Stories from the Margins

3 livres dans la série
5 out of 5 stars 2 évaluations

Bleak Alley Description

True crime within the dark heart of Irish gangs. Featuring original Irish folksongs written and performed by the author, Shane Dunphy.

He seems like a typical 16-year-old boy except that Mikey is walking the knife edge of crime. He’s tough and good with his fists, but when journalist Shane Dunphy is offered the chance to write his story, he discovers a lost, vulnerable child, in danger and desperate for help.

Shane descends into the perilous underworld of organised crime and discovers that the glamour of gangland life is riven with brutality and murder. Far from providing a means of survival for boys from broken families, the price they pay is often with their life.

With skill and empathy, and no little courage, Shane attempts to rescue Mikey from the clutches of warring gangland leaders and to restore the love and harmony of Mikey’s family which has been shattered by poverty and bad blood.

For fans of Peaky Blinders, Bleak Alley is the first in a series of true crime stories from the heart of Irish gangland life. The author provides extensive historical analysis of the rise of Irish street gangs and their outlaw Celtic culture, as well as original Irish folksongs.

Bleak Alley examines serious issues of social deprivation, state indifference and lawlessness with the pace and intrigue of a high-class thriller.

©2019 Shane Dunphy (P)2020 Audible, Ltd
Voir plus Voir moins
VOTRE PREMIER LIVRE AUDIO GRATUIT VOUS ATTEND

Votre premier livre audio gratuit vous attend.

L'abonnement ne coûte que CDN$ 14,95/mois + taxes applicables, et les 30 premiers jours sont gratuits. Annulable en tout temps.