Gratuit avec l'essai de 30 jours

Abonnement à Audible

14,95$ par mois

1 crédit par mois pour vous procurer le titre de votre choix – ce titre vous appartient.
Le catalogue Plus – écoutez à volonté des milliers de productions originales, de balados et de livres audio.
Après 30 jours, 14,95$/mois + taxes applicables. Annulable en tout temps.
Acheter pour 31,27$

Acheter pour 31,27$

Payer avec la carte finissant par
En confirmant votre achat, vous acceptez les conditions d'utilisation d'Audible et la déclaration de confidentialité d'Amazon. Des taxes peuvent s'appliquer.

Description

Following the Scotiabank Giller Prize-shortlisted Son of a Trickster comes Trickster Drift, the second book in Eden Robinson's captivating Trickster trilogy. 

In an effort to keep all forms of magic at bay, Jared, 17, has quit drugs and drinking. But his troubles are not over: now he's being stalked by David, his mom's ex - a preppy, khaki-wearing psycho with a proclivity for rib-breaking. And his mother, Maggie, a living, breathing badass as well as a witch, can't protect him like she used to because he's moved away from Kitimat to Vancouver for school. 

Even though he's got a year of sobriety under his belt (no thanks to his enabling, ever-partying mom), Jared also struggles with the temptation of drinking. And he's got to get his grades up, find a job that doesn't involve weed cookies, and somehow live peacefully with his Aunt Mave, who has been estranged from the family ever since she tried to "rescue" him as a baby from his mother. An indigenous activist and writer, Mave smothers him with pet names and hugs, but she is blind to the real dangers that lurk around them - the spirits and supernatural activity that fill her apartment. 

As the son of a Trickster, Jared is a magnet for magic, whether he hates it or not - he sees ghosts, he sees the monster moving underneath his Aunt Georgina's skin, he sees the creature that comes out of his bedroom wall and creepily wants to suck his toes. He also still hears the Trickster in his head, and other voices too. When the David situation becomes a crisis, Jared can't ignore his true nature any longer.

©2018 Eden Robinson (P)2018 Audible, Inc.

Featured Article: Outstanding Female Authors Everyone Ought to Listen to

From rising stars to household names, female authors have contributed some of the best works of all time for our listening pleasure.

Discover your new favourite author or revisit an old favourite with these audiobooks from extremely talented women.

Ce que les auditeurs disent de Trickster Drift

Moyenne des évaluations de clients
Au global
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 étoiles
    144
  • 4 étoiles
    41
  • 3 étoiles
    9
  • 2 étoiles
    0
  • 1 étoile
    2
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 étoiles
    112
  • 4 étoiles
    46
  • 3 étoiles
    12
  • 2 étoiles
    5
  • 1 étoile
    2
Histoire
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 étoiles
    136
  • 4 étoiles
    31
  • 3 étoiles
    8
  • 2 étoiles
    1
  • 1 étoile
    1

Évaluations – Cliquez sur les onglets pour changer la source des évaluations.

Trier :
Trier par:
  • Au global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars

Great improvement by the narrator

A great improvement on the narration over the first book. Immersive and well read.

2 les gens ont trouvé cela utile

  • Au global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars

Fun

I enjoyed so much. I just hope there is a 3rd book coming soon !

1 personne a trouvé cela utile

  • Au global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars

Loved it!

This is even better than the first. The characters and the story are excellent and I cannot wait for book 3!

1 personne a trouvé cela utile

  • Au global
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars

from a local

Being Indigenous and also grew up in the Fraser Valley, the only improvement could be the narrator. Only because, I know the area and expected to hear the "rez" accent. Otherwise, I love this trilogy.

  • Au global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars

I didn’t even know books could be this good… 🤩

First couple chapters were a bit slow, but when it started going, it was amazing. I’m hooked. It’s so easy to picture what’s going on too. Honestly it one of my favourite series. I could read this over and over. It’s a good idea to read the first one though. Might get confusing.

  • Au global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars

LOVE this trilogy

I love the magic realism of this entire trilogy. Everything is consistent within the "universe" Eden Robinson creates and you don't want to leave. Hard to "put down", so to speak.

  • Au global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars

so good!

I love this series! I love Jared with all my heart. And a great performance.

  • Au global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars

Great series

Everything about this series is great. from characters to the mytholigies it plays with.

  • Au global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars

PLEASE READ THESE BOOKS!!!

I liked this even better than book 1. Jared is going through some really dark and difficult things, but his humour and sarcasm help make it easier for you to read about it. I love this kid, you can't help but root for him.

  • Au global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars

can't wait for another novel!

loved her book, captivating. she is a great story teller. look forward to more from her!

Trier :
Trier par:
  • Au global
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Ashley E. Egan
  • 2021-11-28

ended on a cliffhanger...how does the story end?

the fantasy was original and palpable but it is very difficult to give a favorable review when it ends on a cliffhanger and there not another book to follow. very disheartening.

1 personne a trouvé cela utile

  • Au global
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    4 out of 5 stars
  • David Jones
  • 2021-03-13

Slow start, strong finish

secondary characters are weak in general, primary character development is adequate. The spirit world toward the end is a bit like Don Juan's.

1 personne a trouvé cela utile

  • Au global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
  • M. Flenner
  • 2022-02-12

Another Hit

The second book was as good as the first. I'm looking forward to reading the entire series but I also don't want it to end.

  • Au global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Daniel
  • 2022-01-04

needed more excitement from the narrator

slightly struggled to finish because the narrator was very hard to fallow at times being very robotic or monotone.
story was great otherwise

  • Au global
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
  • ana monten
  • 2021-07-16

Holy Crap!

This book was something else so good! Now I to the the next one!

  • Au global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Utilisateur anonyme
  • 2021-06-29

urban fantasy

good bet for fans of Christopher Moore, Charles De Lint, Terry Pratchett, & Neil Gaiman

  • Au global
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Book Addict
  • 2021-03-18

entertaining and educational

The storyline was engaging. There were moments when the author broke away from the plot to give historical facts. It had an ending that guaranteed the reader will read the sequel.

  • Au global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Dan Campbell
  • 2018-11-08

Stunning!

Incredible! Can not wait for the next book. Something so fresh yet so familiar and relatable!