Listen free for 30 days

  • A Lady's Guide to Mischief and Mayhem

  • Written by: Manda Collins
  • Narrated by: Mary Jane Wells
  • Length: 7 hrs and 36 mins
  • 4.4 out of 5 stars (46 ratings)

Pick 1 audiobook a month from our unmatched collection.
Listen all you want to thousands of included audiobooks, Originals, and podcasts.
Access exclusive sales and deals.
Premium Plus auto-renews for $14.95/mo + applicable taxes after 30 days. Cancel anytime.
A Lady's Guide to Mischief and Mayhem cover art

A Lady's Guide to Mischief and Mayhem

Written by: Manda Collins
Narrated by: Mary Jane Wells
Try for $0.00

$14.95 a month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy Now for $24.11

Buy Now for $24.11

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Tax where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

An intrepid female reporter matches wits with a serious, sexy detective in an award-winning author's fun and flirty historical rom-com, perfect for fans of Evie Dunmore, Julia Quinn, and Tessa Dare!

England, 1865: Newspaper columnist Lady Katherine Bascomb finds herself the subject of speculation when her latest article leads to an arrest in the murders plaguing London. The English believe women ought not to write about such vulgar things as crime, and a particularly attractive detective inspector is incensed that she's interfered with his investigation. To escape her sudden notoriety, Katherine heads to the country - only to witness a murder upon her arrival.

Detective Inspector Andrew Eversham is appalled when Lady Katherine entangles herself in one of his cases - again. Her sensationalist reporting already nearly got him kicked off the police force, and he'll be damned if he permits her to meddle a second time. Yet, her questions are awfully insightful, and he can't deny his attraction to both her beauty and brains. As the clues point to a dangerous criminal, the two soon realize their best option is working together. But with their focus on the killer lurking in the shadows, neither is prepared for the other risk the case poses - to their hearts.

©2020 Manda Collins (P)2020 Hachette Audio

What the critics say

"When I pick up a Manda Collins book, I know I'm in for a treat. With compelling characters and a rich Victorian setting, A Lady's Guide to Mischief and Mayhem weaves mystery and romance into one enthralling tale."—Tessa Dare, New York Times bestselling author

"[Manda] Collins is a delight! I read A Lady's Guide to Mischief and Mayhem waaay past my bedtime, absorbed by its spot-on period detail, the well-crafted characters, and of course the intriguing mystery. Brava!"—Elizabeth Hoyt, New York Times bestselling author

"Mystery, romance and an indomitable heroine make for a brisk, compelling read."—Madeline Hunter, New York Times bestselling author

Featured Article: Audiobooks like Bridgerton For Fans Who Loved the Series

Can’t get enough of the passionate and fun-filled world of Julia Quinn’s Bridgerton? Once you’ve listened through all those loveable stories, dive right into this list of audiobooks like Bridgerton if you’re a fan.

What listeners say about A Lady's Guide to Mischief and Mayhem

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    25
  • 4 Stars
    15
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    33
  • 4 Stars
    9
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    22
  • 4 Stars
    15
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Leaves something to be desired

Mary Jane Wells knocks it out of the park as usual, but even her superior narrator skills couldn’t make me like this one. It had its moments, but the relationship between the main characters could have used some more editing or development.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

I LOVED THE NARRATION

I'm going to have to listen to this again to be sure of the story. I was so impressed with the narrator. I'll look for her with other titles.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Not to Bad

I did enjoy the book, however found it just a little over the top, if that makes sense.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

wonderful

I think this is Manda Collins best book so far. Enchanting historical mystery with a touch of sizzling romance and a happy ending.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!