Get a free audiobook

CDN$ 14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

Ashley Poston, acclaimed author of Heart of Iron, returns with a dark, lush fairy-tale-inspired fantasy for fans of Sara Raasch and Susan Dennard.

Cerys is safe in the Kingdom of Aloriya. Here there are no droughts, disease, or famine, and peace is everlasting. It has been this way for hundreds of years, since the first king made a bargain with the lady who ruled the forest that borders the kingdom. But as Aloriya prospered, the woods grew dark, cursed, and forbidden.

Cerys knows this all too well: When she was young, she barely escaped as the woods killed her friends and her mother. Now, Cerys carries a small bit of the curse - the magic - in her blood, a reminder of the day she lost everything.

As a new queen is crowned, however, things long hidden in the woods descend on the kingdom itself. Cerys is forced on the run, her only companions a small and irritating fox from the royal garden and the magic in her veins. It’s up to her to find the legendary Lady of the Wilds and beg for a way to save her home.

But the road is darker and more dangerous than she knows, and as secrets from the past are uncovered amid the teeth and roots of the forest, it’s going to take everything she has just to survive. 

©2020 Ashley Poston (P)2020 HarperCollins Publishers

What listeners say about Among the Beasts & Briars

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

No reviews are available
Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Erica Paulk
  • 2020-11-10

whimsical cheek burning fun romance with magic

4.5 star This whimsical fairytale caught me by surprise. Although a little predictable at times the wholesome happiness of the book made up for it. We follow are main character Cery a gardeners daughter with magic in her blood. And at her best friends coronation the curse comes for them and changes everything. The writing to me really was well done and easy to read. I loved all the beautiful names and how well they flowed with the story. Also the romance, so fresh and sweet it made my cheeks burn with all the feels. The banter, the characters I fell in love with it all. For me there could have been a little more atmosphere and world building though. All the characters complemented each other. Fox with a mischief twinkle in his eye. Casy and her adventurous soul. Even the bear with her exasperated glares. Or that's what I pictures atleast. Altogether the atmosphere of their relationship felt so organic. Almost as if they had always known one another. I fell for them completely. Especially their snarky banter and inside jokes which made for a fun wholesome read. "But here I was dancing with a boy who was handsome in a way only wild things could be, as if he wanted to be bigger than his skin instead of wanting to fit inside it." Hope Newhouse and Andrew Eiden did a great job narrating. Really brought the characters to life and made the story fun to listen too. Fox's attitude was quite interesting to me. You rarely find a main character who cowers and hides in the face of fear. In a weird way I found it refreshing and sensible. Also romantic dialog is always a sensitive subject for me because there is a fine line between unbearably corny or sweet. This story stayed with the latter. I was giddy with relief. Towards the end I started to wish there was more but in a good way. It wrapped up rather nicely as well but I'll still hold out for a sequel.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Elle
  • 2021-01-13

Not what I was hoping

Let me very clear about one thing: this advertises itself as a dark fantasy, and it’s not dark. Maybe by some people’s standards, but definitely not by mine. All problems resolved themselves within minutes and I had guessed all mysteries within the first third of the book. By the end, I just wanted it to hurry up and finish. I’ll be clear about another thing, though: this is cute. It’s a quick story that tried really hard. I was hoping for something more like “The Cursed Prince” by Holly Black, but that’s not what this is. There’s a lot of flowery language that I’m sure is supposed to be poetic or whatever. Most of it was ruined by the warbling voice of the female narrator. One star for her acting, four for the guy who could have narrated the whole thing and I’d be happy. In the end, I finished the book, but not by much.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Zombiecupcake29
  • 2020-12-07

Great book and performances

There wasn't very much about this book that I didn't like. At the beginning there was a lot of information to take in about the creatures and the world and the characters, but I easily got through that. I loved that Cerys grew into her own through the book. She was a strong girl without it being that unbelievable strong that some YA novels tend to portray. And Fox stole my heart from the very second he came into play. He showed fear which is not something often seen in male leads. All in all this was a cute romance/fantasy/fairytale and I loved every single second of it. I hope that in the future Ashley Poston comes out with more books like this one.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Doha
  • 2020-12-06

Expected Something Else

So I think some of my rating is my fault, you see I came to this book expecting a Young Adult fairytale-ish book, what I got was a standard Middle Grade book .. So the story is about Keris ( written Cerys ) she lives in a land where there is no problems at all because of the enchanted crown that sits on the ruler's head .. and it's been like that for 300 years, until the day of the coronation of the new queen when a curse comes to everyone and the only way to break it is  for Keris to go to the woods and break the curse from the place it was originally made .. with her friend fox and a bear named Vala they will try to find the hidden land of Voryn where it was said that the lady lives there .. how will this journey end ? I think I would've enjoyed the book more if I was not expecting anything .. the writing was simple but I was not interested in any character and I couldn't care for them for some reason .. I wanted to like this book because I love the author, but I couldn't surprisingly  both of the narrators were barely performing but they did get the job done I guess