Get a free audiobook

A Good Enough Mother

A Novel
Written by: Bev Thomas
Narrated by: Rebecca Lacey
Length: 10 hrs and 10 mins
4 out of 5 stars (6 ratings)

CDN$ 14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

"Taut, absorbing and psychologically astute, in A Good Enough Mother Bev Thomas combines all the tension of a thriller with the emotional resonance of a powerful family drama." (Paula Hawkins, number one New York Times best-selling author of The Girl on the Train)

"Perfect for fans of The Silent Patient." (Booklist)

A riveting novel that lets us inside the secret world of therapist and patient, where boundaries get crossed, and events spiral out of control....

Ruth Hartland is a psychotherapist with years of experience. But professional skill is no guard against private grief. The mother of grown twins, she is haunted by the fact that her beautiful, difficult, fragile son Tom, a boy who never "fit in", disappeared a year and a half earlier. She cannot give up hope of finding him, but feels she is living a kind of half life, waiting for him to return.

Enter a new patient, Dan - unstable and traumatized - who looks exactly like her missing son. She is determined to help him, but soon her own complicated feelings about how she has failed her own boy cloud her professional judgment. And before long, the unthinkable becomes a shattering reality....

An utterly compelling drama with a time bomb at its core, A Good Enough Mother is a brilliant, beautiful story of mothering and how to let go of the ones we love when we must.

©2019 Bev Thomas (P)2019 Penguin Audio

What the critics say

“[An] exceptional debut... Thomas melds astute psychological insight with powerful storytelling in this moving thriller.” (Publishers Weekly

“A Good Enough Mother is not just everything a great thriller should be - haunting, emotional, charged with depth and power - it is also a gorgeous and devastating examination of motherhood that cuts right to the heart.” (Aimee Molloy, New York Times best-selling author of The Perfect Mother)

“This powerful story of love, loss - and ultimately, healing - will resonate with anyone who has ever loved a child.” (Kim Edwards, number one New York Times best-selling author of The Memory Keeper’s Daughter)

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
No reviews are available