Get a free audiobook

$14.95/month + applicable taxes after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

A New York Times best seller!

“Don’t miss this dazzling tour de force.” (Katherine Applegate, Newbery Medal-winning author of The One and Only Ivan)

This gripping novel about survival and family is based on the real story of one wolf’s incredible journey to find a safe place to call home. This irresistible tale by award-winning author Rosanne Parry is for fans of Sara Pennypacker’s Pax and Katherine Applegate’s The One and Only Ivan

Swift, a young wolf cub, lives with his pack in the mountains learning to hunt, competing with his brothers and sisters for hierarchy, and watching over a new litter of cubs. Then a rival pack attacks, and Swift and his family scatter.

Alone and scared, Swift must flee and find a new home. His journey takes him a remarkable 1,000 miles across the Pacific Northwest. The trip is full of peril, and Swift encounters forest fires, hunters, highways, and hunger before he finds his new home. 

Inspired by the extraordinary true story of a wolf named OR-7 (or Journey), this irresistible tale of survival invites listeners to experience and imagine what it would be like to be one of the most misunderstood animals on earth. This gripping and appealing novel about family, courage, loyalty, and the natural world is for fans of Fred Gipson’s Old Yeller and Katherine Applegate’s Endling

Includes information about the real wolf who inspired the novel.

Plus don't miss Rosanne Parry's stand-alone companion novel, A Whale of the Wild

©2019 Rosanne Parry (P)2019 HarperCollins Publishers

What listeners say about A Wolf Called Wander

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

BEST BOOK EVER

The story is so perfect it could not be better The narration is pretty good. I love wolves so this book seemed like something I would like and it did not disappoint

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
  • hal riley
  • 2019-12-22

Grateful, but disappointed.

I really wanted to love this book. The idea of it connected with me on many levels, but it left me feeling frustrated. There seemed to be no resolve, no resounding note or theme other than the pining of a youthful character to become someone great. I like this theme, but the character never evolved. Through trial and tribulation he seemed as if his real destiny was to continue to whine about not being a great and mighty leader of his own pack. The story was very unpredictable, which was nice. However, the surprise is that each new chapter brought about the exact same story as the previous - just that the shape and color of it were different. “I miss my pack and i wish i had one of my own.” But perhaps that IS the story here. I just grew impatient with the whining.

I’m grateful to the author for the story and the effort, for the poetry and unique rhythm of the sentences. But as an eager audience member I needed the characters to evolve in a more significant way.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Jessica H.
  • 2020-11-21

Journey for Belonging

I was initially unsure whether this would be a good pick, based on a review I read. I'm happy to say my opinion of the book is positive. By the end of the story, I felt very invested in the wolf's happiness. The poor wolf was alone a lot, but I didn't find him whiny; rather, he experienced natural yearnings for companionship (a theme more present than the complained of desire to be a pack leader). The end note from the author also struck a chord with me. We can all relate in some aspects to being a stranger in a new place and wanting our own "pack."
The book, to me, feels like it'd be best for middle grade readers who love animals, based on the overall simplicity of description.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • blackwind
  • 2020-01-09

absolutely love this book

Love story love the narrator the whole book was just beautiful give it five stars highly recommend to listen to this book

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Ningu
  • 2019-12-11

Loved it!

The target audience is age eleven but I'm 7 times 11 and couldn't put it down. This story is based on the life of Wolf
#OR 7, born in the mountains of eastern Oregon. We follow him on his migration across the state to the Siskiyou Mountains of northern California. The author imagines the thoughts in his head based on observations of his original pack and his journey. Wolves have evolved to fit an ecological niche.This book helps us see what an important part they play in their environment.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Whitebrasilain
  • 2021-04-29

Best book ever

This book was the best book ever I had to read it for my class or Bob and it is now my favorite book you should definitely read it and I hope you enjoy it just as much as I did .

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Sara
  • 2021-04-18

Wander is Wonderful

Lovely story of a young wolf on his challenges and adventures growing up. Enjoyable for youths and adults.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Emily
  • 2021-04-13

Great for the whole family

A weird start, but enjoyed it after that. Learned a lot about wolves and recommend it for the whole family. Loved the end.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • kelillemo
  • 2021-02-17

8 yr. Old review

“Is there a book two?? And I love it!”
I would recommend this book. Great story and there is a lot of knowledge about wolves and their environments.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Momma bEar
  • 2021-02-10

not at all what I expected in a negative way

while the reader was great, intact it may be because of his reading that I continued with the story.
The story was not what I was expecting. As an animal lover, this ended up being too graphic for me. I would not recommend unless you are a wolf lover.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Mary Johnson
  • 2020-02-09

I love it

I would love it if a spin off was made of the pups.
it's a great read.