Get a free audiobook

All the Bright Places

Written by: Jennifer Niven
Length: 11 hrs and 4 mins
4 out of 5 stars (19 ratings)

CDN$ 14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

The Fault in Our Stars meets Eleanor and Park in this exhilarating and heart-wrenching love story about a girl who learns to live from a boy who intends to die. 

Soon to be a major motion picture, starring Elle Fanning! 

Theodore Finch is fascinated by death, and he constantly thinks of ways he might kill himself. But each time, something good, no matter how small, stops him. 

Violet Markey lives for the future, counting the days until graduation, when she can escape her Indiana town and her aching grief in the wake of her sister's recent death. 

When Finch and Violet meet on the ledge of the bell tower at school, it's unclear who saves whom. And when they pair up on a project to discover the "natural wonders" of their state, both Finch and Violet make more important discoveries: It's only with Violet that Finch can be himself - a weird, funny, live-out-loud guy who's not such a freak after all. And it's only with Finch that Violet can forget to count away the days and start living them. But as Violet's world grows, Finch's begins to shrink. 

This is an intense, gripping novel perfect for fans of Jay Asher, Rainbow Rowell, John Green, Gayle Forman, and Jenny Downham from a talented new voice in YA, Jennifer Niven. 

PLEASE NOTE: When you purchase this title, the accompanying PDF will be available in your Audible Library along with the audio.

©2014 Jennifer Niven (P)2014 Listening Library

What the critics say

"Many teen novels touch on similar themes, but few do it so memorably." ( Kirkus Reviews)

"In her YA debut, adult author Niven creates a romance so fresh and funny...The journey to, through, and past tragedy is romantic and heartbreaking, as characters and readers confront darkness, joy, and the possibilities - and limits - of love in the face of mental illness." (Publishers Weekly)

"The writing in this heartrending novel is fluid, despite the difficult topics... Finch in particular will linger in readers’ minds long after the last page is turned." (School Library Journal)

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    9
  • 4 Stars
    7
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    10
  • 4 Stars
    6
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    8
  • 4 Stars
    6
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    2
Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Beautiful and inspiring

This story has you rethinking the stigma that surrounds mental health disorders, it makes you think about how others are affected by your actions, and how others act around you. It will make you cry almost guaranteed but it's worth every tear.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

incredibly, incredibly boring.

I had to force myself to get through this book. Since it's so popular, I gave it the benefit of doubt. Thinking it would pick up more in the middle. Hated the characters, the male voice over, the ending, everything basically.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

spectacular

the performance was amazing, I love the performance of all the characters in the book.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

love love love

Jennifer Niven stole my heart, never have I cried so much while reading a book. This is a must-read.

Sort by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • FanB14
  • 2015-06-09

Best YA Quirky Love Story of 2015

Alternating points of view tell the story of Finch, an unconventional almost eccentric, yet cool HS senior and Violet. Having lost her sister less than a year ago in a car crash, Violet shrinks away from standing out until she finds herself meeting Finch in a most unusual place only to lead to more trips via a history project for school.

This story is sweet, clever, odd, funny, snarky, sad and ultimately endearing. Don't ruin it by listening to negative reviews. If you like other smart YA titles, you should read or listen to this one. It's fabulous.

38 of 38 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Emma
  • Edina, Minnesota, United States
  • 2015-04-21

Rocked me to my core

Such an important book. It felt way more like a book for adults about teens. Reflections and memories unbound. It rang so true that can see why it's compared to Eleanor and Park. I miss the characters now that I've finished listening.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Pam Audio-Fanatic
  • Audiobook Addicts
  • 2019-04-20

Incredible Story

This book takes you on a journey and I really don’t have the right words to express how emotional and right it all is.

There are books that just touch you in a way you can’t explain and this is one of those books for me. Because I remember being their age and having some of those very same thoughts. High school is for many, not the most fun experience and these characters really struggle. Maybe not always in the classroom or school setting.

But their struggle is real. My heart was in my throat for a good part of this book and I couldn’t wouldn’t put it down. I hope many more read it and the authors note at the end well stick a fork in me I am done.

The narration well Kirby is number 1 in my books man he delivers so, so, well. I can’t even with him just has a way about him and his voice is perfect. I really enjoyed Ariadne’s performance too I think this might have been a first for me.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Ms. Mitchizzle
  • KY
  • 2015-04-25

Great performance

Some parts were slow. I considered abandoning it at one point. I stuck it out and I finished the final third of the story in two days. WARNING: This is not a book for someone looking to be cheered up.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Trevor
  • 2015-02-23

Honestly don't read others reviews.

Any additional comments?

By listening to others you have this mind set of what they think of it. I found this book at random in the Contemporary section and had no expectations what so ever. The first chapter got me hooked. The way the author portrays both characters is so interesting and addictive. For a good laugh and a good cry session, I would highly recommend, but don't take my word for it ;) LOVELY. (<You'll get that if you read it)

9 of 11 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Laura Wright
  • 2016-06-20

Good not great

The story is pretty predictable it could use some more depth in character building. Some of the story just moves a little slow.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Karen Fedkiw
  • Newfane, NY
  • 2019-03-22

Beautiful

This story talks a lot about suicide, but somehow it doesn’t make the story depressing. This story is beautiful. It helped me to see the light in the dark. I took a few quotes from this book and wrote them into my journal.
The readers did a very good job with the vocals as well.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Amazon Customer
  • 2019-03-18

A well established take on mental illness

Beautiful, breathe taking. tear jerking novel. The amount of relation on how the upbringing of a mental illness victim and their surrounding environmental affect their "choices". Extremely relatable to those with mental illness. Realistic ending and great moral.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Neil Blumengarten
  • Spring Hill, FL United States
  • 2016-02-04

Amazing Yet Heart Breaking Novel

If you could sum up All the Bright Places in three words, what would they be?

This is Life.

What did you like best about this story?

How it wasn't a fairytale ending, this book is sadness and despire. But this book makes you sit back and think, and books that make you think are the best books.

What about Kirby Heyborne and Ariadne Meyers ’s performance did you like?

They brought a sense of Violet's reserved nature. How she doesn't feel as out there as Finch. Finch is given a outgoing and adventurous nature, that the performance captures in the best way.

Was this a book you wanted to listen to all in one sitting?

Yes and no. I wish I could read this book all at once, relive the wanderings and relive their friendship. But this book would be too much in one sitting. Too much emotions and not enough time to take it all in.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
  • jaredean
  • PROVO, UT, United States
  • 2015-12-07

Couldn't last 20 minutes...

This could be considered a minor spoiler, but since it happens in the first 15 minutes it is only minor...

I can't continue to listen to a book that sets up its premise the way this one has. There are two kids from a high school standing on a tall structure on campus, both close to jumping to their death. One is a popular girl, one is an unpopular boy. It is by chance they both happen to be up there at the same time. I have no problem with the story beginning this way, but the absolutely asinine way the "crowd" behaves below them is why i will be getting my credit back right after hitting "submit" on this review.

I don't know what pissed me off more about the depiction of "high school" in this beginning - the way a kid on the ground yelled, "why don't you go ahead and get it over with freak" to the unpopular boy, the way the other kids LAUGHED at that or the way the school councilor GLARED at the boy about to jump. REALLY??? A school counselor GLARING at a boy about to commit suicide???

I understand the need for an author to establish the "good vs bad" characters in a story, but this one is so far beyond realistic it honestly pissed me off. My wife is a counselor and, although they aren't perfect, at heart all of the ones i've known would never in a million years treat a potential suicide that way. Plus a crowd of kids laughing at someone about to jump??? Seriously???

9 of 14 people found this review helpful