Get a free audiobook

$14.95/month + applicable taxes after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

An instant New York Times Best Seller!

The first in a gripping fantasy duology inspired by West-African folklore in which a grieving crown princess and a desperate refugee find themselves on a collision course to murder each other despite their growing attraction - from debut author Roseanne A. Brown. This New York Times best seller is perfect for fans of Tomi Adeyemi, Renée Ahdieh, and Sabaa Tahir.

For Malik, the Solstasia festival is a chance to escape his war-stricken home and start a new life with his sisters in the prosperous desert city of Ziran. But when a vengeful spirit abducts his younger sister, Nadia, as payment to enter the city, Malik strikes a fatal deal - kill Karina, Crown Princess of Ziran, for Nadia’s freedom.

But Karina has deadly aspirations of her own. Her mother, the Sultana, has been assassinated; her court threatens mutiny; and Solstasia looms like a knife over her neck. Grief-stricken, Karina decides to resurrect her mother through ancient magic...requiring the beating heart of a king. And she knows just how to obtain one: by offering her hand in marriage to the victor of the Solstasia competition.

When Malik rigs his way into the contest, they are set on a heart-pounding course to destroy each other. But as attraction flares between them and ancient evils stir, will they be able to see their tasks to the death?

"Magic creates a centuries-long divide between peoples in this stunning debut novel inspired by North African and West-African folklore. An action-packed tale of injustice, magic, and romance, this novel immerses readers in a thrilling world and narrative reminiscent of Children of Blood and Bone." (Publishers Weekly, "An Anti-Racist Children's and YA Reading List")

Don't miss the second book in this epic duology, A Psalm of Storms and Silence!

©2020 Roseanne A. Brown (P)2020 HarperAudio

More from the same

What listeners say about A Song of Wraiths and Ruin

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    7
  • 4 Stars
    8
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    7
  • 4 Stars
    8
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    7
  • 4 Stars
    8
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Stunning, Rich and Magical

From the entracing world to the vibrant characters, this book is so well written, I couldn't get enough. Brown mixes just enough real-world historical culture in with her own mythos that it feels familiar and new all at once. The setting is one I especially loved, being a great fan of Egyptology and stories set in North Africa and the Sahara.

The characters are so rich and I appreciate how Brown has written their trauma and its effects on them, which are vastly different. The central romance is crafted as a slow burn, with Karina and Malik playing opposites attract. But the crux of their budding romance is what truly gives the story delicious tension as they both take a dangerous journey towards self-discovery and reconciling the past.

Honestly, I highly recommend. Brown's novel will leave you on the edge of your seat and combining her prose with the absolutely fantastic narrators, you won't want to miss this one, guys!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

A fun listen

Dragged a little at times (lots inner angst by both POVs!), but otherwise it was a fun/fresh story that was enjoyable to listen to!

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Anonymous User
  • 2020-08-18

A truly unique and beautiful tale....

A whirlwind adventure tale about love, loss, anger and magic. I loved every moment of this unexpected, beautiful story Rosanne weaved for us.

Karina is already soaring to the top of my favorite characters list. I love her anger, I love her moral compass and I absolutely admire her strength. I truly cannot wait to see where the next book takes her. I can't wait to see her take back her kingdom. A true queen.

11 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Wrtiersbloc
  • 2020-08-13

Slow

The story was kind of drawn out and I listened to the end of it on fast forward just wanting to be done.

10 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • S. Geib
  • 2020-09-27

No words

It's impossible to find the right words without spoiling some aspect of the story. It's just so good! The world building and the depths of the characters are fantastic, and the themes are refreshingly different than what've become tropes within the fantasy genre.

7 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Cassandra B
  • 2020-07-02

Kinda slow in the beginning

Overall the story was good.
a little slow in the beginning though. I had to start it over and over again just to fully understand everything.

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Anonymous User
  • 2020-10-13

Great story, beautiful performance!

This book was absolutely lovely! Especially 3 dimensional characters for a YA fantasy, world building that draws you in, and a story with twists and turns you always feel like you should have expected (the best kind). No fantasy world holds up to infinite scrutiny, but this is the kind that makes you feel like you don’t have to poke at it. In short, it’s beautifully crafted.

The performance is well suited to the story, with two different narrators (one for each limited omniscient viewpoint). The narrators carry the story well, and stay understated enough to leave room for the listener’s thoughts and interpretations. There are some distinctive voices, but none that feel out of place and no drastic tonal shifts that take the listener out of the story. They both were fantastic.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Michaelle
  • 2020-08-08

Great

My mother and I both enjoyed the book. I can’t wait for book 2. Thank you!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Lucretia T.
  • 2020-10-27

Beautifully written and Amazingly told!

amazing and original characters and powers. and the main characters arc wasn't corny like some in this genre can be.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Daniel C.
  • 2020-09-02

I’ve been waiting for a book like this!

I can’t tell you how much I enjoyed listening to this book. The story is fast paced and every chapter Is exciting. I usually do not enjoy audiobooks with multiple narrators but it really worked here. Karina was the perfect heroine, strong headed and willful but not to the point of stupidity. I wanted to shake Malik a couple of times but that’s a testament to how well written and engaging the characters were. I CAN’T WAIT for Book 2.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Faunus
  • 2021-04-23

One of my favorite books of the year so far!

"Do not underestimate the strength it takes to be kind in a world as cruel as ours" A Song Of Wraiths And Ruin

Roseanne A. Brown, what a wonderful story you have weaved and one that could rival Malik's storytelling! I was a little hesitant picking up this book, but I am glad I did because I loved it! A Song Of Wraiths And Ruin follows Princess Karina who seeks to raise her mother from the dead after she was assassinated during the Solstasia Festival of their city Ziran, and it also follows Malik who escapes his war torn city with his sisters to make a better living in Ziran. Add in a vengeful spirit, friendly competitions between champions from surrounding cities, magic, hidden cities of the dead, and West African Lore, you end up having some wonderful storytelling that paints such beautiful scenes in your head.

I don't think there was a single thing I didn't like about this book. I feel it's well written, strong characters, very layered plots to the story and it's characters, I absolutely LOVED the West African Lore, all the characters are people of color which is great seeing their representation in magnificent stories like this, and the narration by A.J. Beckles and Jordan Cobb was fantastic! I absolutely loved the character of Hyena and I can't wait until the next book comes out!

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • TaSonia Hendrix
  • 2021-03-29

Missing stories

I was hoping that Malik’s big sister would have had her own chapters there was so much to learn about her.