comical (in a good way) for fans of Parks and Recreation. Ron would like this book a lot.

Despite the fact that a few of the specific names and institutions Berry mentions indicate the book’s datedness, it’s message is so powerful that this is a book I plan to relisten to every 5 or 10 years.

2 les gens ont trouvé cela utile

  • Au global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Kris with a K
  • 2022-04-24

Set Narration to 1.15x

Very Good Book
Great Author
Narration by Offerman is good @ precisely 1.15x
Start at 1.15x and adjust.
Trust Me

1 personne a trouvé cela utile

  • Au global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
  • G. Kaessner
  • 2021-03-21

A classic

Berry in the Unsettling of America was far ahead of the times with his observations and reflections.
Those writing on progressive and regenerative farming technique, permaculture and soil preservation need only look back to his words to find a voice that begged for a change in how we view the world of rural living, producing food, and raising our herds.

1 personne a trouvé cela utile

  • Au global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
  • DKH62
  • 2020-11-01

Time Well Spent

LOVED this book. Explains many things as to why our nation is experiencing such turmoil. the over abundance of violence and unhappy people in general

1 personne a trouvé cela utile

  • Au global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Logan Jackonis
  • 2020-09-12

A must read for those who care

I highly recommend this book for anyone interested in learning about sustainable agriculture, human values, and the purpose of life. Nick Offerman’s reading is engaging and enthusiastic.

1 personne a trouvé cela utile

  • Au global
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Dana Stone
  • 2022-07-28

The narrator killed the book for me

The great Wendell Berry deserves a great narrator. Did the narrator even listen to any of Berry's presentations? I bet not.

I couldn't take the narrator's performance after listening to a few of Berry's lectures on YouTube. Berry is Southern, has a sense of humor, and a beautiful lyrical voice. I had to pull out after an hour.

  • Au global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Bean
  • 2022-05-20

Sanity in a corrupt world

Fantastic delivery by Offerman of Berry's important message. If you are frustrated with government and corporate dysfunction when it comes to the most basic necessities of life and wondering for the life of you why no one is making the ethical, ecological, and patriotic case for common sense and good stewardship, Wendell Berry just might save your sanity and there is no better, more even, or more engaging yet reassuring voice to bring this book to the restless than that of Nick Offerman.