Obtenez votre premier livre audio gratuitement

Tribute at the Gates: An Epic Fantasy Saga

Catalyst, Book 1
Auteur(s): C. J. Aaron
Narrateur(s): Travis Baldree
Série: Catalyst, Livre 1
Durée: 12 h et 39 min
4,4 out of 5 stars (7 évaluations)

CDN$ 14,95 par mois; les 30 premiers jours sont gratuits. Annulable en tout temps.

Description

Cursed from birth. Forced into slavery. It's time to fight back. 

The blood of the Ancients is the most coveted ingredient in all of Damaris. The fabled elixir made from it grants those who drink it life that extends far beyond natural means. 

There is no higher honor in the kingdom then being granted the privilege of bidding for it. And the people found with the cursed blood? By law, they are the rightful property of the kingdom. 

They are tributes. 

As a boy, Ryl was sold by his family when he was discovered to have the coveted blood flowing through his veins. Broken, scared, and confused, he’s confined to an area known as the Stocks until he is ready for harvesting. 

Ryl stumbles through a doomed life until the appearance of a mysterious stranger who exposes a buried version of the past that changes everything. That his blood may not be a curse, but a blessing. 

The fates of all the tributes hang in the balance. 

Experience the start of an epic fantasy series filled with unexpected heroes, dark magic, and nonstop adventure. Suitable for all ages, it's perfect for fans of D K. Holmberg, Will Wight, and K. F. Breene.

©2020 Aethon Books (P)2020 Aethon Audio

Ce que les auditeurs disent de Tribute at the Gates: An Epic Fantasy Saga

Moyenne des évaluations de clients
Au global
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 étoiles
    5
  • 4 étoiles
    1
  • 3 étoiles
    0
  • 2 étoiles
    1
  • 1 étoile
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 étoiles
    5
  • 4 étoiles
    2
  • 3 étoiles
    0
  • 2 étoiles
    0
  • 1 étoile
    0
Histoire
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 étoiles
    5
  • 4 étoiles
    1
  • 3 étoiles
    0
  • 2 étoiles
    1
  • 1 étoile
    0

Évaluations – Cliquez sur les onglets pour changer la source des évaluations.

Trier :
Trier par:
  • Au global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars

This book this book

This book was incredible in the detail and emotion brought to light through the characters and their connection. I eagerly await the next instalment of this fantastic series As always Travis baldree does a spectacular job in being the characters and their emotions to life in a way that really draws you in to the story.

1 personne a trouvé cela utile

Trier :
Trier par:
  • Au global
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    1 out of 5 stars
  • grumpy old blind guy
  • 2020-08-06

change peoples feelings and maybe create illusions

I prefer the magic in my fantasy to actually be magic. sadly you have to get about halfway into the book before they inform you that this lackluster week stuff is all the magic in this book. hopefully someone who prefers some bang in their fantasy won't fall for the lack of information like I did.

12 les gens ont trouvé cela utile

  • Au global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Christopher
  • 2020-07-17

Took a chance, and I’m glad I did.

I bought this audiobook based solely on the fact that Travis Baldree is the narrator. His talent is such that he can turn a mediocre print book into a really good audiobook. So I was cautiously optimistic that this would at least be listenable... What I got was a compelling and interesting story that set the stage for what I hope will be my new favorite fantasy series. I am giving this a 5 star rating as opposed to 4 stars in part because it came out of left field, only had a few ratings, and no reviews when I decided to buy it. I will say that the story is well-crafted, the world is interesting, and the MC is someone whose development I want to follow. Whether the 5 star rating will hold up is heavily dependent upon where the author takes the series with the next book, but I am hopeful. Regardless, this audiobook is definitely worth the credit.

9 les gens ont trouvé cela utile

  • Au global
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Utilisateur anonyme
  • 2020-07-19

brutal

Becarfull with this book it can get hard on the heart at the beginning.

