Get a free audiobook

A Good Kind of Trouble

Written by: Lisa Moore Ramée
Narrated by: Imani Parks
Length: 6 hrs and 46 mins

CDN$ 14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

From debut author Lisa Moore Ramée comes this funny and big-hearted debut middle-grade novel about friendship, family, and standing up for what’s right, perfect for fans of Angie Thomas’ The Hate U Give and the novels of Renée Watson and Jason Reynolds.

Twelve-year-old Shayla is allergic to trouble. All she wants to do is to follow the rules. (Oh, and she’d also like to make it through seventh grade with her best friendships intact, learn to run track, and have a cute boy see past her giant forehead.) 

But in junior high, it’s like all the rules have changed. Now, she’s suddenly questioning who her best friends are, and some people at school are saying she’s not black enough. Wait, what

Shay’s sister, Hana, is involved in Black Lives Matter, but Shay doesn't think that's for her. After experiencing a powerful protest, though, Shay decides some rules are worth breaking. She starts wearing an armband to school in support of the Black Lives movement. Soon, everyone is taking sides, and she is given an ultimatum. 

Shay is scared to do the wrong thing (and even more scared to do the right thing), but if she doesn't face her fear, she'll be forever tripping over the next hurdle. Now that’s trouble, for real.

©2019 Lisa Moore Ramée (P)2019 HarperCollins Publishers

What members say

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

No reviews are available
Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • T. B. Brodie
  • 2020-02-09

Book belongs in every middle school library!

I loved the way the author intertwined several themes - friendship, growing up and values in the backdrop of the Black Lives Matter movement. The narrator herself sounded like she was the age of the main character which made listening to the book all the more believable. I’m an adult and I thoroughly enjoyed the book!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Rebekah Cole
  • 2019-12-28

Awesome road trip book!

The writing is superb! Great storyline! Definitely will look for more stories by this author!!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Jay Forman
  • 2019-05-22

Awesome and Real

I couldn’t stop listening to the book. For kids it made such a strong effort to consider the intersectionality if identity and how that impacts relationships. I can’t wait to read this with my students.