Get a free audiobook

A Curse So Dark and Lonely

Written by: Brigid Kemmerer
Series: The Cursebreaker, Book 1
Length: 14 hrs and 51 mins
4.5 out of 5 stars (38 ratings)

CDN$ 14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

Bloomsbury presents A Curse So Dark and Lonely by Brigid Kemmerer, read by Kate Handford, Davis Brooks and Matt Reeves.

A New York Times best seller!

In a lush, contemporary fantasy retelling of Beauty and the Beast, Brigid Kemmerer gives listeners another romance perfect for fans of Marissa Meyer.

Fall in love, break the curse.

It once seemed so easy to Prince Rhen, the heir to Emberfall. Cursed by a powerful enchantress to repeat the autumn of his 18th year over and over, he knew he could be saved if a girl fell for him. But that was before he learned that at the end of each autumn, he would turn into a vicious beast hell-bent on destruction. That was before he destroyed his castle, his family, and every last shred of hope.

Nothing has ever been easy for Harper. With her father long gone, her mother dying, and her brother barely holding their family together while constantly underestimating her because of her cerebral palsy, she learned to be tough enough to survive. But when she tries to save someone else on the streets of Washington, DC, she’s instead somehow sucked into Rhen’s cursed world.

Break the curse, save the kingdom.

A prince? A monster? A curse? Harper doesn’t know where she is or what to believe. But as she spends time with Rhen in this enchanted land, she begins to understand what’s at stake. And as Rhen realizes Harper is not just another girl to charm, his hope comes flooding back. But powerful forces are standing against Emberfall...and it will take more than a broken curse to save Harper, Rhen, and his people from utter ruin.

©2020 Brigid Kemmerer (P)2020 Bloomsbury Publishing Plc

What the critics say

"Has everything you'd want in a retelling of a classic fairy tale." (Jodi Picoult, New York Times best-selling author of A Spark of Light and Small Great Things)

"I couldn't get this creative, suspenseful take on 'Beauty and the Beast' out of my head." (Sara Holland, New York Times best-selling author of Everless)

"Absolutely spellbinding." (Stephanie Garber, number one New York Times best-selling author of Caraval and Legendary)

What listeners say about A Curse So Dark and Lonely

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    20
  • 4 Stars
    11
  • 3 Stars
    6
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    26
  • 4 Stars
    7
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    21
  • 4 Stars
    10
  • 3 Stars
    6
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

so far best retelling of the beauty and the beast!

I really like it, just take in mind the first like 200 pages nothing to overly excited happens but you grow to love the characters, and not like the villan at all, and the ending was quite confusing but it's a good cliffhanger for thr next book, the narration I have to say could it be better since in the whole book they talk about accents and niether the female or male voice did this, but overall I recommend it

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Excellent Book

A great retelling of a classic tale. It kept me on the edge of my seat the whole time.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Marisa J Machado
  • 2020-02-24

I felt nothing

I had a hard time feeling for the characters in any way. All of the characters would just randomly changed how they behaved without any warning or real understanding. The take on a classic tale was interesting, but that is all this book has to offer.

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Nichole
  • 2020-02-02

Not Beauty and the Beast...BETTER!

This book was fantastic. It starts quick and exciting however there are moments in the middle where I want more detailed emotion and interaction from Ren and Grey and Harper. That’s just me. This book is fabulous! The readers could have had a bit more emotion hence the 4 and not 5. Regardless love love love and on to A Heart So Fierce And Broken. Thank you Brigid

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Anonymous User
  • 2020-02-28

Finally! A Book I Won't Exchange

I've read a great deal of Beauty and Beast retellings and this one is the best one I've ever come across. The title of this book really suits it's content. The story is very new and refreshing to read and makes a whole lot more sense with the creative liberty of the Author. She excutes this story almost flawlessly and it never loses that magical spark Beauty and the Beast is supposed to have. The characters are very complexed. You never know if something will go very wrong or very right. They act like real people with relatable flaws and they mope over real problems!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Lindsay
  • 2020-01-25

Fast paced

At first, I thought this was going to be a Beauty and the Beast rip off. But it quickly became clear that the story had many of its own elements and I quit comparing it. It was fast paced and held my attention. I loved that the main characters had a relatively healthy relationship with each other - I don’t feel like I see that as much in young adult novels. Will be recommending this for sure!

Unimportant spoiler- at one point the reader misread a characters name by reversing the first two letters so Keris Lorin (spelling??) became Karen Loris and I found this quite comical. It had no bearing on the story :-)

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Andrea
  • 2020-08-01

There is a major error

Some of the chapters under Monster at the end of the book are missing. All you hear is breathing and gasps. Please look into this problem.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • B
  • 2020-07-26

Slow but decent

The storyline was slow and didnt pick up until the end, but decent read if in need of something.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Anonymous User
  • 2020-07-20

great read

I loved everything about it, and now I need to get the next audio book asap!

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Jéssica merco
  • 2020-07-18

really annoying protagonist

I really couldn't simpatize with this main girl, she's kinda stupid and slow to catch things, besides even though she is not in her home/world anymore she keeps acting reckless and doesn't seems to think at what the things she do can bring as a result.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Diana-Christie
  • 2020-06-19

Wasted credit

I feel like this was a wasted credit. I didn't get into the story. I felt bored.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Judith
  • 2020-06-15

the audio felt very chopping

the Audio was very chopping, the story was very meh. you have your typical hero not knowing a thing about women and then you were heroine that the "ultimate woman".