3 les gens ont trouvé cela utile

  • Au global
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    2 out of 5 stars
  • tranielmp8
  • 2020-09-08

I just don’t understand

I am so confused to how a lot of reviews said this book was great. Blood of the ancients?! Do they have dryad or Druid blood running in their veins? The most action in this book is children being beaten. Yes the MC overcame some things yet it just wasn’t for me. Maybe everything was explained in the book but I just had a hard tome getting into it. I have a lot of questions and I just don’t know if they will be answered

2 les gens ont trouvé cela utile

  • Au global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
  • JollyGreenGoblin
  • 2020-07-18

Promising Start

This was a promising start to a series. The premise is familiar but engaging. The characters and tribute concept were interesting enough that I’d continue listening through the series. I thought Baldtree did a great job with narration. I’d definitely listen to other works he performed. My only gripe was the pacing. Aaron is very good at capturing all of the details in a moment, but not every moment needs every detail. I suspect that the pacing was slower in this as the origin story and initial world building. Now that all the pieces are in place I look forward to book 2.

2 les gens ont trouvé cela utile

  • Au global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Brian W. Rossbach
  • 2020-07-18

Fun story with a solid pace throughout.

I enjoyed this book and was wanting more when it ended. I understand this is a series and am looking forward to the next book as this one definitely kept my interest throughout. The lead character is a good guy all around who's had to deal with an incredibly challenging hand that life has dealt him. This book built a solid foundation and it will be nice to see how far the author will build upon it. Give it a listen, it's worth your time.

2 les gens ont trouvé cela utile

  • Au global
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Jacob P
  • 2020-08-11

Wonderful Start to New Fantasy World

Tribute at the Gates makes for an intriguing and deep start for a new fantasy world. The premise, that those with a certain "power" in their blood, are locked up and used for the "good" of the elite is not particularly new but comes with some interesting twists. The cruelty of those placed in power over effective slaves is unfortunately believable and is thankfully balanced showing that there are those who, even in the worst of conditions, will try to help the downtrodden to what degree they are able. The implications of the magic system, once it starts being revealed, make for a promise of interesting adventures and changes to come. The author does a good job of giving a reason for the protagonist to rapidly develop his powers and control despite being young (much better than the typical "he is the chosen one so, of course, he has great power and near-perfect control) and while his magic is strong, even the way his knowledge and control is boosted leaves him with a need to really work on controlling what he has learned and large gaps in his knowledge and skills. Looking forward to seeing where this series goes and the development and return of suport characters. Disclaimer: I was given this a free review copy audiobook and have voluntarily left this review.

1 personne a trouvé cela utile

  • Au global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Bridget
  • 2020-08-01

Buy this book

If you're here reading this comment it likely means you're interested in Fantasy novels. I'm not normally into epic fantasy, but this series has great promise. The world building is a bit slow as in many novels of this type. It has enough action to carry you through all the necessary descriptions with an obvious plotting and planning by the author to fuel many more books. And as always, Travis Baldree is excellent in his performance.

1 personne a trouvé cela utile

  • Au global
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Gil T
  • 2020-09-14

Sold by his family, transported by cage,

Every eight year old gets tested for blood of the ancients. It is not hereditary, it almost seems random. Families that have children with this blood can run. They will eventually get caught and slaughtered in front on their child. Or the family can sell the child and be set for life. Ryl is found to have the blood and is sold by his family. All children that are found to have the blood are sent to the Stocks were they live out their lives until their harvest time. The harvest time is determined by the amount of Ancient’s blood they have. This way the rich family that bought the child can get the most of elixir from the child. It helps these families live long lives and get power. They are called tributes. The 200+ guards are there to supposedly guard against outside threats as well as quash any rebels internally. But realistically, they are a sadistic bunch that are being punished for conduct in the regular army. They treat the children poorly and abuse them. One day as Ryl is working he stumbles into the forest and finds the forest changing. He runs into a man he explains more about his blood and what he must do. He must inspire others since he will not leave except through the front door on his harvest day. That doesn’t sound like much to him (or the reader), but it turns out to be quite the adventure.

  • Au global
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Byron
  • 2020-09-09

great book 1

narration was great. story is slowly building. but what is really cool and separates this book is the abilities. it kind of gives me the feeling of mistborn in the way of some people have access to this. and most are oppressed to keep them in check. there is a lot here to say but I don't want to spoil. I say, on with the next book!!