Listen free for 30 days

  • An Aura of Mystery

  • Ellie McEwan Mysteries, Book 1
  • Written by: Joy Ellis
  • Narrated by: Sophie Rundle
  • Length: 12 hrs and 21 mins
  • 4.2 out of 5 stars (19 ratings)

Pick 1 audiobook a month from our unmatched collection.
Listen all you want to thousands of included audiobooks, Originals, and podcasts.
Premium Plus auto-renews for $14.95/mo + applicable taxes after 30 days. Cancel anytime.
An Aura of Mystery cover art

An Aura of Mystery

Written by: Joy Ellis
Narrated by: Sophie Rundle
Try for $0.00

$14.95 per month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy Now for $25.96

Buy Now for $25.96

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Tax where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

The newly-discovered novel from multi-million-selling author Joy Ellis. Never before published!

Flower shop owner Ellie McEwan is driving home late one frosty November night when a shadowy figure leaps into the road out of nowhere. Ellie swerves to avoid him — and slams head-on into the crash barrier.

Days later, Ellie wakes up in hospital — and notices there’s something different. Everyone she looks at — the doctor, the nurse, her friend Carole — is surrounded by a coloured aura. Her near-death experience seems to have given her a new ability.

And now Ellie must use her new-found gift to catch a killer.

The battered body of a young woman is found in the grounds of a local hotel. She’s the third woman to be murdered in this sleepy Surrey village, her hands crushed and mutilated. Just like the other two.

Each of the women was a skilled professional — a musician, a doctor and an artist. Apart from that, they appear to have nothing in common.

And now the police’s one lead — a key witness — is missing.

Although sceptical, a desperate DCI Bob Foreman calls on Ellie for help. But Ellie’s involvement in the investigation will throw her into the path of a brutal killer . . .

DISCOVER A TOTALLY ENTHRALLING MYSTERY.

This utterly gripping crime thriller is perfect for fans of L.J. Ross, J.D. Kirk, Elly Griffiths, Susan Hill, Kate Ellis or Ann Cleeves.

©2024 Joy Ellis (P)2024 Audible Ltd.

What listeners say about An Aura of Mystery

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    11
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    14
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    12
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Captivating!

I loved this story right from the beginning. It was interesting and captivating from the beginning all the way through to the end. I found it hard to believe that this was her first novel and I’m so glad that I listened to it. The narrator was perfect for the story also.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Loved it!!!

I throughly enjoyed this book! I love Joy’s books but this was a nice change. Can’t wait to listen to Book 2. Hoping there will be more to come.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Excellent as always!

The plot, delivery and the choice of an excellent narrator combined to provide a thoroughly enjoyable listen.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Spooky stuff doesn't get in the way

I was worried about the supernatural aspects of this story, but there is enough in the characters and the writing strong enough that it all hangs together well enough. It didn't feel forced or over the top.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Ml
  • 2024-06-09

Good read that kept me guessing to the end

I liked the characters and how the story evolved. Good read that kept me guessing to the end

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Long-winded

A long-winded story of unnecessary details that made a two hour story into a 10 hour story not worth a listen

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Long

Very long and it is the last couple of hours that really hold you. If you can hold out till then you will will be surprised as to the mystery.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!